Top Nurse Practitioner Programs in Ohio (2027 Guide)

Compare Ohio FNP programs by cost, format, clinical hours, and certification outcomes — side by side.

By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read
Top Nurse Practitioner Programs in Ohio (2027 Guide)

Points of interest…

  • Projected 40% NP job growth adds 128,400 positions nationally by 2034.
  • Ohio's top programs include Ohio State, Cincinnati, and Case Western Reserve.
  • Becoming an NP in Ohio takes 6 to 7 years after starting a BSN.
  • Program-level earnings data for Ohio FNP graduates is not yet published by College Scorecard.

Ohio's need for primary care providers is growing, and nurse practitioners are filling the gap. The BLS forecasts 40% national job growth for NPs through 2034. Within the state, aspiring FNPs can choose from more than 20 programs across public and private institutions, with in-state tuition ranging from roughly $11,000 to over $54,000. Delivery formats include 100% online, hybrid with minimal campus visits, and traditional on-campus cohorts. Despite common accreditation, schools differ in clinical placement support, certification pass rates, and preceptor relationships: details that matter when choosing where to invest two or three years of study.

10 Best Nurse Practitioner Programs in Ohio

This list ranks ten Ohio nurse practitioner programs with a focus on affordability, student outcomes, and institution-wide graduation rates. Program-level median earnings are not yet available for every listed program, so the ranking also weighs institutional earnings data where reported. Use the program bullets to compare delivery format, clinical hours, and tuition.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention weighted most heavily
  • Affordability adjusted for regional costs
  • Post-completion earnings outcomes
  • Program-level records and accreditation
  • On-time completion weighted lower
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH~$14,000/yr (est.)Campus-based acute care learners

Ohio State University offers a campus-based Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner master's program with a strong academic medical center footprint in Columbus. The program requires one year of acute care RN experience and includes clinical practicum, simulation, and research utilization. Institution-wide, Ohio State reports a graduation rate around 88 percent.

CCNE accredited
  • On-campus program
  • Focuses on acute care
  • Requires one year acute care RN experience
  • Eligible for AGACNP certification
  • Includes clinical practicum and simulation
  • Available in multiple degree pathways
  • Emphasizes cultural competency and health promotion
  • Based on NONPF guidelines

Youngstown State University offers an online post-master's certificate in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. The program is 36 credits, can be completed in as few as 18 months, and includes 540 clinical hours. Institution-wide, Youngstown State reports a graduation rate near 50 percent.

  • Online program delivery
  • 36 credit hours
  • As few as 18 months
  • $19,548 total in-state tuition
  • $543 per credit hour
  • MSN degree required
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 540 clinical practicum hours

Cleveland State University offers post-graduate NP certificates in family practice and psychiatric mental health, plus a post-baccalaureate DNP in psychiatric mental health. Most programs use an online format with some on-campus residency or in-person components. Institution-wide, Cleveland State reports a graduation rate around 51 percent.

  • 100% online coursework with one on-campus residency
  • 780 clinical hours
  • 35 credit hours total
  • Full-time in 1 year 3 months
  • $636.70 per credit in-state
  • $637.70 per credit out-of-state
  • Master's degree and active RN license required
  • Three intakes per year
  • All coursework online
  • 36 credit hours total
  • Complete full-time in 1 year 3 months
  • Clinical placement support provided
  • Master's or doctoral degree required
  • 3.0 GPA and active RN license
  • Prerequisite statistics course
  • Prepares for PMHNP certification
CCNE accredited
  • Blended online and in-person format
  • 11 semesters full-time
  • 3.3 GPA minimum
  • One year RN experience required
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Prerequisite statistics within five years
  • Prepares for PMHNP role in community settings
  • CCNE accredited

The University of Akron offers a campus-based post-MSN certificate in Child and Adolescent Health Nurse Practitioner with an acute care focus. The 10-credit program requires an MSN, Ohio APRN license, and one year of pediatric experience. Institution-wide, Akron reports a graduation rate around 52 percent.

  • Campus-based delivery
  • 10 credit hour program
  • Post-MSN certificate
  • Acute care concentration
  • Requires MSN degree and Ohio APRN license
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • One year pediatric experience
  • 150 hours per practicum

Wright State University offers an online Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care graduate certificate. The 18-credit program includes 560 clinical hours and requires a master's degree from a CCNE-accredited program. Institution-wide, Wright State reports a graduation rate around 42 percent.

  • Fully online with synchronous coursework
  • 18 credit hours
  • 560 clinical hours
  • Pediatric primary care focus
  • Covers birth to 21 years
  • Eligible for national PNP certification
  • Requires CCNE-accredited master's degree
  • Current RN licensure

The University of Cincinnati offers a broad set of NP pathways including an online MSN Family Nurse Practitioner with certification pass rates above 95 percent, plus post-master's certificates and DNP tracks in psychiatric mental health and adult-gerontology. Many programs use hybrid delivery with online coursework and in-person clinicals or immersions. Institution-wide, Cincinnati reports a graduation rate around 75 percent.

