Top Nurse Practitioner Programs in Texas (2027 Rankings)

Compare costs, program lengths, and outcomes for accredited NP programs across Texas

By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated September 28, 202625+ min read
Top Nurse Practitioner Programs in Texas (2027 Rankings)

Points of interest…

  • Nurse practitioners in Texas earn a median salary of $129,880, and the top ten percent earn over $165,530.
  • The five most affordable NP programs in Texas are all public, holding down costs after aid.
  • Nationally, the NP workforce surged 8.5% to 385,000 in 2023, signaling strong long-term demand in Texas.
  • Texas NP programs require 500 to 720 direct patient care hours, making clinical placement the main speed limit.

Low-cost, fully online NP programs promise speed and flexibility, while higher-priced programs with intensive clinical placements boast board pass rates that open doors at top employers.

With over 29 accredited NP programs in Texas, the question isn't finding a school: it's knowing which one will actually pay off in a state that employs more nurse practitioners than almost any other.

Texas' NP workforce already numbers in the tens of thousands, and demand continues to climb. Median annual wages in the state reach $129,880, but the programs that get you there vary sharply in tuition, format, and career outcomes. The real work is matching a program's strengths to your own timeline, budget, and practice goals.

10 Best Nurse Practitioner Programs in Texas

Texas offers some of the most affordable nurse practitioner pathways in the country, with programs spanning online, hybrid, and campus formats. The schools below stand out for a mix of low net price, flexible delivery, and strong regional ties to Texas healthcare employers. Use this list to compare programs side by side before requesting details.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention weighted most
  • Net price after financial aid
  • Financial aid and grant access
  • Program format and flexibility
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg, TX$5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)Budget-conscious Texas RNs seeking PMHNP certificate

A public university in Edinburg serving the Rio Grande Valley, UTRGV stands out for its accelerated online post-master's PMHNP certificate. The program is built for working nurses who already hold an MSN, with a one-year timeline, preceptor placement assistance, and no application fee. Its affordability and 100% online delivery make it a practical choice for Texas nurses seeking psychiatric-mental health specialization.

  • 100% online Post-Master's Certificate format
  • Accelerated 1-year completion path
  • Requires MSN and active RN license
  • 3.0 minimum GPA for admission
  • Preceptor placement assistance provided
  • No application fee required
  • CCNE accredited program
  • Prepares for lifespan psychiatric care

Texas A&M International University in Laredo offers an online MSN-FNP designed for Texas RNs who want to stay in the South Texas border region. The 48-credit curriculum blends online coursework with limited campus visits and reports a 100% first-time certification pass rate. At $367 per credit in state, it is one of the most affordable FNP paths in Texas.

  • 48 credit hours required
  • Total in-state tuition $17,616
  • $367 per credit hour in-state
  • As few as 36 months duration
  • Online with two on-campus visits per course
  • 100% certification exam pass rate
  • BSN, Texas RN license, and 3.0 GPA required
  • One year inpatient nursing experience required

The University of Texas at Tyler pairs an MSN-FNP with additional certificate options in psychiatric-mental health and adult-gerontology acute care. Hybrid and online tracks give East Texas nurses flexibility, and the school is known for consistently high certification exam pass rates. Admission is competitive but accessible, with rolling reviews and multiple start dates.

CCNE accredited
  • 47 credit hours required
  • Hybrid format with minimal campus visits
  • CCNE accredited curriculum
  • 3.0 minimum GPA required
  • One year nursing experience required
  • Current RN licensure required
  • $50 domestic application fee
  • Capstone project required
  • Two-year program length
  • 30 total credit hours
  • 750 clinical hours required
  • Hybrid program format
  • Post-master's certificate level
  • Requires MSN degree
  • One-year RN experience required
  • Advanced pathophysiology, assessment, pharmacology prerequisites
CCNE accredited
  • Online format with flexibility
  • 49 credit hours required
  • Two-year or three-year options
  • 750 clinical hours included
  • Prepares for PMHNP-BC exam
  • CCNE accredited curriculum
  • One year nursing experience required
  • 3.0 GPA minimum

Texas Woman's University in Denton focuses heavily on Texas-based nurses, with NP programs that require clinical placements inside the state. Its MSN in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner is campus-based, while the post-master's certificate version is online. The school's strong nursing reputation and structured admission cycles appeal to nurses planning around current work schedules.

