Top CNA Programs in Virginia (2027 Rankings)

Compare costs, program length, and outcomes at Virginia's highest-rated CNA schools — ranked and reviewed.

By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated August 14, 202625+ min read
Top CNA Programs in Virginia (2027 Rankings)

Points of interest…

  • Virginia's G3 program covers tuition for eligible CNA students at community colleges, leaving about $621 in extra fees.
  • Most CNAs complete a state-mandated 140-hour program and earn certification within 4 to 8 weeks.
  • Nursing assistants in Virginia earn a median annual wage of $36,820.
  • BLS projects 209,400 annual openings for nursing assistants nationwide, reflecting strong demand in Virginia.

In as few as five weeks, a Virginian can complete a CNA program and sit for the state certification exam: a timeline that matches the urgency of healthcare employers facing severe staffing gaps. Yet the path isn’t one-size-fits-all: accelerated private courses cost more upfront, while community college programs spread over a semester often qualify for state tuition assistance.

Tuition ranges from fully covered through Virginia’s G3 initiative to around $3,500 for some private training. Programs vary from campus-based to hybrid formats that blend online theory with required clinical hours. The common thread is a stable career with a median annual wage of $36,820, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

10 Best CNA Programs in Virginia

Virginia's community colleges deliver the strongest value for CNA training: affordable in-state tuition, flexible scheduling, and clear certification pathways. The 10 programs below stand out for their combination of FastForward or G3 support, clinical preparation, and regional access. We prioritized schools that give students more than one route to a CNA, whether a credit certificate, short workforce course, or hybrid format.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Net price after aid
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • On-time completion weighted lower
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
New River Community College
Dublin, VA~$6,000/yr (est.)Rural Southwest Virginia residents wanting flexible paths

New River Community College pairs a credit Career Studies Certificate with a noncredit workforce option, so students can choose the route that matches their goals. Both pathways are approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing and feed directly into the NNAAP exam. The college reports median earnings around $40,025 for students one year after completion, with typical debt near $9,000. Campus-based training in Dublin includes practical labs and workforce coaching.

  • Career Studies Certificate or workforce noncredit option
  • Virginia Board of Nursing approved
  • Prepares for the NNAAP certification exam
  • FastForward funding may apply
  • Classroom, lab, and practical clinical component

J Sargeant Reynolds Community College in Richmond makes CNA training accessible through a campus-based Certified Nurse Aide program focused on long-term care and patient safety. The college emphasizes low-cost or free tuition for Virginia residents, often through its Community College Workforce Alliance partnership. Graduates report median earnings around $39,529 one year after finishing, with typical debt near $10,500. Screening requirements include a high school diploma or GED, background check, and TB test.

  • Focuses on long-term care and resident safety
  • High school diploma or GED required
  • Drug, background, and TB screening required
  • Tuition assistance available for Virginia residents
  • Offered through Community College Workforce Alliance
  • Campus-based program

Rappahannock Community College offers a 10-week Patient Care Technician hybrid that combines nurse aide and medical assisting skills, with online lectures plus in-person labs and clinicals. A GO Virginia grant can cover tuition, books, scrubs, and testing fees, making this one of the more fully funded short-term pathways in the state. The college reports median earnings around $36,121 for students one year after completion; typical debt data is not reported. Graduates can earn both the Certified Nurse Aide license and Certified Medical Assistant credential.

  • 10-week program with three start dates
  • Hybrid format: online lectures, in-person labs and clinicals
  • Leads to both CNA license and CMA credential
  • GO Virginia grant may cover tuition, books, and fees
  • Training includes phlebotomy and EKG skills
  • About 120 students complete annually

Southside Virginia Community College serves the Southside region with two distinct CNA paths: a 7-week workforce training at $3,396 and a dual-enrollment Career Studies Certificate for high school students. The workforce option is FastForward grant eligible and runs at multiple campus locations with evening and weekend classes. The college reports median earnings around $32,371 for graduates one year after finishing; typical debt data is not reported. Clinical rotations and classroom lab work are built into both paths.