CCNE accredited
  • 100% online asynchronous coursework
  • No required site visits
  • Three start terms annually
  • One year RN experience required
  • Above 95% certification pass rates
  • Faculty are practicing nurses
  • Clinical planning support team
  • Transfer credits accepted
  • Blended online and in-person
  • Prepares for CPNP-BC exam
  • Requires BSN and MSN
  • Minimum 3.25 BSN GPA
  • One year RN experience
  • Ohio, Kentucky, or Indiana residency
  • Tuition $836 per credit
  • Fall semester start only
  • Online with clinical requirements
  • Complete in as few as 16 months
  • Requires MSN and RN license
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • One year clinical experience
  • Three start terms annually
  • Individualized program plan
  • Taught by practicing faculty
  • Hybrid with in-person labs
  • Online coursework with in-person labs
  • Prepares for AGACNP certification
  • Requires MSN and RN license
  • Residency in Ohio, Kentucky, or Indiana
  • Tuition from $836 per credit
  • Fall semester start only
  • Skills like suturing taught
  • Hybrid with in-person clinicals
  • Focuses on patients 13 and older
  • Requires BSN and MSN
  • Residency in Ohio, Kentucky, or Indiana
  • $836 per credit for Ohio residents
  • $851 per credit non-residents
  • One year RN experience required
  • Online learning fee $57 per credit
CCNE accredited
  • Online with in-person immersions
  • DNP degree
  • $836 per credit
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • One start date per year
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Prepares for PMHNP-BC certification
  • Minimum one year RN experience
CCNE accredited
  • Online with on-campus intensives
  • DNP degree
  • 3.3 GPA minimum
  • One year RN experience required
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for AGPCNP-BC
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Fall semester start only

Ursuline College offers CCNE-accredited MSN tracks in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, both in a hybrid format. The Breen School of Nursing is designated an NLN Center of Excellence. Institution-wide, Ursuline reports a graduation rate around 67 percent.

CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid format
  • Starts fall or spring
  • Requires one year RN experience
  • $25 application fee
  • Ranked #3 in Ohio for MSN
  • NLN Center of Excellence
  • Prepare for high-acuity care
  • Decision within two weeks
CCNE accredited
  • Blended online and in-person
  • Fall and spring start dates
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Current Ohio RN license required
  • Minimum one year RN experience
  • $25 application fee
  • CCNE accredited
  • Ranked #34 MSN program nationally

Otterbein University offers hybrid and online post-graduate NP certificates in family practice and psychiatric mental health. The FNP certificate requires 31 credits with 600 clinical hours, and the PMHNP certificate is fully online with 42 credits. Institution-wide, Otterbein reports a graduation rate around 68 percent.

  • Hybrid format
  • 31 graduate credit hours
  • 600 clinical hours
  • On-campus lab sessions
  • High FNP pass rates
  • Tuition estimate $22,407
  • Requires graduate nursing degree
  • Ohio RN license and 3.0 GPA
  • Online format
  • 42 graduate credit hours
  • Summer semester start
  • Prepares for ANCC certification
  • Tuition approximately $29,637
  • Current RN license needed
  • One year clinical experience
  • Local clinical experiences

University of Mount Union offers an online MSN with an Emergency Nurse Practitioner concentration, the only ENP program in Ohio. The 46-credit program can be completed in about 22 months and includes a standalone ENP option for FNPs. Institution-wide, Mount Union reports a graduation rate around 59 percent.

  • Online delivery
  • 46 credit hours
  • 22-month program
  • Only ENP program in Ohio
  • Standalone ENP option for FNPs
  • HLC-approved MSN
  • Two concentration options
  • Accelerated BSN pathways available

Xavier University offers online MSN programs in Family Nurse Practitioner and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner. Both are CCNE-accredited, require 600 clinical hours, and carry $739 per credit tuition. Institution-wide, Xavier reports a graduation rate around 69 percent.

CCNE accredited
  • 100% online asynchronous
  • 46 credit hours
  • $739 per credit
  • 600 clinical hours
  • CCNE accredited
  • No GRE required
  • One year nursing experience
  • 28 months full-time
CCNE accredited
  • Fully online
  • 43 credit hours
  • 600 clinical practicum hours
  • No entrance exam
  • One year nursing experience
  • One of only 17 AHNCC-endorsed online programs
  • Ohio Board of Nursing approved
  • Small class sizes

10 Best Nurse Practitioner Programs in Ohio

Ohio is home to a strong mix of campus-based and online nurse practitioner programs, from large academic medical centers to regional public universities. The programs below stand out for their clinical depth, flexible formats, and student supports. Each entry highlights the school's overall graduation rate and median earnings, but those numbers reflect all students, not just nurse practitioner graduates.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention weighted most heavily
  • Tuition adjusted for regional price differences
  • Post-completion median earnings
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH~$14,000/yr (est.)Acute care nurses wanting academic medical center placements

Ohio State University pairs a large research university with a leading academic medical center, giving NP students access to central Ohio clinical sites such as Wexner Medical Center and Nationwide Children's Hospital. The campus-based Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP track requires one year of acute care experience and is available through multiple degree pathways. Ohio State's overall graduation rate is 88%, and U.S. Department of Education data show median earnings of $60,409 for all graduates. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are roughly $13,244 and $40,022, respectively.

