Points of interest…
- Florida CNA first-time exam pass rate hit 90.36% in Q2 2026.
- Tampa CNA median pay is $37,470 yearly, about $18 hourly.
- Many cheap Tampa CNA ads are test prep, not board-approved training.
Compare state-approved Tampa CNA classes by true cost, schedule, and clinical training

A $449 tuition ad and a $1,000 final bill can describe the same Tampa CNA class. Across Hillsborough, Pinellas, and Pasco counties, dozens of offers compete for the same students, and the advertised price rarely includes the exam fee, fingerprinting, uniforms, or background screening.
The ranked programs come first, followed by Florida certification rules, true all-in costs, free training routes, and what CNAs earn around Tampa Bay.
CNA training remains one of the quickest ways into the region's healthcare workforce, alongside LPN programs in Tampa, which is why weak or misleading offers tend to cluster here.
For Tampa working adults comparing CNA programs, the strongest options balance cost after aid, institutional completion patterns, and a schedule that fits shifts. These Florida-based programs range from four-week certification tracks to nine-week campus training with clinical hours.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | FVI School of Nursing and Technology | Miami, FL | $35,000 – $40,000/yr (est.) | Bilingual students needing flexible shifts | |
FVI School of Nursing and Technology in Miami offers a nine-week Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide program with day and evening classes, bilingual options, a 40-hour clinical externship, and CPR/BLS certification. Instruction is campus based, and the school's overall graduation rate is 89%. Average net price after aid is approximately $35,500.
| |||||
| #2 | Fort Myers Technical College | Fort Myers, FL | Budget-conscious learners seeking six-week training | ||
Fort Myers Technical College offers a 165-hour Nursing Assistant (Articulated) program that takes about six weeks and includes clinical rotations plus CPR/safety training. Program cost is approximately $1,290, and instruction is campus based. This school's overall graduation rate is 81%.
| |||||
| #3 | South Florida Institute of Technology | Miami, FL | ~$32,000/yr (est.) | Test-ready applicants needing low-cost exam prep | |
South Florida Institute of Technology in Miami provides a 24-clock-hour Nursing Aide Exam Preparation course over six Saturdays for $250. The program focuses on 22 practical skills and requires prior nursing-related coursework. Average net price after aid is about $31,700, but this school's overall graduation rate is not reported.
| |||||
| #4 | South Florida State College | Avon Park, FL | $4,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
South Florida State College in Avon Park runs an eight-week hybrid Nursing Assistant program with evening and Sunday classes. The 165-hour format includes healthcare fundamentals and hands-on training, with scholarships possible through CareerSource Heartland. Average net price after aid is about $3,900, instruction is hybrid, and the school's overall graduation rate is 48%.
| |||||
| #5 | Cape Coral Technical College | Cape Coral, FL | ~$1,000/yr (est.) | ||
Cape Coral Technical College offers a roughly six-week Nursing Assistant Articulated program with 165 clock hours, including 40 clinical hours. The estimated program cost is $1,255, and small class sizes provide hands-on instruction. Average net price after aid is about $1,500, but this school's overall graduation rate is not published.
| |||||
| #6 | Gulf Coast State College | Panama City, FL | ~$5,000/yr (est.) | ||
Gulf Coast State College's CNA certificate is offered through the Gulf Franklin Campus in Port St. Joe, near Panama City. The 165-hour hybrid program runs about eight weeks with two weekly sessions and selective admission. Average net price after aid is about $4,700, and the school's overall graduation rate is 43%.
| |||||
| #7 | Saint Johns River State College | Palatka, FL | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | ||
Saint Johns River State College offers a fast four-week CNA program with 120 training hours and a long-term care focus. Classes are available at Orange Park and Palatka campuses, and the program prepares students for the Florida CNA exam. Average net price after aid is about $6,100, and the school's overall graduation rate is 49%.
| |||||
| #8 | Indian River State College | Fort Pierce, FL | ~$4,000/yr (est.) | ||
Indian River State College in Fort Pierce offers a Nursing Assistant program with day and evening sections plus spring, summer, and fall start dates. Students train in labs and clinical settings for the Prometric and Florida Board of Nursing exams. Average net price after aid is about $3,800, and the school's overall graduation rate is 45%.
