Top CNA Programs in Georgia (2027 Rankings & Costs)
Compare tuition, program length, and outcomes for Georgia's highest-rated CNA training programs.
By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated August 14, 202618 min read
Points of interest…
After financial aid, net price for some CNA programs falls below $1,000, while others exceed $10,000.
Accelerated training can be completed in as little as a few weeks of full-time study.
A single vendor administers Georgia's CNA exam, which includes written and skills portions and requires biennial renewal.
Free training is available through WIOA for qualifying individuals who are unemployed or underemployed.
At Coastal Pines Technical College in Waycross, the average net price for nursing assistant students is negative, meaning financial aid routinely exceeds the cost of tuition and fees: a figure that underscores how inexpensive CNA training in Georgia can be. Other technical colleges, like Southern Regional in Thomasville, offer accelerated programs at just $1,428, while schools such as Chattahoochee Technical College charge about $3,540 before aid.
Program lengths vary from four to twelve weeks, and several campuses now provide evening or hybrid schedules to accommodate working students. The field itself is projected to generate roughly 68,600 openings annually over the next decade, driven by retirements and turnover, making CNA certification a reliably steady entry into healthcare.
Best CNA Programs in Georgia for 2027
These six technical colleges offer certificate-level CNA training in Georgia. The list pairs affordable tuition with campus-based hands-on clinical experience and accelerated options. All programs prepare students for Georgia's Nurse Aide Registry exam, but delivery format and support vary.
Factors considered
First-year retention rate
Net price affordability
Institution graduation rate
Pell grant accessibility
Clinical training format
Data sources
BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
Rank
School
Location
Net price
Best for
#1
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
Rome, GA
$5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Career changers needing hands-on accelerated training
Georgia Northwestern Technical College offers a campus-based CNA certificate with classroom, lab, and clinical experience in Rome. The school offering this program reports a graduation rate of 43%, and 92% of its students receive Pell grants, making it a high-access option. Program-level CNA earnings are not reported, but former students overall earn a median of about $35,760.
Campus-based certificate with classroom, lab, and clinical training.
Offers a Nurse Aid accelerated certificate option.
Covers patient care across hospitals, nursing homes, and home health.
Program pathways support continued healthcare roles.
Financial aid options are available for eligible students.
#2
Savannah Technical College
Savannah, GA
$6,000/yr (est. net price)
Working adults needing accelerated completion option
Savannah Technical College prepares South Georgia students through a hands-on nurse aide certificate. The school offering this program reports a graduation rate of 43%, and program-level earnings are not published. The program offers both a two-semester path and an accelerated 7.5-week format.
Chattahoochee Technical College offers a technical certificate of credit in nurse assisting at its Marietta and Appalachian campuses. The school offering this program reports a graduation rate of 38%, and federal data do not report program-level earnings for this certificate. The program includes courses in healthcare fundamentals and nurse aide skills.
Health Sciences certificate offered at Marietta and Appalachian campuses.
Courses include Introduction to Healthcare and Nurse Aid Fundamentals.
Prepares for Certified Nurse Assistant role.
Technical certificate of credit.
HOPE Career Grant may be available.
Part of School of Nursing.
#4
West Georgia Technical College
Waco, GA
$2,000/yr (est. net price)
West Georgia Technical College offers a campus-based nurse aide certificate focused on hands-on patient care. The school reports a graduation rate of 35% and a 89% Pell grant recipient share, a strong accessibility signal. Program-level earnings for this certificate are not yet available, though overall former-student median earnings are about $35,480.
Hands-on patient care under licensed nurse supervision.
#5
Southeastern Technical College
Vidalia, GA
$10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
Southeastern Technical College offers an accelerated nurse aide certificate in Vidalia. The school reports a graduation rate of 38%, and program-level earnings are not reported separately. The program advertises entry-level wages from $7.25 to $16.50 per hour after completion, and graduates may work in nursing homes, hospitals, hospice, and home health.
Designed for nursing home, hospital, hospice, and home health employment.
Accelerated campus-based format.
#6
Albany Technical College
Albany, GA
~$5,000/yr (est.)
Albany Technical College offers a fast-track nurse aide certificate in Albany. The school reports a graduation rate of 42% and a 91% Pell grant recipient share. Program-level earnings are not reported, but the college highlights quick workforce entry and requires no prior medical experience.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant in Georgia follows a clear, state-regulated path. Here are the essential steps to earn your CNA credential and start working in healthcare.
