Points of interest…
- Tampa metro CNAs earn median $18.02 hourly and $37,470 yearly.
- Florida accepts no fully online CNA training; clinical hours are mandatory.
- Public college CNA training near Odessa costs $730 to $1,950.
Compare Florida-approved CNA training within driving distance of Odessa, from cost to schedule

Odessa, Florida, is an unincorporated community straddling northwest Hillsborough and southwest Pasco counties near Tampa, not the Texas city home to Odessa College. It has few or no CNA classrooms of its own.
Most residents train in nearby Pasco, Hillsborough, or Pinellas cities, weighing real out-of-pocket costs, free and workforce-funded seats, and Florida's clinical and exam requirements. Drive time matters less than approval: a course without Florida Board of Nursing approval will not count toward the state's training requirement.
Search results for "Odessa CNA classes" pull in two different places. If a page mentions Ector County, Odessa College, or the Texas HHSC nurse aide registry, you are looking at Odessa, Texas. Florida programs reference the Florida Board of Nursing and Florida CNA certification requirements. Check for that before you pay a deposit or fill out an application.
Odessa sits in southwest Pasco County, close to the SR-54 and US-19 corridors and a short drive from Tampa. Major hospital systems in the region, including BayCare, AdventHealth, and HCA Florida, operate facilities within commuting distance. Alongside those hospitals sits a dense mix of skilled nursing homes, assisted living communities, and home health agencies serving Pasco's large retiree population.
Florida CNAs handle personal care, bathing, feeding, toileting, help with mobility and transfers, and routine vitals, all under the supervision of a licensed nurse. Long-term care is the most common first job. Hospital roles tend to go to candidates who already have bedside experience.
Nursing assistants in the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater metro area earn a median of $18.02 per hour, or $37,470 per year.
Flexibility sounds great until you learn Florida will not certify you on coursework alone. No approved CNA program in this state runs fully online, no matter how the ad is worded.
Approved hybrid programs move the theory portion online, often around 40 hours of it, then bring you on campus for skills lab and into a facility for supervised clinical work. A common structure totals roughly 120 hours across about five weeks: online theory, in-person lab, and clinical time in a skilled nursing facility or hospital, with a share of those clinical hours served in a long-term care setting. Confirm the exact hour breakdown with any program you are considering, since approved curricula vary.
Search results around Tampa Bay surface accelerated courses, typically about 40 hours built from a few days of hands-on review plus online access to videos and practice tests. These are exam preparation, not approved training. They are designed for people already eligible to test.
Florida lets some candidates sit the two-part Prometric exam (about $155) without completing a program: military medical training, recent nursing coursework, including accredited LPN programs in Florida, or out-of-state CNA training, subject to Board of Nursing approval first, which is a nursing licensure requirement. Candidates get three attempts within two years before a 120-hour program becomes mandatory. Quick test: no clinical component means prep, not training.
Odessa sits at a convenient crossroads for CNA training: most approved classrooms are a short drive away, but none are inside Odessa itself. The closest confirmed option is Pasco-Hernando State College (PHSC), with CNA instruction tied to its New Port Richey and Spring Hill campuses.
Ask about clinical sites before enrolling at nursing schools in Florida. Florida requires clinical hours, and many programs place students at facilities in a different city from the classroom.
These are the out-of-pocket costs to plan for, in addition to any tuition aid you may receive. A public-college route often lands between roughly $730 and $1,950, and a private-school route between roughly $1,830 and $3,950, excluding any drug screen, textbook fees, or financial aid. The net prices in the rankings below are institution-wide averages after aid, not exact CNA program quotes, and some employers or workforce programs reimburse background checks, CPR/BLS, scrubs, or the state exam fee after hire or enrollment.
| Expense | Typical Cost Range | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Public college CNA tuition | $400 to $1,500 | Tampa area public options include Hillsborough Community College, Erwin Technical College, and Brewster Technical College; Hillsborough is reported at roughly $850 to $1,300. |
| Private school CNA tuition | $1,500 to $3,500 | Some estimates place private tuition as low as $500 to $1,700, so provider pricing varies considerably. |
| Level 2 background check and fingerprinting | $75 to $98 | Examples include $75 at FieldPrint, $89 at IdentoGO, and up to $98 at some private fingerprinting services. |
| Drug screening | Not reported | Available cost breakdowns mention background screening, CPR/BLS, scrubs, stethoscope and watch, and TB testing, but do not state a separate drug-screening price. |
| AHA BLS/CPR course | $50 to $90 | Required by most employers; some employers or workforce programs reimburse this cost. |
| Scrubs and uniforms | $30 to $60 | Basic uniform set; some employers reimburse uniform costs after hire. |
| Supplies and required materials | $20 to $40 | May include a stethoscope or watch; textbook costs are not separately reported in the available sources. |
| Florida CNA state examination | $155 | Combined fee covers the written test at $35 and the clinical skills test at $120; some employers reimburse exam fees after hire. |
Can you find free CNA training programs in the Tampa Bay area? Sometimes, but approval is individual, not automatic.
CareerSource Pasco Hernando serves Pasco and Hernando residents.1 CareerSource Tampa Bay covers Hillsborough and Pinellas.2 Each runs its own process. Start with an orientation and an eligibility appointment, then expect Employ Florida registration plus an assessment (CASA in Pasco Hernando1, a Wonderlic math and verbal test in Tampa Bay3).
Tampa Bay has advertised up to $5,000 in tuition assistance in 2026 for eligible adults and dislocated workers.4 That is a ceiling, not a promise. Funds may cover instruction, books, uniforms, and materials, depending on approval.5 The school must also be on the region's approved provider list.1
Some nursing homes and long-term care facilities pay for training in exchange for a work commitment after certification. Ask whether they pay upfront or reimburse later, and what happens if you leave early.