CCNE accredited
  • On-campus program
  • Focuses on acute care for adults and older adults
  • Requires one year of acute care experience
  • Eligible for AGACNP certification
  • Includes clinical practicum courses
  • Available as MSN, post-master's, BSN to DNP, and BSN to PhD pathways
  • Emphasizes health promotion and cultural competency
  • Uses simulation equipment and nationally recognized faculty

Youngstown State University serves the Mahoning Valley and surrounding Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Michigan region through an online Post-Master's Certificate in Adult Gerontology Acute Care NP. The 36-credit program can be completed in as few as 18 months, with 540 clinical hours arranged in regional partner hospitals. Youngstown State's overall graduation rate is 50%, and median earnings for all graduates are $41,544. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are about $11,113 and $11,473, making it one of the more affordable options on this list.

  • Online program delivery
  • 36 credit hours required
  • As few as 18 months completion
  • $19,548 total in-state tuition
  • $543 per credit hour
  • MSN degree and GPA 3.0 required
  • One year critical care experience required
  • 540 clinical practicum hours
  • Prepares for ANCC or AANP certification

Cleveland State University brings a community and safety-net focus to NP education, with many clinical placements in Cleveland-area community health centers and urban primary care practices. The school offers an online Family Nurse Practitioner post-graduate certificate, an online Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner post-graduate certificate, and a hybrid BSN to DNP PMHNP pathway. Cleveland State's overall graduation rate is 51%, and median earnings for all graduates are $52,131. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are about $12,988 and $18,510.

  • 100% online coursework
  • One on-campus residency required
  • 780 clinical hours required
  • Clinical placement support provided
  • Full-time completion in 1 year 3 months
  • 35 credit hours total
  • $636.70 per credit in-state
  • $637.70 per credit out-of-state
  • 100% online coursework
  • 780 clinical hours required
  • Clinical placement support provided
  • Full-time completion in 1 year 3 months
  • 36 credit hours total
  • In-state tuition $636.70 per credit
  • Out-of-state tuition $637.70 per credit
  • Master's or doctoral degree required
CCNE accredited
  • 11-semester program
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • 3.3 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • Work experience required
  • Blended online and in-person formats
  • One year RN experience required
  • Interview with faculty required

The University of Akron offers a post-MSN Certificate in Child and Adolescent Health Nurse Practitioner with an acute care concentration, designed for certified pediatric NPs who want to add acute care skills. The 10-credit program requires an MSN, a 3.0 GPA, an Ohio APRN license, and one year of pediatric clinical experience. Akron's overall graduation rate is 52%, and median earnings for all graduates are $46,600. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are about $13,135 and $20,815.

  • 10 credit hour program
  • Post-MSN certificate
  • Focus on acute care concentration
  • Designed for pediatric nurse practitioners
  • Requires MSN degree and GPA 3.0
  • Ohio APRN license needed
  • National pediatric certification required
  • One year pediatric experience required

Wright State University serves the Miami Valley and western Ohio through an online Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care graduate certificate. The post-master's program includes 18 credit hours and 560 direct care clinical hours, with some synchronous coursework. Wright State's overall graduation rate is 42%, and median earnings for all graduates are $49,500. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are about $11,522 and $21,222.

  • Post-master's certificate
  • Fully online with synchronous coursework
  • 18 total credit hours
  • 560 clinical hours required
  • Focus on pediatric primary care
  • Covers birth to 21 years
  • Eligible for national certification
  • Requires MSN from CCNE-accredited program

The University of Cincinnati offers one of Ohio's broadest NP portfolios, including an online MSN Family Nurse Practitioner, online and hybrid post-master's certificates, and DNP tracks. The FNP program is fully online with asynchronous coursework and reports certification pass rates above 95%. Cincinnati's overall graduation rate is 75%, and median earnings for all graduates are $54,810. In-state and out-of-state tuition and fees are about $13,976 and $29,310.