CNA Program Cost Comparison in Georgia
CNA program costs in Georgia vary widely across institutions, from under $1,000 to over $10,000 when looking at institution-wide net price averages. The net price shown here is an average after federal, state, and institutional grants for full-time beginning students, so your individual out-of-pocket cost may be lower. Other typical expenses, such as the $130 Prometric exam fee, scrubs ($40 to $80), and textbooks ($100 to $200), are not included in these tuition figures.
Program
In-State Tuition
Out-of-State Tuition
Net Price (Average After Aid)
Type
Wiregrass Georgia Technical College
$3,480
$6,048
$614
Public
Southern Regional Technical College
$3,007
$5,575
$813
Public
South Georgia Technical College
$3,992
$7,202
$1,164
Public
West Georgia Technical College
$3,410
$5,978
$2,457
Public
Chattahoochee Technical College
$3,540
$6,108
$3,407
Public
Albany Technical College
$3,364
$5,932
$4,524
Public
Georgia Northwestern Technical College
$3,300
$5,868
$5,720
Public
Savannah Technical College
$3,330
$5,898
$6,114
Public
Ogeechee Technical College
$3,388
$5,956
$6,542
Public
Georgia Highlands College
$3,120
$10,080
$6,928
Public
Athens Technical College
$3,390
$5,958
$6,949
Public
Central Georgia Technical College
$3,448
$6,016
$7,052
Public
Lanier Technical College
$3,980
$7,190
$7,799
Public
Augusta Technical College
$4,282
$7,492
$10,485
Public
Southeastern Technical College
$3,400
$5,968
$10,612
Public
University of West Georgia
$6,088
$17,800
$12,786
Public
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
$3,386
$5,954
$13,761
Public
Kennesaw State University
$5,808
$17,736
$15,048
Public
Miller-Motte College-Columbus
N/A
N/A
$21,179
Private
Online and Hybrid CNA Programs in Georgia
Understanding Online and Hybrid CNA Programs
Most CNA training in Georgia is delivered entirely in person, but a few programs offer a hybrid format. It's important to understand that state regulations mandate a set number of hands-on clinical hours, so no program can be 100% online. When a program is labeled "online" or "hybrid," it typically means the classroom-based theory and lectures are completed online, while skills labs and clinical rotations are done in person. This approach can save commute time and add flexibility for students who need to balance work or family commitments.
Where to Find Hybrid Options
Among the ranked CNA programs highlighted on this page, only Kennesaw State University offers a hybrid model. All other schools, including technical colleges like South Georgia Tech, Wiregrass Georgia Tech, and Chattahoochee Tech, deliver their CNA coursework entirely on campus. If you are looking for a program with some online components, Kennesaw State's program combines online didactic modules with scheduled on-campus skills practice and clinical placements at local healthcare facilities.
Key Factors in Choosing a Hybrid CNA Program
If a hybrid program fits your situation, there are a few essential things to verify before enrolling:
Clinical site proximity: Make sure the in-person clinical training takes place at locations you can reasonably reach. Some programs use sites spread across a metro area; check whether travel will be manageable.
Scheduling flexibility: Hybrid programs still have structured timelines for clinical hours. Ask about evening or weekend options if you work during the day.
Clinical placement assistance: Find out whether the school arranges your clinical placement or expects you to secure a site on your own. Most will coordinate placements, but it's worth confirming so you are not left scrambling.
Program support: Since the theory portion is online, ask about instructor availability, virtual office hours, and technical support to ensure you stay on track.
Hybrid CNA training can be an efficient path into healthcare, but success depends on picking a program that aligns with your location, schedule, and support needs.
Fastest CNA Programs in Georgia
When time is the priority, accelerated CNA programs in Georgia condense training into just a few weeks of full-time study. Standard programs, by contrast, stretch the same coursework over two to three months with part-time or evening schedules.
Georgia requires a minimum of 85 hours of training, including at least 24 hours of hands-on clinical practice. How you reach those hours determines the pace. Accelerated tracks pack all instruction into 2 to 5 weeks, often with daily classes. Standard programs typically run 6 to 12 weeks, meeting a few evenings a week or on weekends, giving you more flexibility to balance other responsibilities.
Fast-Track Program Examples
Northside Hospital's CNA School can be completed in 18 days, or about 3 to 4 weeks. Lifesaving Hearts offers a 2-to-4-week program. Southern Regional Technical College runs a 5-week accelerated certificate. In contrast, the University of West Georgia's program meets twice weekly over 11 weeks, totaling 88 hours. These contrasts show how the same minimum hours can be structured very differently.
