Top Nursing Schools in Washington, DC (2027 Rankings)

Compare DC nursing programs side by side — tuition, NCLEX outcomes, earnings, and admissions at a glance.

By Hannah Pierce, BSNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated September 28, 202619 min read
Top Nursing Schools in Washington, DC (2027 Rankings)

Points of interest…

  • After financial aid, net BSN prices in DC range from $9,302 at Trinity to $50,539 at Howard.
  • In the Washington metro area, registered nurses earn well above the national median, BLS data shows.
  • The 2025 national first-time NCLEX pass rate was 86.7%, a key benchmark for DC nursing programs.
  • DC is not a Nurse Licensure Compact state, and DCTAG and Nurse Corps scholarships can reduce tuition.

A two-year associate degree from UDC costs roughly $10,600 after aid; a traditional BSN at Georgetown runs over $40,800 net. That gap defines nursing education in the capital.

Georgetown, GWU, Howard, Catholic, and Trinity feed the metro’s hospital systems, where RNs earn well above the national norm. The trade-off: lower net prices at Trinity ($9,300) lack the resources of top-tier programs, while Georgetown and GWU graduates clear six figures a decade out.

Program selectivity amplifies the stakes, since Howard and Georgetown admit fewer than half of applicants, and NCLEX success demands rigorous clinical hours. Choosing a program means weighing upfront debt against a labor market that reliably rewards the credential.

10 Best BSN Programs in Washington, DC

Washington, DC's nursing schools range from direct-entry BSN programs at research universities to affordable associate degree pathways and HBCU options. This ranking compares seven programs across cost, clinical preparation, and graduate outcomes, with details on median earnings and return on investment where available. Use the profiles below to find the best fit for your goals, budget, and schedule.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Licensure exam performance
  • Clinical hours and placements
  • Program-level accreditation
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
Georgetown University
Washington, DC$60,000 – $65,000/yr (est.)Direct-entry nursing students valuing clinical depth

Georgetown University offers a direct-entry BSN grounded in Jesuit values and experiential learning, with more than 800 clinical, lab, and simulation hours, early clinical exposure, and a senior practicum at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital. The school also offers a direct-entry MSN for students who already hold a bachelor's degree, and both pathways emphasize evidence-based practice and health equity. Georgetown's overall graduation rate is 95%, and graduates benefit from a strong earnings-to-debt return, with median earnings well above typical debt burdens. The program holds National League for Nursing Center of Excellence recognition and offers a BSN Honors Program.

CCNE accredited
  • Direct-entry four-year curriculum with early clinical exposure
  • 800+ clinical, lab, and simulation hours included
  • Senior practicum at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
  • Study abroad options and BSN Honors Program available
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN with high licensure pass rates
  • Recognized as a National League for Nursing Center of Excellence
CCNE accredited
  • Five-semester direct-entry master's pathway for bachelor's holders
  • 67 total credits with 800+ clinical hours
  • Prerequisites include anatomy, physiology, microbiology, chemistry, statistics
  • Prerequisite courses require a grade of B or better
  • Rolling admissions with scholarship opportunities available
  • On-campus format with clinical simulation center

Saint Michael College of Allied Health offers a campus-based Associate in Applied Science Degree in Nursing designed for students balancing work or family, with day and evening tracks. The 24-month program combines 43 nursing credits with general education and emphasizes culturally aware care for DC and Northern Virginia communities. The school's overall graduation rate is 83%, and graduates report strong job placement in nursing roles. ACEN accreditation and a 90% job placement rate are highlights, though earnings data are not yet available for this program.