CCNE accredited
  • 100% online program
  • No site visits required
  • Asynchronous coursework
  • Three start terms annually
  • BSN required for admission
  • One year RN experience required
  • Above 95% certification pass rates
  • Federal financial aid and transfer credits available
  • Hybrid program delivery
  • Prepares for CPNP-BC exam
  • Requires BSN and MSN
  • Minimum 3.25 BSN GPA
  • One year RN experience needed
  • Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana residency required
  • Fall semester start only
  • $836 per credit tuition
  • Online with clinical requirements
  • Complete in as few as 16 months
  • Requires Master of Science in Nursing
  • Current RN license needed
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA required
  • One year clinical experience required
  • Three intakes per year
  • Taught by practicing faculty
  • Hybrid program delivery
  • Prepares for national certification
  • Requires MSN and RN license
  • Residency in Ohio, Kentucky, or Indiana
  • $836 per credit tuition
  • Fall semester start only
  • Online coursework with in-person labs
  • Skills like suturing taught
  • Hybrid program delivery
  • Online coursework with in-person clinicals
  • Focuses on patients 13 and older
  • Requires active RN licensure
  • BSN and MSN from accredited institutions
  • One year RN experience required
  • $836 per credit for Ohio residents
  • $851 per credit for non-residents
CCNE accredited
  • Online with on-campus immersions
  • $836 per credit
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Fall semester start
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • Capstone required
  • Minimum one year RN experience
CCNE accredited
  • Online with in-person immersions
  • Apply by 2026-06-01
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Fall semester start
  • 3.3 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • Capstone required
  • Minimum one year RN experience

Ursuline College is a small private institution near Cleveland with hybrid MSN tracks in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. The Breen School of Nursing holds NLN Center of Excellence designation and ranks among Ohio's top MSN programs. Ursuline's overall graduation rate is 67%, and median earnings for all graduates are $56,878. Tuition and fees are $38,990 for both in-state and out-of-state students.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • Two start dates per year
  • Starts fall and spring
  • Three letters of recommendation required
  • Work experience required
  • $25 application fee
  • Ranked #34 MSN program nationally
  • One year RN experience required
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • Starts fall and spring
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Three letters of recommendation required
  • Work experience required
  • $25 application fee
  • Current Ohio RN license required
  • One year RN experience required

Otterbein University, located near Columbus, offers a hybrid Family Nurse Practitioner post-graduate certificate and an online Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner post-graduate certificate. The FNP track includes 31 credits and 600 clinical hours, with on-campus lab sessions supplementing online core courses. Otterbein's overall graduation rate is 68%, and median earnings for all graduates are $53,313. Tuition and fees are $35,548 for both in-state and out-of-state students.

  • 31 graduate credit hours
  • Hybrid program format
  • 600 clinical hours required
  • On-campus lab sessions
  • Community-based clinical preceptors
  • Prepares for national certification
  • High FNP pass rates
  • Tuition estimate $22,407
  • Online program format
  • 42 graduate credit hours
  • Summer semester start
  • Clinical experiences arranged locally
  • Prepares for ANCC certification
  • Requires graduate nursing degree
  • Current RN license needed
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA requirement

The University of Mount Union offers a fully online Master of Science in Nursing with an Emergency Nurse Practitioner concentration, the only ENP offering in Ohio according to the university. The 46-credit MSN can be completed in about 22 months, with a standalone ENP certificate option for current FNPs. Mount Union's overall graduation rate is 59%, and median earnings for all graduates are $53,217. Tuition and fees are $36,600 for both in-state and out-of-state students.

  • Online program delivery
  • 2 concentration options
  • 22-month program
  • 46 total credit hours
  • Only ENP program in Ohio
  • Standalone ENP option for current FNPs
  • Meets 30,000+ yearly APRN demand
  • HLC-approved MSN degree

Xavier University offers two fully online MSN tracks: Family Nurse Practitioner and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner. Both programs feature asynchronous coursework, 600 clinical practicum hours, and rolling admissions, with the FNP requiring 46 credits and the AGPCNP requiring 43 credits. Xavier's overall graduation rate is 69%, and median earnings for all graduates are $64,873. Tuition and fees are $50,640 for both in-state and out-of-state students.

CCNE accredited
  • 100% online program
  • 46 credit hours required
  • $739 per credit tuition
  • Two to three years completion time
  • 600 clinical hours required
  • CCNE accredited
  • No GRE required
  • Rolling admissions
CCNE accredited
  • 100% online MSN program
  • 43 total credit hours
  • $739 per credit
  • Complete in as few as 9 semesters
  • Apply by 2026-08-03
  • Rolling admissions
  • 600 clinical hours
  • Minimum one year nursing experience

Ohio MSN-FNP Tuition Comparison

Comparing tuition across Ohio's MSN-FNP programs reveals significant cost differences. The table below lists published tuition rates alongside net price, the amount students actually pay after financial aid. Private institutions charge the same tuition for all students, while public universities offer a discount for Ohio residents.

