Points of interest…
- DCNP certification requires thousands of hours in dermatology practice before the exam.
- FNP remains the most common NP entry route into dermatology.
- New York metro posts the highest NP median wage among major metros.
From RN to MSN-FNP, fellowship training, and DCNP certification, plus pay and practice scope

No school awards a dermatology nurse practitioner degree. Most derm NPs earn a broad population-focus credential, usually FNP, then pick up skin-specific skills through on-the-job training, a fellowship, or both. That gap between the degree and the job is where most applicants stall.
From the start of nursing school, the timeline runs about 6 to 10 years, depending on whether you enter with a BSN, an ADN, or a non-nursing bachelor's degree, and whether you add a fellowship.
For registered nurses in dermatology, the NP is the next rung: it adds diagnosis, prescribing, and biopsy authority. But dermatology practices still hire more experienced clinicians than new graduates, so the first job often decides how fast the training happens.
These are the structured training routes dermatology groups and academic centers use to turn new nurse practitioners into dermatology-ready clinicians. Practice-based fellowships often pay a salary or stipend but may carry a post-fellowship work commitment, while tuition-based certificates offer more flexibility without a paycheck. Fellowships are optional, but they can shorten the learning curve for new graduates entering dermatology without prior experience.
| Program | Sponsor / Location | Length | Paid Salary or Tuition | Who Can Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dermatology APP Fellowship | Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU), Portland, Oregon | 12 months | Hired as an employee at Instructor level; salary paid every 2 weeks; no tuition expenses; paid time off, sick time, and OHSU health insurance | Nurse practitioners and physician assistants; additional admission criteria not specified |
| Advanced Practice Provider Dermatology Fellowship | Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey, Pennsylvania | 12 months | Not specified | Board-certified nurse practitioners and physician assistants who recently graduated or have limited dermatology experience; graduates of an accredited NP or PA program; board-certified through a major accrediting body; more than one year of clinical experience preferred; requires personal statement, CV, and at least three recommendation letters |
| Advanced Practice Provider (NP/PA) Fellowship, Dermatology | Marit; training in Charleston, South Carolina; post-fellowship role in Lancaster, South Carolina | 12 months | Salaried W-2 position with housing stipend; 40 scheduled hours weekly | Nurse practitioners or physician assistants; additional criteria not specified |
| Dermatology Nurse Practitioner Training | Lahey; location not specified | 24 months | Funded by Lahey; trainees are full-time nurse practitioner employees with full benefits and salary of $93,000 per year | Graduates of an accredited nurse practitioner program holding certification in one of the major population groups |
| Regis Dermatology Fellowship Program | Regis; location not specified | Not specified | Tuition cost not specified | Certified nurse practitioners; includes didactic coursework, on-campus procedures course, and 630 clinical hours |
| Achieve Program | Diversity in Dermatology; online | 12 months | Cost not specified | Nurse practitioners and physician assistants in the first three years of dermatology practice |
| Diplomate Fellowship Program | Society of Dermatology Physician Assistants; online, self-paced | Self-paced | Cost not specified | Nurse practitioners and physician assistants; additional criteria not specified |
A dermatology nurse practitioner is a diagnostician who spends most of the workday looking closely at skin, deciding what is harmless, what is treatable, and what needs a biopsy.
The schedule is built around short, frequent visits. A morning might include full-body skin exams to screen for melanoma and other skin cancers, a teenager on a follow-up for acne, an adult with an eczema flare, and a patient whose psoriasis is no longer responding to topical treatment. NPs also manage rosacea and a long list of rashes and infections. Prescribing covers topical steroids and retinoids, oral antibiotics, and isotretinoin (with iPLEDGE registration). Where state law and practice protocols allow, it extends to biologics for moderate to severe disease.
Medical dermatology is insurance-billed, fast-paced, and draws a wide mix of patients, including many older adults needing skin cancer checks. Pay is commonly a base salary, sometimes with a productivity bonus. Cosmetic dermatology is mostly cash-pay. Appointments run longer, patients are seeking elective improvements, and compensation is more often production-based, tied to procedures performed or products sold. Many practices blend both, which lets an NP shift the balance over time.
A dermatologist is an MD or DO who completes a three-year dermatology residency after medical school. That training prepares them for complex surgery, severe disease, and rare conditions, and NPs typically refer or co-manage those cases. A dermatology nurse supports the clinic by assisting with procedures, teaching patients, and handling wound care or phototherapy, but cannot independently diagnose or prescribe. The nurse practitioner sits between the two, with authority to evaluate, diagnose, and treat within the limits of state law and the practice setting.
