Best Nursing Schools in Kenosha, WI | 2027 BSN Rankings

Compare costs, NCLEX pass rates, and outcomes for every BSN program near Kenosha

By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated September 28, 202614 min read
Best Nursing Schools in Kenosha, WI | 2027 BSN Rankings

Points of interest…

  • Carthage, Herzing, and UW-Parkside are the main BSN programs near Kenosha, each with distinct NCLEX pass rates.
  • Our rankings are based on public data like tuition costs, NCLEX outcomes, and graduation rates.
  • Accelerated BSN pathways and RN-to-BSN programs remain limited in the Kenosha area compared to traditional BSN tracks.
  • Clinical placement details vary; prospective students should check individual school nursing pages for rotation sites.

Kenosha nursing students operate in a corridor defined more by proximity than program density. Wedged between Milwaukee and Chicago, the city hosts three BSN-granting institutions: Carthage College, Herzing University, and a collaborative UW-Parkside pathway. Each draws applicants from both sides of the Illinois-Wisconsin border, but seat availability rarely keeps pace with local demand.

The resulting competition forces prospective nurses to weigh not just cost and NCLEX performance but also each program’s clinical ties to regional employers like Froedtert South and Advocate Aurora. Students must choose between a residential liberal arts experience and a career-focused, flexible schedule. Among nursing schools in Wisconsin, the best BSN in Kenosha isn’t a ranking winner; it’s the one that matches a student’s timeline, budget, and learning style.

Best Nursing Schools in Kenosha at a Glance

For Kenosha-area learners comparing accredited nursing programs, this ranking brings together regional Wisconsin schools with campus, hybrid, and online BSN and ADN pathways. Each card highlights a different fit, from public-university research settings to career-focused technical colleges. Where graduation data is shown, it reflects the institution overall rather than a specific nursing cohort, so program-level results can differ.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention weighted most heavily
  • Student-faculty ratio weighted heavily
  • Tuition value adjusted for cost
  • Completion and Pell considered lightly
  • Program records and accreditation reviewed
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI~$17,000/yr (est.)First-year college students wanting public research university

UW-Madison pairs a traditional campus BSN with an accelerated second-degree track and an online RN-to-BSN completion option. Pre-nursing students complete foundational coursework before applying to the two-year nursing component, with clinical rotations across hospitals and community sites. The school is a public research university, which may appeal to students who want a large campus setting and broad academic resources.

  • 124 total credit hours and four-year format
  • Two-year nursing component after prerequisites
  • Clinical placements up to 90 miles away
  • 93% licensure pass rate
  • CCNE accredited and NCLEX-RN preparation
  • 2.8 GPA minimum with prerequisite courses
  • Fall start date each year
No entrance exam
  • 12-month, cohort-based campus program
  • 96% licensure pass rate
  • No entrance exam required
  • Designed for non-nursing bachelor's degree holders
  • Clinical rotations in rural and urban hospitals
  • 84% secured job before graduation
Fully online option
  • $452 per credit
  • Complete in 1.5 to 2.5 years
  • 31 total credit hours
  • Fully online asynchronous option
  • 135 clinical hours and capstone required
  • 96% licensure pass rate
  • Clinical placements close to home available

Marquette offers a direct-admit traditional BSN on its Milwaukee campus plus a direct-entry master's in nursing for students who already hold a bachelor's degree. The BSN includes guaranteed clinical hours and study abroad options; the direct-entry MSN can be completed in as few as five semesters and is available in hybrid formats. A faith-based private university setting distinguishes the campus experience.

CCNE accredited
  • Direct freshman admission to nursing major
  • Guaranteed clinical hours and classes
  • Nursing study abroad opportunities
  • Veteran Affairs Nursing Academic Partnership
  • Honors program with capstone project
  • CCNE accredited
ACEN accredited
  • Five-semester direct-entry pathway
  • Three start dates each year
  • 93% licensure pass rate
  • High-fidelity simulation centers
  • Extended eight-semester option available
  • Hybrid online or campus delivery

Bellin College is a private health sciences college focused on nursing and other health professions. Its BSN offers three tracks: a traditional three-year path, a transfer option, and an accelerated 15-month option, with nursing courses beginning in the first semester. The curriculum emphasizes leadership and clinical experience across multiple specialties.