  • For high school dual-enrollment students only
  • Campus-based Career Studies Certificate
  • Includes hands-on clinical components
  • Prepares for state certification
  • Covers patient care, infection control, vital signs
  • 7-week program length
  • $3,396 tuition cost
  • FastForward grant eligible
  • Multiple campus locations
  • Evening and weekend classes available
  • Includes clinical rotation

Paul D Camp Community College offers a one-year Career Studies Certificate in Nurse Aide that prepares students for the NNAAP and Virginia Board of Nursing certification. The curriculum emphasizes scope of practice, HIPAA compliance, culturally sensitive care, and ethical legal concepts. The college reports median earnings around $36,031 one year after completion with typical debt near $6,880, a strong debt-to-earnings profile. It is campus-based in Franklin.

  • Career Studies Certificate program
  • Prepares for NNAAP and CNA certification
  • Virginia Board of Nursing approved
  • One academic year full-time
  • Teaches HIPAA, therapeutic communication, culturally sensitive care
  • Entry-level wages around $31,900 in Hampton Roads

Patrick & Henry Community College in Martinsville offers a campus-based Nurse Aide program with clinical experience in community healthcare agencies. It qualifies students for the Virginia State Board of Nursing Certification Test for Nurse Aides, and covers patient care across all ages with special needs emphasis. The college reports median earnings around $33,323 one year after completion; typical debt data is not reported.

  • Prepares for entry-level healthcare practice
  • Clinical experience in community agencies
  • Qualifies for Virginia Nurse Aide Certification Test
  • Focuses on patient care across all ages
  • Emphasizes special needs care
  • Campus-based program delivery

Danville Community College offers both a fast 5-week Certified Nurse Aide program and a more extended Nurse Aide Extended Care Career Studies Certificate. The 5-week option costs $3,495, runs daytime Monday through Thursday, includes CPR and First Aid, and many students pay nothing out of pocket through financial aid. The Extended Care path adds medication aide training and requires 16 credits, with G3 assistance available. The college reports median earnings around $31,664 one year after completion and typical debt near $9,000.

  • 5-week accelerated program
  • $3,495 total tuition
  • Monday-Thursday daytime schedule
  • AHA CPR and First Aid certification included
  • Clinical experience at nearby facilities
  • Financial aid often covers full cost
  • 16-credit Career Studies Certificate
  • Adds medication aide and first aid training
  • G3 financial assistance available
  • Virginia Board of Nursing approved
  • Criminal background check required
  • Campus-based instruction

Virginia Highlands Community College offers an affordable 14-week Certified Nurse Aide program with evening classes and weekend clinical rotations, designed for working adults. The total tuition is $2,445, and the college notes many aid-eligible students pay nothing. A separate Career Studies Certificate option is G3 funding eligible. The college reports median earnings around $32,681 one year after completion; typical debt data is not reported.

  • $2,445 total tuition
  • 14-week program
  • Evening classes 6-10 p.m.
  • Weekend clinical sessions
  • Prepares for Virginia Board of Nursing exam
  • Free for many financial aid students
  • G3 funding eligible
  • Campus-based Career Studies Certificate
  • No application fee
  • 17:1 student-instructor ratio
  • Career services and job placement support
  • Hands-on patient care training

Brightpoint Community College offers a Nurse Aide/Medication Aide Career Studies Certificate available in both campus and hybrid formats. The curriculum includes anatomy, physiology, disease prevention, safety and infection control, and medical documentation, with a supervised internship for field experience. G3 tuition assistance is available for qualifying students. The college reports median earnings around $41,223 one year after completion and typical debt near $9,500.

  • Career Studies Certificate program
  • Campus and hybrid delivery options
  • Teaches anatomy, physiology, disease prevention
  • Covers safety and infection control
  • Medical documentation training included
  • Supervised internship for field experience
  • G3 tuition assistance eligible
  • Prepares for nurse aide and medication aide roles

Laurel Ridge Community College offers a Nurse Aide Program (NUR 27) at multiple campuses, plus a stackable Patient Care Technician/Nurse Aide option. The program is G3 scholarship eligible and can be completed in one year across two semesters, with credits that apply to the college's nursing program. The college reports median earnings around $41,000 one year after completion and typical debt near $9,750. Students can choose between Middletown, Fauquier, and Luray-Page County locations.