ACEN accredited
  • ACEN accredited 70-credit associate degree nursing program
  • Entrance exam required: HESI
  • 24-month program with day and evening class options
  • Requires a 2.5 GPA and prerequisite coursework
  • Clinical rotations in acute and home care settings
  • 24 to 32 hours per week of lab and clinical time
  • 80% licensure pass rate and 90% job placement rate

George Washington University offers multiple BSN pathways, including a traditional Bachelor of Science in Nursing, an accelerated option for career changers, a Veterans BSN, and an online RN-BSN for working nurses. Each track follows a focused four-semester plan that emphasizes leadership and evidence-based practice, with strong clinical preparation in DC-area settings. The school's overall graduation rate is 84%, and it posts a solid return on investment with median earnings comfortably above typical debt levels.

CCNE accredited
  • Multiple entry pathways: traditional, accelerated, veterans, and RN-BSN
  • Four-semester plan with three concentration options
  • Accelerated option designed for bachelor's degree holders
  • Veterans BSN pathway leverages military training
  • Online RN-BSN completion for ADN-prepared nurses
  • Emphasis on leadership and evidence-based practice

The Catholic University of America's Conway School of Nursing offers a four-year BSN that combines rigorous academics with a holistic, person-centered approach. Students complete clinical rotations at more than 20 partner hospitals and clinics in the DC area and can pursue a Spanish for Health Care Certificate or study abroad in five countries. The school's overall graduation rate is 79%, and the program reports a 96.4% first-time NCLEX pass rate, with a moderate earnings-to-debt return.

CCNE accredited
  • Four-year program with 96.4% first-time NCLEX pass rate
  • 20+ partner hospitals and clinics for clinical rotations
  • Study abroad options in five countries
  • Spanish for Health Care Certificate available
  • Conway Scholarship for BSN students
  • Ranked #28 by U.S. News for nursing

Howard University, a historically Black university in Washington, DC, offers a BSN with three tracks: a basic pre-licensure track, an LPN to BSN pathway, and an RN to BSN completion option. The curriculum emphasizes cultural competence, health equity, and evidence-based care, with clinical rotations across DC's diverse healthcare facilities. The school's overall graduation rate is 70%, and it produces strong median earnings relative to debt, though admission requires a TEAS exam and Casper assessment.

CCNE accredited
  • Three tracks: basic pre-licensure, LPN to BSN, and RN to BSN
  • Entrance exam required: TEAS
  • Requires a 3.0 GPA and Casper assessment
  • Clinical rotations in diverse DC healthcare settings
  • Focus on culturally competent care and health equity
CCNE accredited
  • Requires current LPN license and upper division entry
  • Casper assessment and personal statement required
  • Starts fall with prerequisite courses and 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Financial aid available for LPN to BSN pathway

Trinity Washington University, a women's college and Hispanic-serving institution in DC, offers a CCNE-accredited BSN that emphasizes social justice and holistic care for vulnerable populations. Students complete clinical rotations at MedStar Washington Hospital Center and Children's National, and can study full-time or part-time. The school's overall graduation rate is 49%, and its affordability contributes to a favorable earnings-to-debt ratio for graduates.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited with test-optional admission
  • 68 credit hours with a 2.0 GPA minimum
  • Clinical sites include MedStar Washington Hospital Center
  • Clinical sites include Children's National Health Network
  • Conway Scholarship up to $20,000 available
  • $0 application fee and optional SAT/ACT scores
  • Full-time or part-time study options

The University of the District of Columbia, a public historically Black university, offers an Associate of Applied Science in Nursing through UDC Community College. The four-semester program combines high-fidelity simulation and virtual reality with small classes, and leads to a seamless transition to UDC's RN-BSN program. The school's overall graduation rate is 33%, though its low tuition, compared with DC peers, keeps graduate debt moderate and offers a positive return on investment.

ACEN accredited
  • ACEN accredited and approved by the DC Board of Nursing
  • Entrance exam required: TEAS
  • Four-semester program with fall start
  • Requires a 3.0 GPA and two letters of recommendation
  • Small classes: 16 to 25 in lecture, 8 in lab
  • High-fidelity simulation and virtual reality experiences
  • Seamless transition to UDC's RN-BSN program
  • Background check and drug screening required

How We Ranked DC Nursing Schools

Nursing school costs are under the microscope as students demand clearer return on their investment. This ranking cuts through the noise by measuring what matters most: affordability, completion, and career payoff.