| |||||
| #9 | Santa Fe College | Gainesville, FL | ~$11,000/yr (est.) | ||
Santa Fe College in Gainesville offers an in-person Nursing Assistant Certificate with 165 contact hours and clinical rotations. The program is ACEN accredited and does not require a high school diploma, with financial aid and scholarships available. Average net price after aid is about $11,100, and the school's overall graduation rate is 53%. ACEN accredited
| |||||
| #10 | Chipola College | Marianna, FL | $1,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
Chipola College in Marianna offers a Nursing Assistant Long Term program that admits students each spring and fall. The program prepares graduates for the NACE exam and connects students with workforce support for costs, housing, and job placement. Average net price after aid is about $1,100, and the school's overall graduation rate is 53%.
| |||||
Florida still allows candidates to take the CNA exam without first completing CNA training programs. That flexibility is real, but it comes with trade-offs worth weighing before you spend money on either path.
Most Tampa candidates complete one of the CNA programs in Florida approved by the Florida Board of Nursing, which combines classroom instruction with supervised clinical hours in a healthcare setting. Hour totals can differ between programs, so confirm the requirement with any school you consider. After finishing, you apply through Prometric and take both the written and clinical-skills portions of the state exam.
Do you need a state-approved program to test? No. Florida's challenger route is for people who have never completed nursing assistant training and have no NA work experience but believe they can pass anyway. Challengers generally must be at least 18 and hold a high school diploma or equivalent. Separate equivalency paths may apply to military medics, nursing students with clinical coursework, out-of-state CNAs, and some LPNs or RNs.
The catch is the skills portion. Without supervised practice, candidates often struggle with hands-on tasks graded in real time by an evaluator. Fail either portion three times and you must complete approved training of at least 120 hours before trying again, then retake both parts. Both portions must be passed within two years of the date you pass the first one.
Every candidate needs a Level 2 fingerprint-based background check through an FDLE-approved LiveScan provider, typically about $80. Submit your Prometric application first and wait for the Application Received Notification before getting fingerprinted. You must disclose any conviction or no-contest plea other than minor traffic offenses. The Board reviews each result, and some offenses can keep you off the Florida CNA Registry.
Many low-priced Tampa CNA ads are exam-review courses, not Florida Board of Nursing approved training programs. Only Board-approved training includes the supervised clinical hours needed to qualify for the exam through the training route. Before paying a deposit, check the provider's name in the Board's approved-program list and confirm the status is "Approved".
| Comparison | State-Approved Training | Test-Prep / Review Course |
|---|---|---|
| Board approval status | Listed as "Approved" on the Florida Board of Nursing's CNA training program list | Not on the Board's approved training list; usually a private review course |
| Supervised clinical hours | Includes supervised clinical hours required by Board-approved training | Typically includes no supervised clinical hours |
| Qualifies for exam via training route | Yes, after completing required training and clinical hours | No, does not satisfy the training route; may still help with exam review or retake preparation |
| Typical price range | Often higher because the price reflects supervised clinical hours and program overhead | Often advertised lower, but the fee may cover instruction only, not certification eligibility |
| Instructor oversight | Program approval by the Board addresses program standards under Section 464.019, Florida Statutes | No Board review of instructors for training-program approval; credentials vary by company |
| How to verify before paying | Confirm the provider is listed as "Approved" on the Board's CNA training program list | Ask for the provider's Board approval status and whether supervised clinical hours are included before enrolling |
Many Tampa CNA ads quote tuition only, but certification has several add-on fees. Based only on the Florida figures below, a student paying the $449 tuition, the $155 Prometric exam fee, and a $105 fingerprint vendor charge would be around $709 before CPR, supplies, and health testing. Public college tuition figures were not published in the sources reviewed, so the table does not present a full public versus private comparison.
| Cost Item | Typical Amount | Paid To | Usually Included in Tuition? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florida CNA training provider tuition | $449 | Training provider | N/A |
| Florida Prometric CNA examination | $155 | Prometric | No; exam fee is paid separately |
| Florida Level 2 background screening (state fee) | $8.00 | Licensee or person fingerprinted | No; may be reimbursed by the licensee |
| Florida Level 2 background screening (live-scan vendor charge) | $105.00 | Fingerprinting service provider | No |
| Florida electronic fingerprinting example | $91.25 | Fingerprinting service provider | No |
| CPR/BLS certification | Not identified for Tampa in available sources | CPR/BLS training provider | Not stated |
CNA rules in Florida can shift, so treat this FAQ as a starting point, not a final ruling. Verify current rules at the source before you pay a deposit or schedule an exam.