  • One-year, two-semester career studies certificate
  • Prepares for Virginia state CNA exam
  • Offered at three campus locations
  • Entry-level patient care skills
  • Financial aid and payment plans available
  • Scholarships available
  • Stackable credential aligned with nursing prerequisites
  • G3 Scholarship eligible
  • Courses count toward nursing programs
  • One-third the cost of four-year colleges
  • Campus-based instruction
  • Financially accessible with grants and scholarships

How We Ranked Virginia's CNA Programs

A growing number of nursing education rankings promise the 'best' programs, yet few disclose how they arrive at their lists. At topnursing.org, we weigh affordability, student outcomes, and transparency to produce a ranking that reflects what matters most to future CNAs: a credential that pays off without leaving you in debt.

What We Measure

Our methodology evaluates each CNA program on four pillars. The first is net price: the average amount students pay after grants and scholarships, drawn from IPEDS institutional data. Because net price is a campus-wide average, it is not a personal quote, so your own aid package may differ. The second pillar is financial aid access, measured by the share of students receiving aid and the average award size. Together, these metrics surface programs that genuinely lower the cost barrier.

The third pillar is student success. We use the institution’s overall graduation rate from IPEDS, but we clearly separate that from any program-specific completion rate. A college may have a strong graduation rate across all students; a CNA program’s own completion numbers, where available, offer a more precise signal. We report program-level data when it exists, often from the College Scorecard, and note gaps openly.

Finally, we examine post-completion earnings. The College Scorecard provides program-level median earnings one year after graduation, allowing us to compare how graduates fare in the job market. Where data is missing, we say so rather than fill the gap with assumptions.

How We Distinguish Institutional from Program-Specific Data

Readers often ask whether a high graduation rate or low net price applies to the entire school or to a single program. In every case, we label data points as either institution-wide or program-specific. When only college-level numbers are available, we state that plainly. Program-level earnings, when reported, come directly from the federal College Scorecard’s field-of-study data, which covers thousands of programs but not every CNA pathway. This honesty matters because a college’s overall success does not guarantee the same for its nursing assistant training.

Data Sources and Transparency

We rely on two public datasets: the U.S. Department of Education’s IPEDS for institutional metrics and the College Scorecard for program-level outcomes. Many ranking sites keep their mash-up of data secret; we publish our Rankings Methodology on topnursing.org so you can judge our work. In a field where too many lists are simply pay-to-play or arbitrary, our commitment to open methods is a deliberate trust signal. We want you to choose a CNA program with facts, not marketing.

What Do CNA Students Pay Beyond Tuition?

Virginia's G3 program can cover tuition and fees for eligible community college CNA students, making the classroom cost essentially free. Yet every student still faces several required out-of-pocket expenses. These extra costs typically add up to around $621.

Typical extra costs for CNA students: textbooks $150, uniforms $113, background check $85, NNAAP exam $150, CPR $60, application $63, totaling $621.

Free and Employer-Sponsored CNA Programs in Virginia

CNA training doesn't have to drain your savings. In Virginia, several pathways can eliminate or significantly reduce out-of-pocket costs, from employer-paid apprenticeships to state-funded tuition assistance. Understanding the trade-offs, work commitments, program structure, and eligibility, will help you pick the route that fits your life and career goals.

Employer-Sponsored CNA Training

Many healthcare employers in Virginia cover the full cost of CNA certification in exchange for a work commitment. Two well-documented programs are:

  • Virginia Health Services Earn-As-You-Learn Apprenticeship: This six-week program is completely free, covers the certification exam fee, and pays you a wage during training. It requires a 12-month employment commitment after you become certified. Locations include Newport News, Hampton, and Gloucester.
  • Ballad Health CNA Training (Southwest Virginia): This hybrid program is offered at no cost and prepares you for state certification. Details on the post-training work commitment vary, so contact Ballad Health directly.