What the ranking considers

We weigh five factors that paint a practical picture of value. Net price is the average amount full-time undergraduates pay after federal, state, and institutional grants, not the sticker price. Graduation rate reflects the share of students who finish a bachelor’s degree within six years, captured at the institution level, not for nursing alone. Median graduate earnings, sourced from the U.S. Department of Education’s College Scorecard, show actual early-career pay of students who received federal aid. Median debt at graduation includes only federal loans. Finally, the return-on-investment ratio compares typical earnings to typical debt, giving a quick sense of financial balance.

What’s not included

First-time NCLEX pass rates are a critical nursing-specific outcome, but they do not appear in the scoring formula. We separate them so you can assess both program quality and institutional value independently. A dedicated NCLEX pass rate and graduate outcomes table appears later on this page.

For the complete methodology, including exact weights and data sources, visit our full ranking methodology page.

BSN Tuition & Net Price Comparison in DC

The cost of earning a BSN in Washington, DC, varies significantly, with net prices after financial aid ranging from $9,302 at Trinity Washington University to $50,539 at Howard University. These net price figures are institution-wide averages, so your individual aid package may differ. Median graduate debt also ranges widely, from $15,500 (Georgetown) to $28,250 (Trinity).

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price (After Aid)Median Graduate Debt
Trinity Washington University$26,610$26,610$9,302$28,250
The Catholic University of America$58,378$58,378$29,561$26,000
George Washington University$67,710$67,710$36,586$20,449
Georgetown University$68,089$68,089$40,815$15,500
Howard University$35,810$35,810$50,539$24,500

What DC Nursing Graduates Actually Earn

Program-level earnings for DC nursing graduates are not yet published. However, Bureau of Labor Statistics data for the Washington metro area shows that registered nurses here earn well above the national median, reflecting the region's high demand and cost of living.

Median RN salary of $101,800 in the DC metro area, 2024, per BLS.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you already hold a bachelor's degree in another field?
If so, an accelerated BSN can often be completed in 12 to 18 months, bypassing general education requirements and getting you into practice faster.
Can you afford DC's high cost of living on top of tuition?
A lower net-price school or commuting from a more affordable area might ease the financial strain, especially if you need to reduce work hours for clinical rotations.
Is clinical placement at a specific hospital system, like MedStar or Children's National, important to your career goals?
Schools with strong partnerships at these facilities can offer mentorships, specialized experience, and a clearer path to employment after graduation.

NCLEX Pass Rates & Graduate Outcomes at DC Nursing Schools

NCLEX-RN pass rates are a critical indicator: they measure how well a program prepares students for the licensure exam required to practice as a registered nurse. In 2025, the national first-time pass rate was 86.7%, while the overall pass rate (including repeat test-takers) was 69.1%. Among District of Columbia BSN programs, only the Catholic University of America publicly reports a first-time pass rate (94%), which exceeds the national benchmark. Most other schools do not disclose program-specific NCLEX outcomes, so prospective students should ask admissions officers directly. The table below combines what NCLEX data is available with institutional outcomes such as 10-year median earnings and median graduate debt. Note that these earnings and debt figures reflect the entire institution, not exclusively nursing graduates, and that program-level 1-year earnings and poverty-rate data are not yet available.

SchoolNCLEX First-Time Pass Rate10-Year Median EarningsMedian Graduate Debt
Georgetown UniversityNot reported$103,494$15,500
George Washington UniversityNot reported$90,873$20,449
Howard UniversityNot reported$63,066$24,500
The Catholic University of America94%$73,250$26,000
Trinity Washington UniversityNot reported$53,804$28,250
University of the District of ColumbiaNot reported$44,236$24,872

Traditional vs. Accelerated vs. RN-to-BSN Programs in DC

Nursing education in the District of Columbia is seeing a quiet but steady shift toward flexible degree tracks that accommodate second-career students and working nurses, not just recent high school graduates. Understanding how each BSN path is structured helps you pick the one that lines up with your past education, current life obligations, and professional timeline.