Public funding for CNA training in Tampa Bay is real, but it comes with paperwork, and 2026 timing matters more than most students expect.
Eligible Hillsborough and Pinellas residents may have tuition covered through a WIOA Individual Training Account, which can include instructional costs, books, materials, uniforms, and supplies. Enrollment is reported open in 2026, but approval is not automatic. The steps run roughly like this: complete a prescreen, register with Employ Florida, upload ID and Social Security documents, attend an appointment-only information session, take assessments (unless exempt), and get a letter of intent from a provider on CareerSource's approved list. Only programs on that list qualify, so settle on a school first. CareerSource Tampa Bay is at 9215 N Florida Ave, Tampa, open Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm, at (813) 930-7400. CNA Training & Testing Center in Trinity says it accepts CareerSource vouchers for its CNA Diploma, though you should confirm its approval status before enrolling.
Among nursing schools in Florida, Hillsborough Community College reports a scholarship covering 90% of the cost of its CNA course. Ask what balance remains, who qualifies, and whether applications are open. The Florida-funded Open Door Scholarship Program for 2026-2027, one of several nursing scholarships and grants, lists CNA among its supported credentials. Fall 2026 applications closed because of funding adjustments, and Spring 2027 applications are being accepted. Check whether books, uniforms, and exam fees are covered.
Some nursing homes and long-term care facilities cover training costs for students who agree to work for them after certification, a common entry point into nursing careers. Current sources do not confirm which Tampa-area employers offer this, so ask facilities directly. Terms vary, but expect to work for a set period after certification.
Before signing, check the length of the commitment, your pay and scheduled hours, and any repayment clause if you leave early. Ask for the terms in writing.
Your path from first class to the Florida CNA Registry depends mostly on schedule and exam availability. Full-time accelerated students can finish training in 4 to 5.5 weeks and complete certification in roughly 6 to 8 weeks when screening and exam booking overlap. Evening and weekend cohorts typically run 8 to 16 weeks for training, with the entire process often taking 4 to 7 months.

Florida's statewide first-time CNA exam pass rate was 90.36% in the second quarter of 2026 (April to June), according to Prometric's Florida reporting. The latest component-level figures found are older: in early 2024, first-time candidates passed the written portion at 84.7% and the skills portion at 81.5%.
Pay for CNAs in the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater metro area is modest but steady. According to the most recent federal metro data, the region employed about 15,120 nursing assistants at a median annual wage of $37,470, which is about $18.01 an hour over a standard full-time year. The middle half of earners fell between $36,540 and $39,410 annually. Current Tampa job ads and pay guides show a wider advertised range, typically $15 to $23 an hour, with mean hourly pay near $18.96 in recent ZipRecruiter estimates. Hospital positions in Tampa are often advertised from $17 to $22 an hour, while BayCare listings commonly fall between $16 and $20. For context, Florida skilled nursing facilities frequently advertise $16 to $18 an hour, so the metro median is broadly consistent with statewide facility pay. Independent contractor and per diem ads in Tampa range from $15 to $20 an hour. Because Tampa CNA programs are generally short and all-in costs are low relative to first-year earnings, most graduates recoup training costs within the first few months of full-time work. Guides commonly estimate shift differentials of $1.50 to $3.00 for evening shifts, $2.50 to $4.00 for overnight shifts, and $1 to $3 for weekends, though many Tampa employers mention differentials in ads without publishing dollar amounts.
| Pay metric | Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL |
|---|---|
| Nursing assistant employment | 15,120 |
| 25th percentile annual wage | $36,540 |
| Median annual wage | $37,470 |
| 75th percentile annual wage | $39,410 |
| Mean annual wage | $38,950 |
| Advertised hourly range, 2026 job ads | $15 to $23 |