The Trade-Off: Speed vs. Sustainability
Accelerated programs get you into the workforce quickly, but the daily commitment is intense. Expect full days of classroom and lab work, plus clinical rotations. This can be overwhelming if you are also working or managing family obligations. Standard programs spread the workload, making it easier to absorb the material and maintain a job. However, you delay earning a paycheck.
Before You Enroll: Verify State Approval
No matter the pace, the program must be approved by the Georgia Department of Community Health. Only graduates of approved programs are eligible to sit for the state competency exam. Always confirm the program's status on the state's registry before you pay for a course. A quick phone call or website check can save time and money.
Georgia CNA Certification and Exam Requirements
Earning your certification is the final hurdle between training and practice, but the process has costs, timelines, and renewal obligations that can trip up even prepared candidates. Georgia uses one vendor for the full certification cycle, and understanding the steps upfront helps you budget both time and money.
The Two-Part Competency Exam
Georgia’s CNA exam is administered by Credentia and includes a written (or oral) knowledge test and a hands-on skills demonstration. The written portion costs $352 and covers topics like infection control, patient rights, and basic nursing procedures. You can opt for an oral version at the same price if reading comprehension is a concern. The skills test is $952, bringing the total exam fee to $130.2 You must complete an 85-hour state-approved training program before you’re eligible to test, as outlined in the steps to become a CNA. If you fail one part, you can retake it separately; multiple attempts are allowed, though each retake requires a new fee.
Keeping Your Certification Active
Once you pass, your certification is valid for two years3. To renew, you’ll need to document that you’ve worked a required minimum number of hours as a CNA during that two-year window; your employer can verify this. If you let your certification lapse, you may need to retake the competency exam or complete additional training, depending on how long it’s been expired. Always check the Georgia Nurse Aide Registry for the most current renewal rules.
Transferring a Certification into or out of Georgia
If you’re a certified CNA moving to Georgia from another state, you can apply for reciprocity by endorsement. You’ll generally need to provide proof of previous certification, training, and work history. Conversely, if you’re a Georgia CNA heading elsewhere, you can request a verification form from Credentia or the Registry to submit to your new state’s board. Most states honor Georgia’s training standards, but some may require a bridging course or additional exam, so confirm requirements early.
Financial Aid and Free CNA Training in Georgia
Who qualifies for free or low-cost CNA training in Georgia? The answer lies in a mix of federal workforce grants, employer-sponsored programs, and state-specific financial aid.
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) Funding
If you are unemployed, underemployed, or meet low-income guidelines, the WIOA program can cover the full cost of CNA training. This includes tuition, fees, books, uniforms, and even exam fees. Some participants also receive help with transportation or child care. The application process starts at your local WorkSource Georgia center, boards like WorkSource Atlanta, WorkSource Cobb, or WorkSource Fulton. You’ll need to complete an intake, provide documentation, and select an approved training provider before receiving an Individual Training Account (ITA) voucher. Approval must be secured before you enroll in any program, so plan ahead.
Employer-Sponsored CNA Training
Many Georgia hospitals, nursing homes, and long-term care facilities offer free CNA training in exchange for a work commitment after certification. This can be an ideal path for those who want immediate employment. Inquire directly with HR departments at local healthcare employers, some even run their own state-approved programs. Because demand for CNAs is high, facilities often use sponsored training as a recruitment tool.
Federal Financial Aid: Pell Grant and Loans
Most standalone CNA certificate programs are too short, usually under 600 clock hours, to qualify for federal Pell Grants. However, if your CNA coursework is built into a longer program, like a Patient Care Technician diploma, you may be eligible for federal aid. Always check with the school’s financial aid office and complete the FAFSA. Students at for-profit colleges should compare net price and graduation rates carefully; some programs carry high debt relative to entry-level CNA wages.
Georgia-Specific Grants and Waivers
The HOPE Career Grant can reduce tuition for eligible CNA programs at Georgia’s technical colleges, provided the program is in a high-demand field, many healthcare certificates qualify. Additionally, some technical colleges offer institutional grants or payment plans. For example, Georgia Northwestern Technical College and Central Georgia Technical College serve high percentages of Pell-eligible students, indicating strong support for those with financial need. Don’t overlook college-specific opportunities; a conversation with the program coordinator can uncover application-fee waivers or emergency grants.
CNA Career Advancement Pathways in Georgia
Today’s nursing ecosystem in Georgia values the CNA credential as a strategic stepping stone rather than a final destination.