CCNE accredited
  • Campus-based program format
  • Texas residents only requirement
  • One year acute care experience needed
  • 3.0 minimum GPA requirement
  • BSN degree required for admission
  • Unencumbered RN license required
  • Two academic/professional references needed
  • Fall and Summer 2026 applications accepted
  • 27 semester credit hours
  • Online program format
  • One year critical care experience required
  • Master's degree in nursing needed
  • Graduate physical assessment course prerequisite
  • Pharmacology course within six years
  • Pathophysiology course prerequisite
  • Clinical practicum components

Texas A&M University-Texarkana serves the Texarkana area with a hybrid post-master's PMHNP certificate. The 26-credit program is designed for master's-prepared nurses who want to add psychiatric-mental health specialization without relocating. Clinical practicums and ANCC certification preparation are built into the curriculum.

  • Post-Master's Certificate program
  • Hybrid program format
  • Prepares for ANCC certification
  • 26 credit hours required
  • Master's degree in nursing prerequisite
  • 3.0 minimum GPA requirement
  • Current RN license needed
  • One year RN experience required

The University of Texas at Arlington is one of the largest public universities in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex, offering online NP pathways in adult-gerontology acute care, family, and pediatric primary care. Its RN to MSN tracks allow associate-degree nurses to ladder directly to NP preparation. Flexible full-time and part-time schedules, plus locked tuition rates, make it a strong fit for working RNs.

CCNE accredited
  • Online program delivery
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Prepares for national certification
  • Texas Board of Nursing recognition
  • Focus on acute care management
  • Adult and gerontology population focus
  • Complex illness management training
  • Health restoration emphasis
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • $38,308 total program tuition
  • 42-month program duration
  • 81 total credit hours
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Accelerated RN to MSN pathway
  • Hands-on clinical practicum
  • Locked tuition rate
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • $35,038 total program tuition
  • 42-month program duration
  • 76 total credit hours
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Pay-by-the-course tuition
  • 8-week course format
  • Prepares for Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certification

Texas State University in San Marcos offers a fast, affordable online MSN-FNP that can be completed in as few as 18 months. The university also provides hybrid post-master's and MSN tracks in psychiatric-mental health nursing. No GRE is required, and recent FNP graduates report a 100% certification pass rate.

  • 43 credit hours required
  • Total tuition $23,041
  • Per credit hour $500
  • As few as 18 months duration
  • Online program format
  • Minimum 3.25 GPA required
  • No GRE required
  • 100% pass rate for recent graduates
  • Accelerated online format
  • 20 semester credit hours
  • Hybrid program type
  • Clinical practicum in Texas
  • Virtual simulation intensives
  • Small class sizes
  • One-on-one preceptor supervision
  • 3.25 GPA minimum
  • 40 credit hours
  • Online delivery format
  • Clinical practicum in Texas
  • BSN degree required
  • 3.25 overall GPA minimum
  • One year RN experience
  • $55 application fee
  • No GRE required

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock emphasizes rural and underserved West Texas communities across its NP programs. The FNP and PMHNP tracks combine online work with campus visits, and post-graduate certificates allow experienced nurses to add specialties. Strong clinical training and a mission-driven focus set this health sciences center apart.