Larger hospital systems, like Sentara, Inova, and HCA Virginia, occasionally run similar sponsored training cohorts. Because openings are often filled quickly, visit their career websites regularly and search for “CNA trainee” or “nurse aide apprentice” positions.

G3 Tuition Assistance and Community College Programs

Virginia’s G3 program (Get a Skill, Get a Job, Get Ahead) is a state-funded initiative that can cover tuition for eligible students in high-demand fields, including nurse aide training. Many community colleges across the Commonwealth offer CNA programs that qualify for G3 funding. If you are a Virginia resident and meet the income or program-of-study criteria, you could complete your CNA training at little to no cost, and without the multi-year work obligation often tied to employer-sponsored programs.

Check the Virginia Community College System website for a list of G3-eligible CNA programs near you. While you may still need to pay for uniforms, textbooks, or the certification exam out of pocket, the tuition assistance dramatically lowers the overall price tag.

Free Training Through Workforce Programs

If you’re not ready to commit to a single employer and don’t qualify for G3, look into workforce development funding. The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) sometimes covers CNA program costs for unemployed or underemployed individuals. For example, Moon River Nursing Careers in Virginia accepts WIOA funding. Contact your local Virginia Career Works center to see if you’re eligible.

What About the Red Cross?

The American Red Cross discontinued its Nurse Assistant Training Program nationally on December 31, 2023, and no Virginia locations remain. Don’t rely on old search results, if you see a Red Cross CNA class listing, it is likely outdated.

Choosing the Right Free Option

Both employer-sponsored and publicly funded paths have real value. The table below can guide your decision:

  • Employer-sponsored programs offer immediate paid training and a guaranteed job, but the 12-month (or longer) commitment may limit your flexibility. Ideal if you want to start earning quickly and plan to stay with the employer.
  • G3-funded community college programs provide broader career flexibility, you aren’t tied to a specific employer after graduation, and you can often continue your education toward an LPN or RN later. However, you may need to cover some expenses and secure a job on your own after certification.

Whichever path you choose, confirm the program’s accreditation with the Virginia Board of Nursing and ask about any hidden fees before you enroll.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do your work or family obligations require evening or weekend class schedules?
Many CNA programs in Virginia offer daytime only, but some community colleges and vocational schools provide evening or weekend cohorts. Missing these flexible options could force you to delay training or drop out.
Would a free employer-sponsored program with a work commitment suit your financial situation better than paying tuition upfront?
Facilities like nursing homes and hospitals often cover training costs in exchange for a committed work period after certification. This can save you out-of-pocket expenses, but it limits your immediate job choices.
Are you planning to use your CNA certification as a stepping stone to LPN or RN, and does your chosen program's school offer bridge pathways?
Some CNA programs are housed within institutions that also offer LPN or RN programs, making credit transfers and bridge programs smoother. If you aim for career advancement, this alignment can save time and money later.

Online and Hybrid CNA Programs in Virginia

Virginia requires all CNA candidates to complete in-person clinical hours, so fully online programs are not available. However, a handful of hybrid formats allow students to take theory coursework online, then attend clinicals at a healthcare facility. This blended approach offers flexibility but demands a commitment to on-site training.

Pros
  • Flexible scheduling for online theory portions lets you study around work or family obligations.
  • Self-paced online modules let you move through didactic material at your own speed.
  • Reduced commuting during lecture weeks saves time and transportation costs.
  • Provides access to coursework from any location with internet, opening options for students in rural areas.
Cons
  • You still must complete all required clinical hours in person, which can't be simulated online.
  • Travel to an assigned clinical site may be necessary, potentially adding commute time.
  • Less hands-on practice time before clinical rotations begin, so you'll need to be ready to learn quickly on-site.
  • Hybrid programs are rare in Virginia; of the 22 CNA programs listed on topnursing.org, only one offers a hybrid format, while the rest are on-campus only.