From CNA to BSN: A Stepwise Career Ladder
Each rung of the nursing ladder brings more responsibility and higher pay. A certified nursing assistant in Georgia earns a median of roughly $31,000 annually. After one year of full-time study, you can become a licensed practical nurse (LPN) and boost that to about $48,000. An associate degree in nursing (ADN) takes approximately two more years and opens the door to a registered nurse career, where the median salary climbs to around $75,000. Earning a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) adds another one to two years of coursework and qualifies you for supervisory positions and higher wages. Many employers offer tuition reimbursement, so you can advance without taking on significant debt.
Specialty Credentials for Incremental Pay
You don’t have to leave the workforce to increase your earnings. Georgia recognizes specialized CNA designations such as medication aide and geriatric nursing assistant. These require a short, focused training program, often just a few weeks, and lead to an immediate hourly wage bump of $1 to $3. The additional skills make you more valuable in long-term care, assisted living, and home health settings where specialized aides are in high demand.
Earn While You Learn
CNA work is an ideal launchpad. You gain paid, hands-on clinical experience, build professional connections, and test whether nursing fits your long-term goals, all before committing to a two- or four-year degree program. Many CNAs use their employer’s flexible scheduling to attend LPN or RN classes part-time. This earn-while-you-learn model turns your first nursing job into a funded exploration of a nursing career that can grow as far as your ambition takes you.
Frequently Asked Questions About CNA Programs in Georgia
Below, we answer common questions about CNA programs in Georgia, covering training duration, costs, online options, and certification details. Use these FAQs to clarify your path toward becoming a certified nursing assistant in the state.
Most state-approved CNA programs in Georgia require at least 85 hours of combined classroom and clinical training. Full-time students often complete the program in 4 to 8 weeks, while part-time or evening classes may extend to 12 weeks. Accelerated programs can be finished in as little as 3 weeks, depending on the schedule.
CNA program costs in Georgia typically range from $400 to $1,200, depending on the institution. Community colleges and technical schools often charge toward the lower end, while private training centers may be higher. Some employers and workforce development grants offer free or reduced-cost training for eligible students.
Yes, many Georgia programs offer hybrid formats where theoretical coursework is completed online, but in-person clinical hours are still required by state regulations. Fully online CNA programs are not permitted because hands-on skills practice and a clinical externship are mandatory components of the training.
You must be at least 16 or 18 years old (varies by program), have a high school diploma or GED, pass a criminal background check, complete a state-approved 85-hour training program, and pass the Georgia Nurse Aide Competency Exam, which includes written and skills components.
Georgia CNA certification must be renewed every 24 months. To remain active, you must have worked at least 8 hours for pay as a nurse aide during the renewal period. If you do not meet this requirement, you may need to re-take the competency exam or complete a refresher course.
Yes, through reciprocity. You need to hold a current, active CNA certification in another state with no findings of abuse or neglect. Submit an application to the Georgia Nurse Aide Registry, provide verification from your current state, and possibly pass a background check. You may not need to retest if your training meets Georgia's standards.
More CNA Programs in Georgia to Consider
Beyond the top-ranked programs, Georgia offers many additional quality CNA training options. These schools, organized by region, provide affordable and accessible pathways to certification. All programs are state-approved and prepare students for the Georgia Nurse Aide Registry exam.
Offers a Nurse Aide Technical Certificate of Credit with clinical experiences and NNAAP exam prep. Dual enrollment and multiple campus location options are available.
Hybrid Certified Nursing Assistant program costing $2,099 with exam fees included. Offers 32 hours of clinical training and flexible daytime or evening classes.
An 88-hour program with 64 classroom hours and 24 clinical hours. Flexible schedules in Carrollton and Newnan, with a registration fee of $1,185 for students.
A 102-hour CNA certificate program through Continuing Education at the Cartersville campus. Registration fee covers textbooks, supplies, and exam costs.
State-approved Nurse Aide training available at five campus locations. Focuses on patient care, communication, and medical technology to prepare for the certification exam.
Requires 13 credit hours with day and evening options in Augusta and Thomson. Curriculum includes medical terminology, nutrition, and clinical experiences in diverse healthcare settings.
Offers a Patient Care Assisting technical certificate open to ages 16 and up. The campus-based program provides foundational healthcare skills and serves as a pathway to nursing careers.
Approved by Alliant Health Solutions, this Nurse Aide certificate program teaches basic therapeutic and rehabilitative care. Campus-based training leads to eligibility for the Georgia Nurse Aide Registry.
The Nurse Aide Accelerated technical certificate provides hands-on clinical experience and eligibility for the state registry. Graduates work in nursing homes, hospitals, and home health settings.
A 120-hour campus-based program completed in just 5 weeks. Covers patient safety, medical terminology, and therapeutic communication, with rolling enrollment every 5 weeks.