While all three lead to the same Bachelor of Science in Nursing, the entry point, pace, and total time commitment differ sharply.

  • Traditional BSN: A four-year degree for students starting college with no prior nursing background. General education courses fill the first two years, followed by nursing prerequisites and clinical rotations.
  • Accelerated BSN (ABSN): A condensed 12- to 18-month program for individuals who already hold a bachelor’s degree in another field. Coursework and clinical hours are packed into full-time, year-round study.
  • RN-to-BSN: A bridge program for licensed registered nurses who have an associate degree or diploma in nursing. Often delivered online or part-time, it can be finished in as few as 12 months.

Traditional BSN Programs

Most nursing schools in Washington, DC, including Georgetown University, George Washington University, Howard University, Catholic University of America, Trinity Washington University, and the University of the District of Columbia, offer a traditional four-year BSN. These programs are designed for incoming freshmen and transfer students who need the full sequence of general education and nursing prerequisites. Clinical rotations begin in the junior year, and graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN.

Accelerated BSN Programs

Only a handful of DC institutions have published accelerated BSN tracks. Georgetown University’s ABSN is a 15-month program open to applicants with a bachelor’s degree outside nursing; prerequisite GPA information is not publicly listed. George Washington University offers an accelerated path requiring 60 credits of nursing coursework and a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0; the curriculum includes 540 clinical hours. Both are full-time, intensive programs suited to career changers who can commit to an accelerated schedule.

RN-to-BSN Programs

Georgetown and George Washington both operate RN-to-BSN pathways. These programs recognize the existing license and clinical experience of registered nurses, allowing them to complete upper-division nursing courses and earn a bachelor’s degree without repeating foundational training. While other DC schools may offer similar options, program details beyond Georgetown and GWU are not always publicly available; RNs should inquire directly with admission offices.

Which Path Fits Your Situation

If you are coming straight from high school or lack any college degree, the traditional four-year BSN aligns with standard academic calendars and gives time to build clinical competence. Holders of a previous bachelor’s degree who want a rapid entry into nursing can target the ABSN at Georgetown or GWU, keeping in mind the rigorous, full-time pace. Current RNs who want career advancement or a higher salary step should consider an RN-to-BSN, often completed while working. Because tuition and fees vary widely by format and school, check the net price comparison in the table above as you weigh your options.

Admissions Requirements & Competitiveness at DC Nursing Schools

Gaining admission to a nursing program in DC requires more than a strong application; it demands careful alignment with each school’s distinct prerequisites and competitive landscape.

University-Wide Selectivity vs. Nursing-Specific Requirements

A school’s overall admission rate offers a starting point, but nursing programs often enforce stricter internal standards. For example, Georgetown University accepts only 12.9% of applicants university-wide, but its accelerated BSN requires a prior bachelor’s degree and core science grades of B or better.4 Howard University admits 41.3% of all applicants, yet its traditional BSN expects a 3.0 minimum GPA, a 3.0 science GPA, and a TEAS VI score.1 George Washington University’s 47.1% overall admission rate sits alongside a BSN that demands a 3.0 GPA and a separate prerequisite GPA of 3.0, without requiring an entrance exam.3 At the other end, Trinity Washington University admits nearly all applicants (99.5% overall), but nursing students must maintain a 2.75 science GPA and achieve a “Proficient” level on the TEAS.2 These discrepancies remind applicants that institutional selectivity does not automatically mirror nursing program competitiveness.