How to Get Your CNA Certification in Virginia

Most aspiring CNAs complete training and earn certification within 4-8 weeks. The process involves a state-mandated 140-hour program, the NNAAP exam, and an application to the Virginia Board of Nursing. CNAs certified in other states can apply for reciprocity through an online endorsement process.

A 4-step sequence to become a CNA in Virginia: complete 140-hour training, pass the NNAAP exam, apply to the state board, and renew every two years.

CNA Programs by Region in Virginia

Virginia's CNA programs are spread across every region of the state, but some areas offer significantly more choices than others. The Southwest and Shenandoah Valley lead with six community college options, followed by five each in Hampton Roads/Tidewater and Central Virginia. Northern Virginia and the Richmond metro each have three programs, which may create more competition for seats in these higher-density markets.

RegionSchoolCityFormatNet Price
Northern VirginiaGermanna Community CollegeLocust Grovecampus$5,541
Northern VirginiaNorthern Virginia Community CollegeAnnandalecampus$9,919
Northern VirginiaColumbia CollegeViennacampus$10,171
Richmond MetroJ Sargeant Reynolds Community CollegeRichmondcampus$5,168
Richmond MetroBrightpoint Community CollegeChestercampus$5,490
Richmond MetroChester Career CollegeChestercampus$24,259
Hampton Roads/TidewaterPaul D Camp Community CollegeFranklincampus$4,126
Hampton Roads/TidewaterRappahannock Community CollegeGlennscampus$4,343
Hampton Roads/TidewaterVirginia Peninsula Community CollegeHamptoncampus$7,012
Hampton Roads/TidewaterTidewater Community CollegeNorfolkcampus$11,762
Hampton Roads/TidewaterRiverside College of Health CareersNewport Newscampus$20,744
Central VirginiaPatrick & Henry Community CollegeMartinsvillecampus$4,102
Central VirginiaSouthside Virginia Community CollegeAlbertacampus$5,338
Central VirginiaDanville Community CollegeDanvillecampus$6,669
Central VirginiaCentral Virginia Community CollegeLynchburgcampus$6,928
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyMountain Gateway Community CollegeClifton Forgehybrid$4,861
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyVirginia Western Community CollegeRoanokecampus$4,966
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyVirginia Highlands Community CollegeAbingdoncampus$5,375
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyLaurel Ridge Community CollegeMiddletowncampus$6,013
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyNew River Community CollegeDublincampus$6,279
Southwest/Shenandoah ValleyMountain Empire Community CollegeBig Stone Gapcampus$8,852

CNA Salary and Job Outlook in Virginia

CNA programs in Virginia are among the shortest paths to a stable healthcare career, and the salary data shows why. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, nursing assistants in Virginia earn a median annual wage of $36,820, with top earners making over $46,200. With most training programs in Virginia costing between $500 and $1,500, the return on investment can be realized within the first couple of months on the job.

Location10th Percentile25th PercentileMedian75th Percentile90th Percentile
Virginia (statewide)$28,500N/A$36,820N/A$46,200
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV$32,790N/A$41,440N/A$52,280
Roanoke, VA$28,930N/A$35,320N/A$44,820

Career Advancement: From CNA to LPN, RN, and Beyond

Earning your CNA certification opens the door to a career with a clear upward path. Virginia's nursing workforce is structured as a ladder, and each step brings more responsibility, greater autonomy, and a significant pay increase. Whether you want to take the next step quickly or plan a long-range trajectory to become a registered nurse, the community college system in Virginia makes it practical to advance while you work.

From CNA to LPN: The First Big Leap

Licensed Practical Nurse programs, including the best LPN programs Roanoke VA, typically take 12 months and are widely available at the same community colleges that offer CNA training. For example, Blue Ridge Community College runs a three-semester LPN track, while Reynolds Community College structures its program over three semesters as well. The salary difference is substantial, nationally, LPNs earn about 20 to 30 percent more than CNAs. Many LPN programs do not require CNA experience for admission, but the hands-on patient care skills you already have give you a strong foundation for coursework and clinicals.