If you are paying yourself, ask private schools about payment plans, and check whether a public college program qualifies for Pell aid.
Before signing up for any "free" class, confirm it is approved by the Florida Board of Nursing. Otherwise you may not be eligible to take the state exam.
Below are the top-ranked CNA programs serving Odessa-area students. Because no approved CNA training programs are located within 75 miles of Odessa, this list expands to include Florida Board of Nursing approved programs across the state. For the complete statewide directory, see the Florida programs page on topnursing.org.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | FVI School of Nursing and Technology | Miami, FL | $35,000 – $40,000/yr (est.) | Spanish speakers needing bilingual support | |
FVI School of Nursing and Technology offers a nine-week Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide program at its Miami and Miramar campuses. The campus-based format includes day and evening sections, bilingual English/Spanish options in Miami, and a 40-hour clinical externship. The program prepares students for the Florida CNA exam and includes CPR/BLS certification. For Odessa residents, this is a South Florida option, so factor in travel or relocation.
| |||||
| #2 | Fort Myers Technical College | Fort Myers, FL | Budget-conscious learners seeking low tuition | ||
Fort Myers Technical College's Nursing Assistant (Articulated) program is a 165-hour, roughly six-week campus-based path to CNA certification. The program includes clinical rotations and prepares students for the Florida Nurse Aide Exam. Estimated tuition is about $1,290 before additional fees for immunizations, drug screening, and background checks. For Odessa residents, this is a Fort Myers program, so commuting or temporary housing is required.
| |||||
| #3 | South Florida Institute of Technology | Miami, FL | ~$32,000/yr (est.) | Prior nursing students needing exam prep | |
South Florida Institute of Technology offers a 24-clock-hour Nursing Aide Exam Preparation course in Miami that costs $250. The six-Saturday course covers 22 practical skills and theory needed for the CNA exam. It requires prior nursing coursework. This is an exam-prep shortcut, not a full 165-hour Florida Board of Nursing approved training program, so Odessa residents must already meet the state's training prerequisite.
| |||||
| #4 | South Florida State College | Avon Park, FL | $4,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
South Florida State College's hybrid Nursing Assistant program combines 90 hours of healthcare fundamentals with 75 hours of clinical training over eight weeks. Evening and Sunday classes accommodate working adults, and the program prepares students for state certification. Scholarships and CareerSource Heartland funding may be available for eligible residents. Avon Park is a long drive from Odessa, so this option best suits those willing to relocate or attend occasional on-campus sessions.
| |||||
| #5 | Cape Coral Technical College | Cape Coral, FL | ~$1,000/yr (est.) | ||
Cape Coral Technical College offers a 165-hour Nursing Assistant Articulated program that takes about six weeks and includes 40 clinical hours. Estimated total cost is $1,255, and classes run daytime with clinical starting at 6:30 a.m. The program is Florida Board of Nursing approved and prepares students for the state exam. Cape Coral is far from Odessa, so it is an option for students already on Florida's Gulf Coast south of Tampa.
| |||||
| #6 | Gulf Coast State College | Panama City, FL | ~$5,000/yr (est.) | ||
Gulf Coast State College offers a Certified Nursing Assistant Certificate in a hybrid format at its Gulf Franklin Campus in Port St. Joe. The eight-week, 165-clock-hour program meets twice weekly and prepares students for the state CNA exam. Admission is selective, and financial aid is available. Panama City area programs are a long commute from Odessa, but the hybrid structure reduces on-campus time.
| |||||
| #7 | Saint Johns River State College | Palatka, FL | ~$6,000/yr (est.) | ||
Saint Johns River State College's four-week Nursing Assistant program is a 120-hour career certificate focused on long-term care. The on-campus program is offered at Orange Park and Palatka, with summer and fall start dates. It prepares graduates for Florida's CNA examination and includes CPR certification. Palatka is over 130 miles from Odessa, so this suits students willing to relocate or attend an intensive in-person block.
| |||||
| #8 | Indian River State College | Fort Pierce, FL | ~$4,000/yr (est.) | ||
Indian River State College's Nursing Assistant program trains students in patient safety, vital signs, and daily living assistance through labs and clinical settings. Day and evening sections are available at Fort Pierce and Okeechobee, with spring, summer, and fall start dates. Graduates are prepared for the Prometric and Florida Board of Nursing exams. This Treasure Coast option is a significant commute from Odessa, best considered by students with ties to that region.
| |||||
| #9 | Santa Fe College | Gainesville, FL | ~$11,000/yr (est.) | ||
Santa Fe College's Nursing Assistant Certificate is a 165-contact-hour, in-person program in Gainesville. It includes clinical rotations and prepares students for the Florida CNA exam. Admission is first-come, first-served for up to 10 students per cycle, and no high school diploma is required. Gainesville is about 110 miles from Odessa, making this a feasible option for students able to arrange weekday housing or a long commute.
| |||||
| #10 | Chipola College | Marianna, FL | $1,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
Chipola College's Nursing Assistant Long Term (CNA) program admits students twice yearly in Marianna, with spring and fall start dates. The campus-based program prepares graduates for the NACE exam, which has a $155 fee. Partnerships with DWYER Workforce Development and CareerSource Chipola can help with costs, housing, transportation, and job placement. Marianna is in the Florida Panhandle, a long distance from Odessa, so this best suits students already near the regional campus.
| |||||
These are the questions readers ask most when comparing CNA training near Odessa, FL. Answers reflect the 2026 Florida Board of Nursing and Prometric requirements covered in this guide.