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price
Youngstown State University$6,848$7,028$12,767
Ohio University$9,720$17,712$21,637
University of Akron$10,125$15,885$13,946
Cleveland State University$11,297$21,107$14,764
Kent State University$12,483$23,352$20,787
Walsh University$13,500$13,500$20,493
Malone University$13,830$13,830$20,948
Otterbein University$13,849$13,849$19,237
Ohio State University$13,901$42,740$17,339
Wright State University$15,771$25,759$15,415
Miami University-Hamilton$16,359$37,399$11,286
University of Toledo$17,605$29,426$17,249
Mount Carmel College of Nursing$22,602$22,602$10,420
Ursuline College$31,864$31,864$16,164

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need a fully online program, or would you prefer in-person clinical mentorship and networking?
Online flexibility fits working nurses, but on-campus tracks build direct relationships with preceptors and peers.
Is total tuition your top priority, or are you willing to pay more for a program with higher certification pass rates and clinical placement support?
Lower tuition eases debt, while stronger pass rates and placement help can lead to earlier employment and higher pay.
Can you relocate for clinicals, or do you need a program that places students at sites near your home?
Some Ohio programs involve travel for rotations; others focus on local placements to fit your current commitments.

Online vs. On-Campus NP Programs in Ohio

Ohio nurse practitioner programs offer a range of delivery formats to accommodate working nurses, from fully online options to those requiring limited campus visits. The table below compares four MSN-FNP programs on key factors like delivery mode, in-person requirements, and clinical placement support.

ProgramDelivery ModeOn-Campus RequirementClinical Placement Support
Walsh UniversityFully onlineNone statedClinical placement coordinator provided
Ohio UniversityOnline with intensivesLimited on-campus intensivesNot specified
Cleveland State UniversityOnline with residencyOne on-site residencyServices provided, student responsible
University of CincinnatiHybridOn-campus immersionsNot specified

Clinical Hour Requirements by Ohio FNP Program

Clinical hours are the backbone of any Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) program, giving you the real-world experience needed to assess, diagnose, and manage patients across the lifespan. These hands-on hours, completed under the supervision of a licensed preceptor, build the confidence and clinical judgment that textbooks alone cannot provide. The number of required clinical hours varies by school, but most Ohio FNP programs fall within a range of 700 to 800 hours for the master's-level track.

Clinical Hour Requirements at Ohio FNP Programs

Two Ohio programs that provide clear hour totals and placement support are Cleveland State University and Walsh University.

  • Cleveland State University: The online MSN-FNP program requires 780 clinical hours. The school takes an active role in helping students find clinical placements, so you are not left to arrange everything on your own.
  • Walsh University: The online MSN-FNP program requires 700 clinical hours. Like Cleveland State, Walsh offers placement assistance, connecting you with approved preceptors and sites.

Keep in mind that these totals often represent the minimum required. Depending on your clinical site, patient volume, and learning opportunities, some students may log additional hours to meet competency benchmarks.

School-Assisted Placement vs. Self-Arranged Preceptorships

One of the most practical factors to weigh is whether the program helps you secure clinical placements. Arranging your own preceptor can be a significant source of stress, especially if you are juggling work and family commitments or lack professional connections in certain geographic areas.

Programs that assist with placement, like Cleveland State and Walsh, often have dedicated clinical placement coordinators who maintain relationships with healthcare systems, private practices, and community clinics across Ohio. This can speed up the process and ensure your placement meets accreditation and licensing board standards. If a program does not offer placement support, ask about the expectations up front. You may need to identify, contact, and contract with a preceptor on your own, which can add months to your timeline.

Making the Most of Your Clinical Hours

Regardless of the hour total, the quality of your clinical experience matters as much as the quantity. Look for programs that offer diverse clinical rotations: primary care, pediatrics, women's health, geriatrics, and internal medicine. Exposure to varied patient populations helps you develop a well-rounded skill set and can even influence your career direction after graduation.

When evaluating programs, don't hesitate to ask about the geographic range of clinical sites. If you live in a rural part of Ohio, will the school help you find a preceptor within a reasonable driving distance? If you hope to work in an underserved area, does the program have partnerships with Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) or rural health clinics? These details can shape your day-to-day experience and future job prospects.

FNP Certification Pass Rates at Ohio Schools

Certification pass rates have become a frontline metric for evaluating nurse practitioner program quality, not just a check-the-box accreditation number. For prospective FNP students, understanding how Ohio programs perform on the national certification exams can make the difference between a smooth transition to practice and unexpected retesting delays.

Where to Find AANP Program Performance Reports

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) publishes an annual Program Performance Report that breaks out first-time pass rates for FNP graduates by school. These reports are freely accessible online and cover the most recent exam cycle. As of 2026, the latest data typically reflect the previous calendar year’s exams (e.g., 2024 or 2025). The reports let you see each program’s pass rate alongside the national average, and they distinguish between AANP and ANCC certification tracks where applicable. Look for the “Education & Practice” or “Certification” section on the AANP website, then download the PDF specific to FNP programs. The information is unweighted and straightforward: a percentage of graduates who passed on their first attempt.