LPN-to-RN Bridge Programs: A Fast Track for Working Nurses

For CNAs who become LPNs, the next move is an associate degree in nursing (ADN) to qualify for the NCLEX-RN. Virginia community colleges have built specialized LPN-to-RN bridge programs that shorten the path. Piedmont Virginia Community College and Blue Ridge Community College both offer LPN-to-RN bridge options. At Mountain Gateway Community College, prior learning credit, up to 12 credits, reduces the total required to just 67 credits. Brightpoint Community College delivers its bridge specialization in a hybrid format, letting you balance work and study. Typically, these bridge programs take one year beyond LPN coursework. Keep in mind that CNA experience alone does not directly reduce clinical hours in these programs, but some colleges do award credit for prior healthcare training or general education.

BSN and Beyond

Once you hold an RN license, a BSN becomes a clear next step. The Virginia Community College System maintains RN-to-BSN transfer pathways with four-year universities, making it seamless to continue your education. Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing offers guaranteed admission for qualified community college graduates. A BSN not only increases earning potential, registered nurses with a bachelor's degree often earn 20 to 35 percent more than those with an associate degree, but also qualifies you for leadership, public health, and specialty roles.

Specialty CNA Paths: A Pay Bump Without a Degree

Not every advancement requires another licensure exam. Virginia recognizes advanced CNA roles such as the medication aide. After additional training and state-approved testing, you can administer medications in long-term care settings. Geriatric aide certification provides another increment. These credentials raise your hourly wage modestly and can be earned while you decide on a larger career move.

Mapping Your Own Path

Because so many Virginia community colleges offer the full continuum, Tidewater Community College, Danville Community College, and Wytheville Community College among them, you can often sequence certifications and degrees at a single institution. The salary and job outlook section of this article provides state-specific earning data at each nursing level, so you can see the concrete return on each educational investment.

Frequently Asked Questions About CNA Programs in Virginia

Below are answers to common questions about becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant in Virginia, covering program length, costs, online options, requirements, pass rates, free training, and scheduling. Use these concise responses to guide your next steps.

Most programs range from 4 to 12 weeks, depending on schedule. Full-time day programs can be as short as 4 weeks, while part-time evening classes may extend to 8 or 12 weeks. After completing a state-approved program, you must pass the NNAAP exam to earn certification, which can be scheduled soon after training ends.

Costs vary by provider. Community college programs may charge around $500 to $1,200, while private schools can be higher. Some programs, like those at Laurel Ridge Community College, are eligible for Virginia's G3 funding, which can cover tuition for qualifying students. Employer-sponsored training often eliminates out-of-pocket expenses entirely.

While the clinical skills portion must be completed in person, some programs offer hybrid formats where theory and lecture content can be taken online. However, fully online CNA programs are not available due to required hands-on clinical hours. Check with individual schools for hybrid options that blend online coursework with in-person labs and clinicals.

You must be at least 18 years old (or 16 to 17 with parental consent), have a high school diploma or GED, complete a state-approved nurse aide training program of at least 120 hours, and pass the Virginia NNAAP exam, which includes a written or oral test and a skills demonstration. A criminal background check and TB test are also required.

The Virginia Board of Nursing publishes official Testing Pass Rates for all approved programs, available in downloadable spreadsheets. One program, Excel Health Institute in Manassas, claims a pass rate above 90 percent. For the most current data, review the state's pass rate reports to compare programs in your area.

Yes, free options exist through employer sponsorship, workforce development grants, or funding like Virginia's G3 program, which can cover tuition at participating community colleges such as Laurel Ridge. Nursing homes and hospitals often offer paid training for new hires in exchange for a work commitment. Eligibility requirements vary.

Many providers accommodate working students. For example, CNN American Global Institute offers both day (4 weeks) and evening (5 weeks) schedules as of 2026. Other schools may provide weekend or accelerated options. Check with specific programs for current availability, as schedules can change and may affect total program length.

More CNA Programs in Virginia to Consider

The directory below covers additional Virginia CNA programs beyond the ranked list, grouped by region. Entries are not ranked; they are here to help you compare location, format, and approximate net price. Program costs and institutional net prices can change, so confirm details with each school before enrolling.