CCNE accredited
  • 48 semester credit hours
  • Hybrid delivery format
  • Prepares for ANCC and AANP exams
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA required
  • Valid unencumbered RN license
  • One year RN experience required
  • Three professional references
  • Serves rural and underserved areas
  • Post-Graduate FNP Certificate available
  • Hybrid program format
  • Requires MSN degree
  • One year RN experience needed
  • 3.0 minimum GPA required
  • Valid RN license required
  • Personal statement essay required
  • Three professional references needed
  • Hybrid online and campus format
  • 36 semester credit hours
  • Requires MSN degree
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Unencumbered RN license needed
  • One year ICU/ER experience
  • ACLS or PALS certification
  • Personal statement required

UT Health San Antonio's School of Nursing offers BSN to Doctor of Nursing Practice pathways with concentrations in pediatric primary care, psychiatric-mental health, and family nurse practitioner. These hybrid programs integrate clinical placements through University Health System and regional partners. Cohort-style progression and CCNE accreditation support a structured, high-touch experience.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 4 concentration options
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • Work experience required
  • $45 application fee
  • BSN to DNP pathway
  • Minimum 1 year RN experience required
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 4 concentration options
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • $45 application fee
  • Minimum 1 year RN experience
  • Embedded online interview required
  • RN licensure in Texas or compact state
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 4 concentration options
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • 3 letters of recommendation minimum
  • $45 application fee
  • Embedded online interview required
  • Applications via NursingCAS
  • RN licensure in Texas or compact state

The Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth Houston offers an MSN-FNP designed for Texas residents, with hybrid coursework and required in-state clinical placements. Rolling admissions and spring/fall starts give planning flexibility, and the program has a strong reputation in the Texas Medical Center. Admission requires a BSN, Texas RN license, and at least one year of clinical experience.

CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid program delivery format
  • Requires Texas residency
  • 3.0 minimum GPA required
  • One year clinical experience required
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • NCAS application system
  • Rolling admissions process
  • Texas nursing license required

Which Texas NP Programs Have the Highest Board Pass Rates?

After a period of declining scores, FNP certification pass rates are now trending upward nationwide, signaling renewed strength in exam preparation. For Texas NP students and programs, board pass rates serve as one of the clearest indicators of how well a curriculum aligns with certification exams. While individual program rates can vary widely, the national first-time pass rate for the AANP FNP-C exam in 2025 was 81%, and 82% for the ANCC FNP-BC exam. A combined national first-time pass rate published for 2024 was 83%. These figures provide a valuable starting point as you evaluate Texas schools.

Using National Benchmarks as Your Starting Point

The national pass rates help you set realistic expectations. A program consistently reporting first-time pass rates at or above the national average suggests strong exam preparation. Keep in mind that many Texas programs publish pass rates from different years or combine AANP and ANCC outcomes, so compare like with like. A small dip in a single year isn't necessarily a red flag, especially for smaller cohorts where even a few test-takers can sway the percentage. What matters is the overall trend and transparency.

Where to Find Program-Specific Pass Rate Data

Program-specific data isn't always displayed prominently, but several reliable sources exist. Start with the certification bodies themselves: the AANP and ANCC websites periodically release performance reports organized by institution and exam date. These reports are among the most objective sources because they draw directly from testing records.

Next, visit individual Texas NP program websites. Look for sections labeled 'Outcomes', 'Accreditation', or 'Student Achievement'. Many schools publish their own pass rates for recent cohorts, often alongside graduation and employment data. If you don't see them online, a call or email to the program director can yield the numbers.

Another resource is the Texas Board of Nursing. The BON compiles aggregate pass rate data for nursing programs across the state, sometimes included in annual reports or education summaries. While these may not always show exam-specific pass rates, they can give you a broader view of program performance over time.