CCNE accredited
  • Three track options: three-year, transfer, 15-month
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Nursing courses start first semester
  • CCNE accredited and NCLEX-RN preparation
  • General education credits accepted
  • Emphasis on leadership and multiple specialties

Moraine Park Technical College offers a two-year associate degree in nursing with a built-in practical nursing exit point, letting students become an LPN after two semesters or continue toward RN. The program blends lab practice and clinical rotations across three Wisconsin campuses. It is a public technical college pathway with a career-focused structure and hands-on technology integration.

  • Two-year program with LPN exit after two semesters
  • 68 total credit hours
  • 96% licensure pass rate
  • Campuses in Fond du Lac, Beaver Dam, West Bend
  • Prior learning credits accepted
  • Out-of-state residents not eligible

Fox Valley Technical College offers an associate degree RN pathway in Appleton, with both full-time and part-time options. The 65-credit program includes health assessment, medication administration, and clinical training, and students must complete a CNA requirement before core nursing courses. The program is approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing and may have a waitlist for core courses.

  • 65 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • CNA required for core nursing courses
  • 1-2 year wait for core courses possible
  • 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Approved by Wisconsin Board of Nursing
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN

Rasmussen University's Wisconsin nursing program uses a hybrid format that combines online coursework with on-campus lab simulations and supervised clinicals. Students can earn an associate degree in nursing in as few as 21 months, with eight start dates per year and no prerequisite coursework at many campuses. The program is career-focused and designed for learners who need flexible scheduling.

Military benefitsEmployer tuition reimbursement
  • 21-month program with hybrid format
  • 102 total credit hours and 25 courses
  • Eight start dates per year
  • No prerequisite coursework required
  • On-campus lab simulations and clinicals
  • 2.3 GPA minimum
  • HESI, TEAS, ACT, or SAT entrance exam required
  • $55,673 total program tuition

Milwaukee School of Engineering offers both a traditional campus BSN and an accelerated second-degree track for career changers. The school is a private STEM-focused university with a dedicated nursing simulation center, direct admission, and guaranteed progression through clinical courses. Its nursing curriculum pairs technology, critical thinking, and hands-on clinical experience.

CCNE accredited
  • Direct admission into nursing major
  • Guaranteed progression through clinical courses
  • Ruehlow Nursing Complex simulation center
  • Nursing Living Learning Community
  • Anatomy and Physiology JumpStart Program
  • CCNE accredited
CCNE accredited
  • 16-month program for career changers
  • Two start dates per year
  • 660 clinical hours
  • 100% licensure pass rate
  • At least 15 simulation experiences
  • 98% first-time NCLEX pass rate

Southwest Wisconsin Technical College offers an associate degree nursing program with a hybrid format and hands-on clinical experiences in local healthcare settings. Students train on adult, pediatric, and obstetric simulators, and complete 65 credits to become eligible for the NCLEX-RN. It is a public technical college option with a practical, skills-based approach.

ACEN accredited
  • 65 total credit hours
  • Hybrid format with local clinical experiences
  • Adult, pediatric, and obstetric simulators
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN
  • ACEN accredited

UW-Eau Claire's BSN Completion Program is designed for registered nurses and ADN graduates who want to advance while continuing to work. The hybrid online program uses 7- and 14-week sessions, includes a 90-hour clinical project, and offers elective options such as cross-cultural nursing and end-of-life care. It is a public university pathway focused on RN-to-BSN advancement and leadership.