Central Virginia

Centra College
An eight-week program that blends classroom instruction with clinical rotations at Centra facilities, preparing students for the NNAAP exam and Virginia CNA licensure. The college offers financial aid and application support; average net price is not reported.
  • Nurse Aide
Lynchburg, VA · On-Campus
Central Virginia Community College
Located on the Lynchburg campus, this program trains students for hospitals, long-term care, and home settings, with an emphasis on Virginia's nurse aide scope of practice. Graduates are prepared for the NNAAP exam, and the college's average net price is about $6,928.
  • Certified Nurse Aid
Lynchburg, VA · On-Campus
Chester Career College
The Nurse Aide Diploma Program spans 140 clock hours, including 60 lecture, 40 lab, and 40 clinical hours, with daytime classes Monday through Thursday. Coursework covers vital signs, wound care, and dementia care, and graduates can sit for the NNAAP exam. The college's average net price is about $24,259.
  • Nurse Aide Diploma Program
  • Nurse Aide
Chester, VA · On-Campus
Germanna Community College
A seven-week program with hands-on clinical experience at local facilities, covering patient care, medication administration, and health monitoring. Students need a background check, drug test, and current vaccines; the college's average net price is about $5,541.
  • Certified Nurse Aide
Locust Grove, VA · On-Campus

Hampton Roads

Riverside College of Health Sciences
A six-week program with 72 academic hours, 42 lab hours, and 50 clinical hours at modern medical facilities. Tuition is $700, and an Earn-and-Learn option lets students work as Hospitality Assistants while completing training tuition-free. The college's average net price is about $20,744.
  • Nurse Aide
Newport News, VA · On-Campus
Tidewater Community College
A one-semester, 9-credit Career Studies Certificate in Nurse Aide that covers patient care fundamentals, charting, nutrition, safety, and infection control. Classes meet at the Virginia Beach Campus, and the credential prepares students for certification exams and further nursing study. The college's average net price is about $11,762.
  • Career Studies Certificate in Nurse Aide
  • Nurse Aide - Certificate
  • Nurse Aide
Norfolk, VA · On-Campus
Virginia Peninsula Community College
A non-credit Workforce Development certificate with small classes and a 40-hour clinical internship. Tuition includes an eBook, workbook, BLS certification, a clinical kit, and a $120 exam voucher, and the program is Fast Forward eligible. The college's average net price is about $7,012.
  • Certified Nurse Aide (CNA)
  • Nurse Aide
Hampton, VA · On-Campus

Northern Virginia

Northern Virginia Community College
Part of NOVA Workforce Healthcare, this continuing education program prepares students for industry certification and entry-level nurse aide roles. The college also offers advanced nurse aide and medication aide pathways, with campus and hybrid formats available. The college's average net price is about $9,919.
  • Nurse Aide (CNA)
  • Nurse Aide
Annandale, VA · On-Campus

Southwest Virginia

Mountain Empire Community College
A 16-credit campus program combining theory and lab work with clinical experience in hospitals and long-term care settings. Students study infection control, charting, patient assessment, and geriatric care, and graduates are eligible for Virginia Board of Nursing certification exams. The college's average net price is about $8,852.
  • Nursing Assistant (CNA), CSC
  • Nursing Assistant
Big Stone Gap, VA · On-Campus
Mountain Gateway Community College
A 120-hour program offered in hybrid and campus formats, with lecture, labs, and clinical experience covering physical, social, and emotional patient care. FastForward assistance can reduce tuition for Virginia residents, and the college's average net price is about $4,861.
  • Nurse Aide
Clifton Forge, VA · Hybrid
Virginia Western Community College
A 28-day program with four weeks of classroom instruction and a 40-hour clinical externship, preparing students for the NNAAP exam. Estimated program cost is $3,495, with FastForward and G3 assistance available; the college's average net price is about $4,966.
  • Certified Nurse Aide
Roanoke, VA · On-Campus

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us