How to Interpret the Numbers You Find

A pass rate above the national average is promising, but context matters. Examine whether the rate reflects first-time test-takers or all attempts, and whether it covers AANP, ANCC, or both. Small programs may have volatile annual rates; look for multi-year patterns. Also consider the percentage of graduates who actually sit for the exam, because a high pass rate combined with a low exam-taking rate could signal that only the strongest students are attempting it. Whenever possible, use the 83% combined first-time national pass rate as a benchmark. If a Texas program consistently surpasses that figure while reporting transparent, up-to-date data, you're likely looking at a solid path to certification.

Most Affordable NP Programs in Texas

The net price shown is the institution-wide average after grants and scholarships, not a guaranteed figure for every student. All five programs are at public universities, which typically charge lower tuition than private schools, helping to keep overall costs down for Texas NP students.

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet PriceMedian Graduate Debt
Texas A & M International University$6,650$15,490$3,637$15,000
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley$8,589$15,971$4,831$12,950
University of Houston-Victoria$8,315$15,535$8,109$18,973
The University of Texas at El Paso$7,166$16,621$9,403$18,000
Midwestern State University$8,198$9,498$11,656$21,030

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need a fully online program, or can you attend hybrid clinical intensives on campus?
Fully online programs offer maximum flexibility, but hybrid options with on-campus intensives provide hands-on practice you cannot get remotely. Consider your schedule and learning style.
Is minimizing total debt your top priority, or are you willing to pay more for a program with higher board pass rates?
Low tuition minimizes debt, yet higher-cost programs often report stronger NP certification pass rates. Balance immediate affordability against long-term career earning potential.
Will you need the program to help arrange clinical placements, or can you secure your own preceptors?
If a program arranges clinical placements, you avoid the stress of seeking preceptors. But securing your own can give more flexibility if you have existing connections.

Fastest NP Programs in Texas

Texas NP programs typically require 500 to 720 direct patient care hours, and that clinical floor sets the pace for even the fastest tracks. Shorter timelines depend on a program's willingness to front-load didactic coursework and schedule rotations without gaps, and a handful of schools have built their curriculum around that intensity.

Which Texas programs offer an accelerated or full-time-only track?

Several ranked programs keep a full-time lockstep structure. Texas Woman's University packs 45 credits and 780 clinical hours into a two-year, full-time online FNP plan for BSN-prepared nurses. UT Arlington's online/hybrid FNP runs 41 to 46 credits with 720 clinical hours and moves at a full-time clip, often completing in five or six semesters when a student can manage a continuous rotation load. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center requires 48 to 51 credits and follows an online-with-onsite model that many students finish in about two years of year-round study. These programs do not always advertise an explicit part-time option for the core FNP track, so the default pace is accelerated.

The clinical hour floor, why no program can go much faster

The Texas Board of Nursing mandates at least 500 supervised direct patient care hours for NP licensure, but many graduate programs exceed this to meet national certification standards. The 720-hour mark at UT Arlington and the 780-hour target at TWU are common benchmarks. Spreading that many hours across four or five semesters means students often spend 16 to 24 hours per week at clinical sites once rotations begin. Even with no breaks, the sheer volume of patient encounters sets a natural speed limit.

Bridge and direct-entry tracks add time but expand access

Nurses without a BSN face longer timelines. UT Arlington, for example, allows non-nursing bachelor's degree holders with an ADN to enter the MSN-FNP program, but they must first complete bridge coursework that extends the total plan by a semester or more. ADN-to-MSN pathways often run three to four years because of the undergraduate nursing content folded in. Direct-entry programs for career changers with a non-nursing degree are still rare in Texas and typically add at least a year of pre-licensure RN preparation.

When part-time makes more sense for working RNs

A program labeled 'shortest' looks attractive on paper but can backfire for nurses who need to keep a job. Part-time tracks stretching three to four years, available at some schools not in the full-time-only group, let students lighten the clinical load to one or two shifts per week. The extra time often reduces burnout and improves board-exam preparation. The right pace is the one that aligns with your work schedule, family obligations, and learning stamina, not just the one that finishes fastest.