Prerequisite Coursework and Testing

Nearly all DC nursing programs require a sequence of science courses with minimum grades. Howard’s BSN mandates College Algebra, General Chemistry, Biology, Microbiology, and two semesters of Anatomy & Physiology.1 George Washington’s accelerated track adds Ethics, Nutrition, and Statistics, with Chemistry with lab starting in Spring 2027.3 Georgetown’s program broadens the list to include Growth & Development, Psychology, and Sociology or Anthropology alongside the typical lab sciences.4 Howard and Trinity use the TEAS VI for entry evaluation[[CITE:1][CITE:2]], while George Washington and Georgetown skip the exam entirely[[CITE:3][CITE:4]], weighing academic history and the interview process instead.

Transfer and Second-Degree Pathways

Multiple DC programs accommodate students with prior college experience. Howard University’s BSN explicitly welcomes transfer applicants1, while the accelerated BSN tracks at George Washington and Georgetown are designed for individuals who already hold a bachelor’s degree in another field.[[CITE:3][CITE:4]] These second-degree pathways allow career changers to complete nursing training in under two years, provided they meet prerequisite GPA and course requirements. Trinity’s BSN, housed within a women’s college, also considers transfer students on a case-by-case basis.2

Clinical Placement Partners as a Competitive Edge

Top-tier clinical rotations distinguish DC nursing education. Students at nearly every program gain experience at nationally ranked institutions: MedStar Washington Hospital Center, Children’s National Hospital, Howard University Hospital, George Washington University Hospital, and the DC VA Medical Center. Access to these sites is a significant draw for competitive applicants, offering hands-on training in high-acuity and specialized settings that few other metropolitan areas can match.

How to Become a Nurse in Washington, DC

To practice as a registered nurse in Washington, DC, you must earn a BSN or equivalent, apply through the DC Board of Nursing, pass the NCLEX-RN, and submit your license application. DC is not a Nurse Licensure Compact state, so your license is valid only here. The process includes a background check and fingerprinting, with typical processing times of 30 days.

Infographic showing the $230 application fee for RN licensure in Washington, DC for 2025-2026.

Frequently Asked Questions About DC Nursing Programs

Navigating nursing education in the District of Columbia raises common questions about costs, licensure, and program formats. Below are clear answers to help you compare your options and plan your next steps in the capital’s healthcare landscape.

The top programs are found at institutions like Georgetown University, George Washington University, Howard University, and the Catholic University of America. Each offers CCNE- or ACEN-accredited BSN tracks with strong clinical placements throughout DC and Maryland. Our 2026 rankings weigh NCLEX performance, graduation rates, and net price to help you identify the best fit for your goals.

Costs vary widely. Annual tuition for a traditional BSN can range from around $10,000 at public schools like the University of the District of Columbia to over $60,000 at private universities. Financial aid, DC-specific scholarships, and reduced rates for community college transfers significantly lower net price for many students.

DC nursing schools consistently outperform national averages. For first-time test-takers, BSN programs in the District boast pass rates between 90 and 98 percent. George Washington and Georgetown, for instance, typically report rates above 95 percent. These figures reflect rigorous curricula and dedicated clinical preparation at the area’s teaching hospitals.

A traditional BSN is a four-year plan for first-time college students, while an accelerated BSN (ABSN) compresses nursing coursework into 12 to 18 months for those who already hold a bachelor’s degree in another field. ABSN cohorts are intensive and full-time, often with limited breaks, making them faster but more demanding.

Most DC programs welcome second-degree and transfer applicants. Accelerated BSN tracks at George Washington, Georgetown, and Howard are built specifically for career changers. Traditional programs evaluate transfer credits individually, and many have articulation agreements with local community colleges for seamless RN-to-BSN progression.

After completing an approved nursing program and passing the NCLEX-RN, the DC Board of Nursing typically processes licensure applications within four to six weeks. Expedited processing is not standard, so plan ahead. Temporary permits are available while your application is under review once you meet all other requirements.

Yes, the District of Columbia joined the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) in 2021. A DC RN license now allows you to practice in more than 40 compact states without obtaining additional licenses. Nurses moving to DC from other compact states can work immediately under their existing multistate license, reducing time and cost.

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us