CCNE accredited
  • Designed for RNs and ADN graduates
  • Hybrid online with 7- and 14-week sessions
  • 90 clinical hours required
  • Rolling admissions
  • 99% licensure pass rate
  • Electives in cross-cultural and end-of-life care
  • Prepares for nurse manager and clinical coordinator roles

Maranatha Baptist University offers a four-year BSN that integrates nursing education with a Christian worldview and Bible courses. Students complete more than 1,000 hours of clinical experience, with opportunities like a capstone practicum and medical missions trip. The program is CCNE accredited and suited to learners seeking a faith-based nursing education.

CCNE accredited
  • More than 1,000 clinical hours
  • Four-year program with Bible courses integration
  • Capstone practicum and NCLEX review course
  • Medical missions trip opportunity
  • CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN

How We Ranked Kenosha BSN Programs

Our ranking of Kenosha nursing schools is built on transparent, publicly available data that reflects affordability, student outcomes, and program quality. We avoid subjective judgments, instead relying on concrete metrics that matter to prospective nurses.

What We Measure

  • Affordability: We look at net price after financial aid. This is the average amount students actually pay after grants and scholarships, drawn from College Scorecard. It's an institutional average, not a personal quote, but it's the best benchmark for comparing costs across schools.
  • Student success: Institution-wide graduation rate gives a sense of how well a school supports its students to completion. Again, this is not program-specific, but it signals overall academic environment.
  • Program flexibility: We note whether a BSN program offers full-time, part-time, online, or accelerated formats. Accessibility matters for working students and career changers.
  • Accreditation status: All ranked programs hold proper nursing accreditation (CCNE or ACEN), a non-negotiable requirement for licensure and graduate study.

Where the Data Comes From

We source these metrics primarily from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) and the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard. NCLEX pass rates and clinical quality are analyzed separately because they come from state nursing boards and program self-reports, which require their own context. This separation ensures that each dimension of quality gets the right level of scrutiny.

Side-by-Side: Carthage vs Herzing vs UW-Parkside BSN Programs

Carthage CollegeHerzing University KenoshaUW-Parkside BSN
Program Duration48 monthsNot specifiedNot specified
Total Credits Required130 creditsNot specifiedNot specified
Minimum GPA Requirement2.75Not specifiedNot specified
Institution TypePrivatePrivatePublic

Clinical Sites & Hands-on Training in the Kenosha Area

Where to Find Clinical Placement Information

Every nursing program in Kenosha structures its clinical rotations a little differently. The most reliable way to see exactly where you'll train is to visit each school's nursing program page. Carthage College, Herzing University Kenosha, and UW-Parkside all publish overviews of their clinical partnerships, often within an "experiential learning" or "clinical experiences" section. If the published list feels incomplete, reach out to the nursing department directly. Admissions staff and program coordinators can share the most up-to-date placements, including any new agreements that may not yet appear online.

Major Healthcare Providers in the Kenosha Region

While partnerships evolve over time, several large health systems have long served as training grounds for local nursing students. Froedtert South, which operates the Froedtert Kenosha Hospital and other sites, offers exposure to acute care, emergency medicine, and surgical services. Advocate Aurora Health, including Aurora Medical Center Kenosha, opens doors to community-based care and specialty units. Students often also rotate through Veterans Affairs clinics, federally qualified health centers, and long-term care facilities, ensuring a broad spectrum of patient populations.

Evaluating Clinical Quality

Not all clinical experiences are equal. When comparing schools, ask about the number of clinical hours built into the curriculum, the typical student-to-instructor ratio during rotations, and how simulation labs supplement bedside training. The Wisconsin Board of Nursing sets minimum requirements, but top programs exceed them. The BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, a trustworthy resource, can help you understand the job market your hands-on training prepares you for. For nursing education standards, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) are the go-to references.

Why Clinical Training Matters

Employers in Kenosha and across Wisconsin consistently value graduates who have cared for real patients in a variety of settings. A strong clinical foundation not only sharpens your skills but also boosts confidence for the NCLEX and your first nursing job. When researching programs, treat the clinical site list as a window into the kinds of patients, technologies, and mentors you'll encounter long before you earn your license.