Online FNP Programs in Texas: Fully Online vs. Hybrid

Texas online FNP programs fall into two main categories: fully online programs that deliver most coursework via distance learning, and hybrid programs that blend online classes with required on-campus intensives. Understanding the differences in clinical placement support and on-campus expectations will help you choose the format that fits your schedule and learning style.

FeatureFully Online NP ProgramsHybrid NP Programs
Example ProgramsTexas Woman's University, Texas A&M InternationalUT Tyler, UT El Paso, Texas Tech HSC, East Texas A&M, UH-Victoria, University of Houston
Delivery FormatAll didactic coursework completed online; clinical hours completed locally.Online coursework combined with required on-campus intensives or labs.
On-Campus RequirementsVaries; some programs (e.g., TAMIU) require two visits per course, while others may have none.Typically include mandatory on-campus sessions each semester, such as skills intensives or orientations.
Clinical Placement SupportVaries: Texas Woman's University offers school-assisted placement; other programs may require self-placement.Most programs expect students to arrange their own preceptors and clinical sites, generally within Texas.
Program DurationTAMIU: as few as 36 months; TWU: varies by track.East Texas A&M: 3 years part-time; UTEP: 7 semesters; most can be completed in 2-3 years.

NP Program Earnings and Career Outcomes in Texas

Program-level earnings data for these NP programs is not yet available. For occupational context, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that nurse practitioners in Texas earn a median annual wage of $129,880, with top earners exceeding $165,530. Demand is strong, with projected job growth of 38% from 2024 to 2034 in the state.

Median annual wage of $129,880 for Texas nurse practitioners in 2022.

The nurse practitioner workforce is expanding rapidly, reaching 385,000 licensed NPs nationwide in 2023, an 8.5% jump from the previous year. Texas, with its large healthcare sector, mirrors this trend, fueling demand for NP programs.

Admission Requirements for Texas NP Programs

Core Requirements You Will Encounter

Most accredited NP programs in Texas ask for a similar foundation. A current, unencumbered registered nurse license in the state is almost always non-negotiable. You will also need a bachelor's degree in nursing from an accredited program, though some schools offer bridge options for RNs with an associate degree. Grade point averages typically matter: many programs list a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0, but competitive tracks at top nursing programs in Texas like UT Arlington or Baylor may expect a 3.2 or higher in your last 60 hours of nursing coursework.

The GRE picture has changed in recent years. Several programs, including those at Texas Tech and UT Tyler, now waive the GRE entirely for applicants who meet a certain GPA threshold or hold a master's degree. Others still request scores unless you qualify for an automatic waiver. Check the specific policy on each school's admissions page, as this detail can change from year to year.

Clinical Experience and Prerequisite Coursework

Clinical experience requirements are not universal, but they are common. Some programs want at least one year of full-time bedside nursing before you apply. TWU and UT Arlington, for instance, often expect direct patient care experience, while other pathways may consider leadership or community health roles. If the program does not specify a minimum, its admissions committee still looks for a resume that shows depth in nursing practice.

Prerequisite coursework generally includes advanced health assessment, pathophysiology, and pharmacology at the graduate level. You may also need undergraduate statistics with a grade of C or better. Many schools provide a pre-check worksheet so you can verify which courses you have already completed. If a prerequisite is missing, some programs allow you to take it concurrently during the first semester of the NP track.

ADN-to-MSN and Direct-Entry Options

For RNs holding an associate degree, Texas offers several ADN-to-MSN pathways that streamline the journey to an NP role. These bridge programs run longer than a traditional BSN-to-MSN, but they avoid the intermediate step of earning a separate BSN. UT Tyler and Texas Tech are two examples that publish detailed bridge curricula. Always confirm the number of required clinical hours with the program director, because these plans often differ from the standard MSN track.