Checking Individual School Websites

Many nursing colleges in Ohio post certification outcomes directly on their nursing program pages. Here’s what to look for and where:

  • Accreditation or Outcomes tab: On the nursing school’s main page, search under headings like “Program Outcomes,” “Accreditation,” or “Student Achievement.” Ohio State University’s College of Nursing, for instance, publishes a detailed outcomes dashboard that includes FNP certification pass rates.
  • Graduate program handbooks: The University of Cincinnati’s MSN-FNP handbook often embeds recent pass rate data as part of its annual review.
  • Institutional research pages: Case Western Reserve University and Kent State University sometimes present pass rates through their offices of institutional effectiveness rather than the nursing department itself.
  • Program-specific FAQ sections: Otterbein University and Xavier University have been known to place certification outcomes in their online graduate nursing FAQs or in a quick-facts sidebar.

When you locate a rate, check the reporting year. Some schools update them annually; others may lag by a year or more. If you find a rate from 2023 and it’s now 2026, that’s a signal to request fresher data.

Comparing Against National Benchmarks

AANP and ANCC each release annual aggregate statistics. While exact numbers shift slightly year to year, national first-time FNP certification pass rates have historically held in a stable band. Use the AANP performance report to overlay your target Ohio school’s pass rate against that national figure. A rate noticeably below the national average, say more than five percent lower, warrants a closer look at the program’s curriculum and clinical placement support. Conversely, a program consistently near or above the national mean suggests strong exam preparation. ANCC’s annual data report, though separate, can serve as a secondary benchmark, especially if the school’s graduates predominantly take that exam.

When Pass Rates Aren’t Public

Some Ohio programs choose not to post certification pass rates online. That doesn’t automatically signal a problem, but it does shift the burden to you. Contact the graduate nursing coordinator or program director directly. A concise email asking for the most recent FNP first-time pass rate and the date range it covers usually gets a reply. If the program hesitates, ask about the support it provides for board preparation: live review courses, access to question banks, and remediation policies. Transparent schools will share this data readily; reticence can be a red flag.

Regardless of how you gather the numbers, always note the year they represent. Programs under continuous improvement may have pass rates that change meaningfully from one cohort to the next. The most relevant number is the one closest to the year you plan to enroll.

How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Ohio

The path to NP licensure in Ohio follows six clear stages, typically taking 6 to 7 years after starting a BSN. Each step builds on the last, from nursing education to national certification and finally a required collaborative practice agreement.

Six-step path to becoming a nurse practitioner in Ohio, from BSN through APRN license, including 500 clinical hours and a required collaborative practice agreement, as of 2025-2026.

Admission Requirements and Competitiveness for Ohio FNP Programs

Meeting the admission standards for Ohio's top nurse practitioner programs requires a strategic approach, but the investment pays off in a thriving career field. Even among the state's most recognized schools, including Ohio State, the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve, and Kent State, expectations can differ sharply. Understanding where to look and whom to ask gives you a decisive edge.

Program Websites: Your Starting Point

No two FNP tracks are identical. A program that waives the GRE for experienced RNs might still require a canned personal statement, while another demands a detailed portfolio of clinical hours. Always begin with the official website. Look for a dedicated “Admissions” or “Prospective Students” page, and pay attention to:

  • Minimum GPA: Most Ohio programs expect at least a 3.0 undergraduate GPA, though competitive applicants often exceed a 3.5. Some schools calculate GPA from the last 60 credits of nursing coursework.
  • GRE policies: Many programs, particularly those with a holistic review process, now offer GRE waivers for applicants with strong academic records or advanced practice experience. Always verify the specific criteria.
  • RN experience: Requirements range from zero to two years. A few schools admit direct-entry MSN students without a prior nursing license, but the majority expect an active, unencumbered Ohio RN license and some bedside experience.
  • Prerequisite courses: Graduate-level pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment are common; some programs require these within five years of application.

Accreditation and Professional Guidelines

Accreditation signals that a program meets national quality standards, a factor that affects both your eligibility for certification and your ability to secure federal financial aid. Most Ohio FNP programs, including those at Kent State and Otterbein, hold CCNE accreditation.1 The Ohio Board of Nursing sets additional expectations: for example, APRN licensure mandates 45 hours of advanced pharmacology, a requirement baked into every accredited curriculum.1 When reviewing programs, also consult the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) for recommended competencies and clinical hour minimums. These benchmarks help you gauge whether a school’s outcomes align with industry norms.

Contacting Admissions Directly

GPAs, test policies, and clinical hour prerequisites can shift from year to year. If a program’s website leaves any ambiguity, such as whether a specific course meets a prerequisite or what constitutes “recent” RN experience, reach out directly. A quick call or email to the graduate admissions coordinator can clarify waiver eligibility, articulation agreements, and even unadvertised early-decision tracks. Prepare a few concise questions beforehand so you get actionable information without the back-and-forth.

Understanding Competitiveness Through Labor Data

Rising demand for nurse practitioners in Ohio, particularly in primary care and rural health, has made FNP programs more selective. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov) projects strong, sustained growth for the occupation, which naturally increases the applicant pool. Contextualize each program’s yield and acceptance rate by considering the broader job outlook. A program that feels tough to enter often reflects a curriculum designed to meet that high-stakes market, so the admissions bar is both a hurdle and a signal of quality.