A dermatology practice usually includes nurse practitioners, physicians, and registered nurses, but the three roles carry different education, authority, and procedures. Choose the dermatologist path for physician-level surgical depth; choose the NP path for a faster route to clinical dermatology.

The baseline most dermatology employers advertise is straightforward: active NP licensure, DEA registration, an MSN or DNP, and national board certification through either the AANP or ANCC. Nothing in the standard hiring criteria requires you to arrive pre-specialized in skin. The sequence below gets you there, with each step marked required or optional.
The Dermatology Certified Nurse Practitioner (DCNP) credential sits outside this list as an optional capstone, pursued after you already hold NP certification and have logged roughly 3,000 recent hours of dermatology practice.
Yes, in many cases. Hiring sources describe a split market. One to two years of dermatology or related clinical NP experience is commonly listed as preferred, but it is not universal. Smaller private practices in particular are often willing to train new-graduate NPs or clinicians transitioning from primary care, so new-grad acceptance tends to be case-by-case rather than a flat no.
As for the DCNP, the available 2026 sources do not show that employers generally demand it at hire. The certification board frames it as an additional specialty credential layered on top of national certification, not a replacement for it, and the 3,000-hour eligibility requirement makes it impractical for most people entering the field. Treat the DCNP as a later differentiator, not an entry ticket.
Request a dermatology clinical rotation during NP school. It is the most common foot in the door, giving you supervised exposure to the specialty and often a direct line to a hiring manager before you graduate.
Population focus is the one decision in NP school that quietly narrows (or widens) which dermatology jobs you can apply for later. Skin disease does not respect age brackets, so the track you choose determines whether a practice can send you a 7-year-old with eczema or only the adult half of the schedule.
Postings in 2026 are less FNP-exclusive than the specialty's reputation suggests. Advanced Dermatology, P.C. and the Skin and Cancer Institute both list FNP or AGNP as acceptable, with one to two years of dermatology experience preferred at the former. A Connecticut dermatology opening accepts either credential but wants three years of prior dermatology.2 Mayo Clinic's Jacksonville posting accepts FNP, ANP, or ACNP, while its Rochester role lists FNP or ANP. AMN Healthcare's dermatology listing considers FNP, AGNP, and ACNP, with a year of dermatology preferred rather than required.3 Some postings, such as a Westford Trust cosmetic and medical role, name FNP-BC or NP-C alongside two years of NP experience without clarifying whether adult-gerontology primary care qualifies.4 There is no representative study quantifying employer preference, so treat these as a snapshot: documented dermatology experience appears more consistently than any exclusive FNP requirement.
Your entry point shapes the format. ADN nurses can use RN-to-MSN bridges; BSN nurses choose between MSN nurse practitioner and BSN-to-DNP; already-certified NPs can add a population focus through a post-master's certificate. Vanderbilt's FNP, for example, runs as a hybrid program with required on-campus intensives and 600 clinical hours, available at the MSN and DNP levels, and the school notes that FNPs can build dermatology expertise within it.5 Specialty practicum placement varies by student and site. Online coursework never replaces in-person clinicals, and many programs expect you to secure your own dermatology preceptor, so start that outreach early.
The DCNP credential is earned on the job, not before it: you must log thousands of hours in dermatology practice as a licensed NP before you can even sit for the exam.
These national figures come from the 2025 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates and are best read as approximate benchmarks. The BLS does not report a dermatology nurse practitioner salary separately; dermatology and cosmetic practices may add production or bonus compensation, but published national data for that premium remains thin. BLS projects nurse practitioner employment to grow 41.0% from 2025 to 2035, the fastest among detailed occupations tracked by BLS, with about 137,800 new jobs projected over the decade. A broader BLS grouping that includes nurse anesthetists and nurse midwives projects 36% growth and about 32,200 annual openings over the same period.
| Occupation | Employment | Mean annual wage | 25th percentile | Median annual wage | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nurse Practitioners | 323,040 | $137,300 | $117,990 | $132,300 | $156,700 |
| Registered Nurses | 3,379,720 | $101,420 | $80,330 | $97,550 | $112,350 |
Among major metros, the highest median annual wage for nurse practitioners is in the New York-Newark-Jersey City area.
Dermatology NP career questions answered: certification, scope, and practical transition routes for experienced FNPs. DCNP is a voluntary specialty credential, not a state licensure requirement, and FNP remains the most common entry route into the specialty.