Direct-entry programs for non-nurses with a bachelor's in another field are rarer. A few private Texas universities have launched accelerated MSN tracks that lead to NP eligibility in about two to three years. These are intensive and require a full-time commitment. The Texas Board of Nursing and the American Association of Nurse Practitioners maintain consistent licensure and certification standards that all programs must meet, so a direct-entry graduate must still pass the same national certification exam.

How to Confirm Details and Stay Ahead

Information on a university's website can lag behind faculty decisions. The best practice is to attend a virtual information session or call the nursing admissions office directly. Admissions counselors can tell you whether a GRE waiver is available this cycle, how many clinical placements they have secured for incoming students, and whether any prerequisite substitutions are allowed. If a program's published data is thin, a brief email often yields a clear answer.

Beyond the school, verify the program's accreditation status and job-placement trends through the Texas Workforce Commission or the Bureau of Labor Statistics. While such sources do not list admission prerequisites, they can confirm whether a program's graduates find employment promptly and earn competitive wages. This broader check helps you weigh the return on investment before finalizing your application list.

How to Get Your NP License in Texas: Steps From Graduation to Practice

After graduating from an accredited NP program in Texas, you must complete several state-specific steps before you can practice. The Texas Board of Nursing oversees APRN licensure, and prescriptive authority requires a separate agreement with a supervising physician. Follow this sequence to navigate the process efficiently.

Step-by-step guide to obtaining APRN licensure in Texas, including board application, prescriptive authority, and DEA registration.

How We Ranked These Texas NP Programs

As the demand for advanced practice nurses grows, the financial accessibility of graduate education has become a central concern for aspiring NPs in Texas. This ranking reflects that reality by weighing affordability alongside basic academic outcomes, so you can quickly spot programs that deliver strong value without burying you in debt.

Where the data comes from

We pull primarily from three sources: the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), the U.S. Department of Education’s College Scorecard, and official information posted by schools themselves. IPEDS provides institution-level figures on net price, graduation rates, and enrollment patterns. The Scorecard adds earnings and debt metrics for students who received federal aid, giving a window into financial outcomes after leaving school. Program format details (online, hybrid, on-campus) are collected from each school’s public reporting.

What gets measured and why

Our methodology prioritizes metrics that directly affect your wallet and your likelihood of finishing the degree.

  • Net price: The estimated cost after grant and scholarship aid, for full-time, first-time degree-seeking undergraduates. While NP students rarely fit that exact profile, the institutional net price still signals the overall financial commitment a school demands.
  • Graduation rate: This is the institution-wide rate for bachelor’s degree seekers within six years. It is not specific to the NP program, but we use it as a proxy for the kind of support and advising environment you can expect.
  • Program format: Whether the NP track is offered online, on campus, or in a hybrid setup matters for working nurses who need flexibility.
  • Earnings and debt outcomes: Where Scorecard data exists for graduate programs, we look at median debt and early-career earnings to gauge return on investment. Not all programs report this information, and when it’s missing, we note it plainly in the program profile.

What this ranking does not measure

To keep the focus on financial fit and completion, we deliberately leave out several factors that you may want to research on your own.

  • Board pass rates: State-specific certification pass data for NP graduates is not incorporated. The Texas Board of Nursing reports these figures, but they vary by specialty and year, making direct comparisons across schools difficult.
  • Student satisfaction: Surveys and qualitative reviews are not part of the model. They offer valuable personal perspective but cannot be systematically verified.
  • Clinical placement quality: The strength of a program’s clinical partnerships and practicum support varies widely, but standardized data do not exist to rank programs on this dimension. We encourage you to ask programs directly about how they arrange and oversee clinical hours.

By being transparent about both the strengths and limits of our approach, we hope you can use this ranking as a starting point, not a final verdict.

Frequently Asked Questions About Texas NP Programs

Still have questions about nursing practitioner education in Texas? Browse the answers below for quick insights on top programs, costs, timelines, and admission essentials. Many of these topics are explored in greater depth elsewhere in this article.