Nurse practitioner employment is projected to grow 40% from 2024 to 2034, adding roughly 128,400 new jobs across the country. That pace, reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, makes it one of the fastest growing occupations, expanding more than four times faster than the average for all fields.

NP Salary and Job Outlook in Ohio

Nurse Practitioners in Ohio enjoy strong earning potential and a sizable workforce. The table below compares NP wages and employment with related nursing occupations, using state-level data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

OccupationTotal EmploymentMedian Annual Wage25th Percentile75th Percentile
Nurse Practitioners14,550$126,740$106,270$132,740
Registered Nurses138,360$81,250$77,420$97,440
Nursing Instructors and Teachers, Postsecondary4,260$74,570$47,750$96,760
Medical and Health Services Managers23,280$105,040$80,750$136,360

How to Choose the Right NP Program in Ohio

What factors really matter when choosing a nurse practitioner program in Ohio? The answer isn't a single ranking: it's a personal decision based on your career goals, budget, and learning style. Use this step-by-step process to compare programs logically and avoid common missteps.

Starting Point: Online vs. On-Campus Format

Your first filter should be delivery method. Online programs offer flexibility for working nurses, while on-campus options provide more face-to-face interaction and structured schedules. Many Ohio schools now offer hybrid models that blend virtual classes with occasional in-person sessions. The earlier comparison of online and on-campus programs breaks down the trade-offs for Ohio learners, including how clinical hours are arranged.

Filter by Total Cost, Not Just Tuition

Published per-credit rates rarely capture the full financial picture. To get a true cost, add mandatory fees, books, equipment, and travel for any on-campus intensives. The MSN-FNP tuition comparison table above gives you baseline figures, but you'll need to dig into each school's financial aid page to uncover housing, technology, and lab fees. A program that looks cheapest on paper may become less attractive if it lacks clinical placement support and you end up paying out-of-pocket for preceptor sites.

Accreditation: Non-Negotiable

Only consider programs with CCNE or ACEN accreditation. Without it, you won't be eligible to sit for national certification exams like the AANP or ANCC, and your Ohio APRN license application will stall. Every program listed in this guide holds proper accreditation, but always verify through the CCNE or ACEN directory. The certification pass rate data earlier reflects outcomes from accredited programs, giving you a direct line of sight into exam readiness.

Clinical Placement Support Can Make or Break Your Experience

Finding preceptors is often the biggest hurdle in NP education. Programs that provide dedicated clinical placement coordinators and preceptor matching save you months of cold-calling clinics. Reach out to current students or alumni on LinkedIn or nursing forums for unfiltered feedback. Ask specifically about how the school handles placement in your desired specialty and geographic area. The clinical hour requirements table earlier shows the minimums each program requires; a program with strong support becomes even more critical when those hours are high.

Weigh the Data You've Already Seen

Now pull together the numbers from earlier sections to build a final shortlist. Use the FNP certification pass rates to gauge academic rigor and test prep. Cross-reference the clinical hour thresholds to ensure you'll meet Ohio's APRN licensing requirements. Then check the graduate earnings data to see which programs produce nurses whose salaries outpace the state median. A program with a 95% first-time pass rate and noticeably higher graduate earnings often justifies a higher tuition price. Create a simple three-column list ranking your top picks on total cost, pass rate, and alumni earnings to let the data guide your choice.

Frequently Asked Questions About NP Programs in Ohio

Choosing an NP program involves weighing many factors. Here we answer some of the most common questions from aspiring nurse practitioners in Ohio, covering everything from program length and cost to scope of practice.

For a BSN-prepared nurse, most MSN-FNP programs in Ohio require 45–50 credit hours and can be completed in 2–3 years of full-time study. Part-time pathways extend the timeline. Post-master’s certificates for existing MSN-holders typically take 1–2 years.

Tuition varies widely. Public universities often offer the most affordable options for Ohio residents. For a detailed side-by-side cost breakdown, refer to the Ohio MSN-FNP Tuition Comparison earlier in this guide.

Many Ohio universities provide hybrid or fully online NP programs. Didactic coursework can be done remotely, but all programs require in-person clinical rotations at approved sites, typically arranged near your home. Some may include brief on-campus immersion experiences.

FNP programs must meet national certification standards, generally requiring at least 500–600 direct patient-care clinical hours. Individual programs may set higher thresholds. The Clinical Hour Requirements by Ohio FNP Program table earlier in this article lists specific totals for each school.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports Ohio’s median annual wage for nurse practitioners is about $119,000, well above the national median for all occupations. Salaries in major metro areas such as Columbus, Cleveland, and Cincinnati tend to be higher.