RN-to-BSN & Accelerated BSN Pathways in Kenosha

Nursing education continues to emphasize baccalaureate preparation, with many hospitals seeking BSN-holding RNs to meet Magnet standards and improve patient outcomes. In Kenosha, however, the landscape for RN-to-BSN and accelerated BSN programs is more concentrated in the traditional pre-licensure pathway.

Traditional vs. Accelerated Options in Kenosha

As of 2025-2026, Carthage College offers a campus-based pre-licensure BSN that spans four years. It does not provide an RN-to-BSN completion track or an accelerated second-degree BSN for career changers. ADN-prepared nurses and graduates with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree must therefore explore other institutions in the region.

Herzing University-Kenosha and UW-Parkside are the other primary nursing schools in the immediate area. While their programs may evolve, prospective students should verify directly whether currently accepting applications for RN-to-BSN or accelerated BSN formats. Many Wisconsin programs have adopted online or hybrid models that make balancing work and study realistic.

Credit Transfer from ADN Programs

Students graduating from an ADN program like Gateway Technical College often ask about articulation into a local BSN. Transfer policies vary by school and term. Contact the target BSN program’s admissions office to learn how your prior nursing credits will be applied and whether any additional prerequisites remain.

Flexibility for Working RNs

RN-to-BSN programs across the country are designed with full-time nurses in mind. When evaluating Kenosha-area options, prioritize these practical questions: - Format: Is the program entirely online, or are there on-campus requirements? - Scheduling: Can you attend part-time while working 12-hour shifts? - Clinicals: Can clinical experiences be completed at your current employer?

With careful planning, many Kenosha-area RNs finish their BSN without leaving the workforce.

Frequently Asked Questions About Kenosha Nursing Programs

Find quick answers to some of the most common questions about nursing programs in Kenosha, Wisconsin. Whether you’re comparing BSN costs, NCLEX pass rates, or clinical training, this FAQ covers key details to help you plan your nursing education.

The top nursing schools in Kenosha include Carthage College, Herzing University–Kenosha, and the University of Wisconsin–Parkside. Carthage offers a traditional BSN with strong clinical partnerships, Herzing provides flexible BSN and accelerated options, and UW-Parkside delivers a rigorous RN-to-BSN pathway. The best choice depends on your career goals and preferred learning format.

BSN tuition varies by institution and residency. Herzing University–Kenosha publishes a per-credit rate that makes total program costs competitive with other private schools. Carthage College charges comprehensive tuition that includes many campus resources. UW-Parkside offers a more affordable option for in-state students. For exact current figures, contact each school directly.

Carthage College’s BSN graduates consistently achieve first-time NCLEX pass rates above both Wisconsin and national averages. Herzing University–Kenosha also reports solid pass rates. UW-Parkside’s RN-to-BSN students often take the exam after completing an ADN elsewhere, so their pass rates are tracked separately. Always check each program’s latest annual performance disclosures.

Yes. Herzing University–Kenosha offers an Accelerated BSN that allows students with a prior bachelor’s degree to finish in as few as 16 months. UW-Parkside’s RN-to-BSN program is designed for working registered nurses seeking to advance their credentials online or on campus. Carthage College primarily serves traditional four-year BSN students.

Kenosha nursing students gain hands-on experience at major regional providers, including Froedtert South (Kenosha Medical Center), Aurora Medical Center, and nearby hospitals in Racine and Lake County, Illinois. Rotations cover medical-surgical, pediatric, mental health, and community settings, ensuring exposure to diverse patient populations and real-world nursing skills.

The timeline depends on the pathway. A traditional BSN like Carthage’s takes four years. An associate degree in nursing (ADN) from a technical college requires two years, while accelerated programs for those with a prior degree can take 12–18 months. After graduation, you must pass the NCLEX-RN to become licensed. UW-Parkside’s RN-to-BSN typically adds one year for existing RNs.

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us