The 'best' program depends on your priorities. Our 2026 ranking weighs affordability, board pass rates, and online flexibility. Schools like University of Texas at Austin and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center often appear at the top for their strong clinical placements and high certification exam success. Check the full ranking above to compare by your own criteria.

Timeline varies by entry path. An ADN-to-MSN bridge can take 3 to 4 years, while a BSN-to-DNP takes 3 to 4 years full-time. Accelerated options exist for motivated students; some schools offer a BSN-to-MSN in as little as 2 years. Part-time study extends the timeline. The Fastest NP Programs section details specific program durations.

Yes, many Texas schools offer fully online NP programs, especially for FNP tracks. For example, UT Arlington and Texas Woman's University have online MSN-FNP options. Clinical rotations, however, must be completed in-person at approved sites near you. The Online FNP Programs section distinguishes between fully online and hybrid formats.

Public universities typically offer the lowest tuition. The Most Affordable NP Programs table provides per-credit costs and total estimated tuition. Several Texas schools charge under $500 per credit hour. Remember to factor in fees and clinical placement costs. The affordability table helps you compare the most budget-friendly options.

Not all do. Many programs have waived the GRE or made it optional, focusing on GPA, clinical experience, and personal statements. Some competitive DNP programs may still ask for it. Always verify the specific admission requirements in each school's profile. The Admission Requirements section breaks down common prerequisites.

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the national median annual wage for nurse practitioners was $126,260 in 2023. In Texas, NPs earn a competitive salary that reflects strong demand; metropolitan areas like Houston and Dallas often report higher averages. For the latest Texas-specific numbers, review the earnings infographic in this guide.

Yes, ADN-prepared nurses can pursue bridge programs (ADN to MSN) offered by several Texas schools. These programs build on your existing associate degree, allowing you to earn a master's without a BSN. Expect additional coursework to bridge the gap. The More NP Programs listing includes options that accept ADN holders.

More NP Programs in Texas to Consider

Not every solid Texas NP program lands in the ranking above, and the directory below widens the search with schools from Galveston to El Paso. Each entry lists the city, the delivery format, and the program tracks available. Where a federal net price is reported for a campus it is included; for several campuses that figure is not reported, so none is listed.

Greater Houston

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
The Family Nurse Practitioner track is a part-time, seven-semester MSN of 49 credit hours, taught online with campus visits two to three days per semester. A companion track prepares adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioners for ANCC or AACN certification exams.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Galveston, TX · Hybrid

Texas Hill Country

Schreiner University
The online FNP master's runs in seven-week terms with six start dates a year and one required campus intensive. The 54-credit curriculum includes 750 clinical hours across four rotations, no GRE is required, and the reported net price is about $21,507.
  • Master of Science in Nursing Family Nurse Practitioner
Kerrville, TX · Online

West Texas

Texas Tech University Health Scienes Center El Paso
A hybrid post-graduate FNP certificate of up to 36 credit hours, plus a hybrid MSN in adult-gerontology acute care nursing of 48 credits with occasional campus visits. The acute care track asks for a year of ICU or ER experience.
  • Post-Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • MSN Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
El Paso, TX · Hybrid

DFW Metroplex

Texas Christian University
The post-baccalaureate DNP includes a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner concentration, combining online didactic coursework, clinical practicum arranged near your own community, and on-campus intensives. It is designed to finish in about three years, and the reported net price is about $36,660.
  • Post-Baccalaureate DNP (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
Fort Worth, TX · Hybrid
West Coast University-Texas
The online MSN at the Richardson campus spans family nurse practitioner, adult-gerontology primary and acute care, and psychiatric mental health tracks. Students can choose an accelerated pace of about 20 months or a working professional pace of 32 to 36 months, with 540 clinical hours and two on-site intensives.
  • MSN Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN - Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN Psychiatric-Mental Health NP (PMHNP)
Richardson, TX · Online

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us