No. Ohio requires a collaborative agreement with a physician for the nurse practitioner’s entire career. Prescribing, diagnosing, and treating are allowed under this supervision. Proposed legislation (House Bills 508 and 726) would create a path to independent practice after 5,000 clinical hours, but neither bill has been enacted.

More Ohio Nurse Practitioner Programs to Consider

Beyond the top-ranked programs, Ohio offers many other strong nurse practitioner options. These additional schools, organized by region, feature flexible online, hybrid, and campus formats with competitive tuition.

Central Ohio

Franklin University
Franklin’s 100% online MSN-FNP program costs $670 per credit and can be completed in 27 months. It includes 600 clinical hours and reports a 100% FNP exam pass rate.
  • Post-Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Post-Graduate Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • M.S. in Nursing-Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • M.S. in Nursing-Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice-Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice-Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN-FNP (Family Nurse Practitioner)
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice - Family Nurse Practitioner Track (Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP))
Columbus, OH · Online
Mount Carmel College of Nursing
Mount Carmel’s online MSN-FNP prepares RNs for primary care across all ages. The 48-credit program can be completed in 18 months and includes 500 clinical hours.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Post-Graduate Certificate: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Columbus, OH · Online
Mount Vernon Nazarene University
MVNU’s online DNP-FNP features an inaugural rate of $417 per credit, 60 credits and 1,000 clinical hours. It is designed for BSN nurses seeking advanced practice and leadership.
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) (Family Nurse Practitioner)
Mount Vernon, OH · Online
Otterbein University
Otterbein’s online MSN-PMHNP program offers small classes and expert faculty, with a tuition estimate of $36,144. It prepares RNs for psychiatric care with clinical experiences in your community.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner, Post-Graduate Certificate
  • Psychiatric & Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Post-Graduate Certificate
  • Psychiatric & Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Westerville, OH · Online

Northeast Ohio

Ashland University
Ashland’s online DNP-FNP program uses a cohort model for advanced clinical practice. Graduates are prepared for national certification with flexible online study, ideal for BSN or MSN nurses.
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (Family Nurse Practitioner)
Ashland, OH · Online
Malone University
Malone’s MSN-FNP combines online study with a 51-credit, 608-clinical-hour curriculum. It offers two- and three-year cohort tracks with fall admission.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Canton, OH · Online
University of Mount Union
Mount Union’s hybrid MSN-FNP costs $800 per credit ($36,800 total) for 46 credits. It requires 1,000 clinical hours and prepares graduates for FNP board certification in 22 months.
  • MSN Program (Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP))
  • MSN Program (Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP))
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) (Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP) certification)
Alliance, OH · Hybrid
Ursuline College
Ursuline’s hybrid MSN-PMHNP program focuses on mental health across the lifespan, including psychopharmacology and therapeutic communication. The CCNE-accredited program requires a BSN and RN license.
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Pepper Pike, OH · Hybrid
Walsh University
Walsh’s online MSN-FNP costs $775 per credit for 45 credits, with 700 clinical hours. The CCNE-accredited program offers three annual start dates and part-time options.
  • Master of Science in Nursing - Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN-FNP)
  • Post-Graduate FNP Certificate
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
  • BSN-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice - Family Nurse Practitioner
North Canton, OH · Online

Southwest Ohio

Cedarville University
Cedarville’s flexible MSN-FNP includes 800 clinical hours and integrates a biblical worldview. It offers multiple start dates and scholarships to make it affordable.
  • MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • DNP - Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care)
Cedarville, OH · Hybrid
Miami University
Miami’s hybrid MSN-FNP blends online coursework with in-person clinicals. It requires 630 clinical hours and boasts a 100% certification pass rate; residents of OH, IL, IN, or KY are eligible.
  • Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner
Oxford, OH · Hybrid
University of Cincinnati
UC’s online MSN-FNP offers asynchronous coursework with no site visits. Admission requires a BSN and one year of RN experience, and graduates achieve above 95% certification pass rates.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Post-Master's Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-MSN Certificate
  • Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Certificate
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Women's Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner DNP
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice in Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Neonatal Nurse Practitioner
Cincinnati, OH · Online
Xavier University
Xavier’s online MSN-FNP costs $739 per credit for 46 credits, including 600 clinical hours. The CCNE-accredited program admits RNs with a BSN and offers part-time study.
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Post-Master's Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
Cincinnati, OH · Online

Northwest Ohio

The University of Findlay
Findlay’s campus-based BSN to DNP in Adult-Gero Acute Care focuses on critical thinking and healthcare leadership. It prepares nurses for advanced practice in acute settings.
  • Adult-Gero Acute Care BSN to DNP
  • Adult-Gero Primary Care BSN to DNP
Findlay, OH · On-Campus

Eastern Ohio

Franciscan University of Steubenville
Franciscan’s hybrid MSN-FNP costs $600 per credit, totaling $28,800 for 48 credits. The program includes clinical sites with over 300 preceptors and part-time options.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Track
Steubenville, OH · Hybrid

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us