Compare accredited Ohio RN-to-BSN programs by cost, length, format, and career outcomes.
By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated August 14, 202623 min read
Points of interest…
Net price, after grants and scholarships, is the true cost measure for Ohio’s RN to BSN programs.
Most Ohio RN-to-BSN programs can be finished in 12 to 18 months of full-time study.
Magnet hospitals like Cleveland Clinic and Ohio State Wexner Medical Center require a BSN for hiring.
BSN-prepared registered nurses in Ohio earn a mean annual wage of $81,250, with top graduates earning more.
Ohio’s largest health systems, including Cleveland Clinic, OhioHealth, and UC Health, now expect BSN preparation for most staff RN positions, pushing the degree from optional to essential. Topnursing.org reviewed 28 RN-to-BSN programs in the state, including online, hybrid, and campus-based options at public and private schools.
Working nurses face a clear tradeoff: the lowest tuition rarely comes with the most flexible schedule, and accelerated paths often mean less room for employer reimbursement to kick in. For Ohio RNs in 2026, the smart choice is a program that balances net price, length, and delivery format without cutting corners on accreditation.
Top RN to BSN Programs in Ohio: 2027 Rankings
The programs below represent Ohio's strongest RN to BSN options for 2026, selected for working registered nurses balancing cost, pace, and accreditation. Each entry highlights the school's delivery format, accreditation, and transfer-friendly features.
Factors considered
First-year retention weighted most heavily
Net price and aid packages
Accreditation and program quality
Graduation rates and outcomes
Flexibility for working nurses
Data sources
BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
Rank
School
Location
Net price
Best for
#1
James A. Rhodes State College
Lima, OH
$5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
West-central Ohio RNs wanting cohort support
Located in Lima, this public college offers a one-year, cohort-based RN to BSN completion program with rolling admissions and personalized support for registered nurses. The ACEN-accredited program emphasizes leadership, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care, and accepts up to 35 transfer credits. It is designed for working RNs in west-central Ohio who want an efficient path to a bachelor's degree.
A regional campus of the University of Akron in Orrville, offering a classroom-based RN to BSN with distance learning at four northeastern Ohio sites. The CCNE-accredited program can be completed in less than one year full-time or two years part-time, requiring 30 nursing credits and 120 total credits. Admission requires a valid RN license and a 2.0 minimum GPA, with classes meeting one day per week.
Shawnee State University in Portsmouth offers an online RN to BSN pathway for working registered nurses. The ACEN-accredited program is recognized as one of the most affordable nursing degrees in Ohio, with small class sizes and accelerated pacing. Students can maintain full-time nursing roles while building leadership and clinical knowledge for advancement or graduate study.
The University of Akron's main campus in Akron offers a fully online RN to BSN designed for registered nurses with a diploma or associate degree. The CCNE-accredited program can be completed in as little as one year, with full-time and part-time options, and includes three graduate courses that can apply toward a Master of Science in Nursing. It is among the most affordable online nursing programs in Ohio.
Mercy College of Ohio, a private Catholic college in Toledo, offers an online RN to BSN for working nurses. The CCNE-accredited program can be completed in one year full-time, with fall, spring, and summer start dates. It includes four clinical practice experiences completed locally, and an MSN Fast Track option allows graduate credits at undergraduate tuition rates. Mercy Health employees may qualify for debt-free education.
Ohio University in Athens offers a 100% online RN to BSN with accelerated 5-week courses and eight start dates per year. The CCNE-accredited program allows many students to finish in as little as one year, completing 31.5 clinical hours locally. It is consistently ranked among top BSN programs nationally, with affordable tuition and an application fee waiver.
Heidelberg University, a private university in Tiffin, offers an online RN-BSN Pathway for licensed registered nurses. The CCNE-accredited program accepts up to 90 transfer credits and requires 30 residency credits, with 8-week course terms and rolling admissions. Two courses incorporate clinical components, and the capstone project emphasizes research application, supported by one-on-one mentoring and preceptorships with local experts.
Defiance College, a small private college in Defiance, offers a 100% online RN-to-BSN completion program. The CCNE-accredited program can be completed in as little as one year through 8-week courses, with admission requiring a 2.5 GPA and valid RN license. It emphasizes leadership, ethics, and community-based care, and offers tuition deferment and employer reimbursement options.
Ohio RN-to-BSN Programs Compared: Cost, Length & Format
The table compares key details for registered nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN to BSN) completion programs in Ohio. Net prices are institution-wide averages from the most recent federal data and may not reflect program-specific costs. Clinical hour requirements and accreditation status should be confirmed directly with each school.
School
In-State Tuition
Net Price
Program Format
Total Credits
Completion Time
Clinical Hours
Accreditor
North Central State College
$5,786
$4,687
Hybrid
122
4 semesters (2 years)
105
ACEN
Sinclair Community College
$4,809
$5,992
Hybrid
121
N/A
Not specified
ACEN
Marion Technical College
$6,595
$7,417
Online
121
3 semesters (1.5 years)
Not specified
ACEN
James A. Rhodes State College
$4,560
$8,757
Online
57
1 year
Not specified
ACEN
Edison State Community College
$4,499
$7,142
Hybrid
122
4 semesters (2 years)
Not specified
ACEN candidacy
Columbus State Community College
$5,488
$8,400
Online
120
Less than 1 year
Not specified
ACEN candidacy
Central Ohio Technical College
$5,256
$9,948
Online
60
2 years
40
ACEN
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do you need a fully online program, or can you attend hybrid clinicals?
Hybrid programs may require on-site hours at Ohio healthcare facilities, which could limit options if you live far from campus. Purely online programs offer flexibility but might have fewer local networking opportunities.
Is your employer willing to reimburse tuition?
Many Ohio hospitals offer tuition assistance for RN to BSN advancement, potentially reducing out-of-pocket costs significantly. Clarify any service commitments required in return before committing.
How many transfer credits will your ADN cover?
Transfer credit policies vary; maximizing credits shortens time to completion and saves money. Check each program's articulation agreements with Ohio community colleges.
Do you need to finish in under 12 months?
Accelerated tracks can compress coursework but demand intense schedules that may be hard to balance with work. Knowing your timeline helps filter programs by pace.
Most Affordable RN to BSN Programs in Ohio
The sticker price of tuition rarely tells the full story. Net price, what students actually pay after grants and scholarships, is a much more accurate measure of affordability. For the most affordable RN to BSN programs in Ohio, the net price often falls well below the published in-state tuition, especially at public institutions. Pell-eligible students frequently pay even less, making these programs a practical path to a bachelor's degree. In fact, Ohio's public universities and community colleges offering bachelor's degrees consistently undercut the tuition rates of many nationally advertised 'cheap' online programs.
School
Net Price
In-State Tuition
Out-of-State Tuition
Median Graduate Debt
Ohio University-Eastern Campus
$3,925
$6,362
$9,444
$21,056
North Central State College
$4,687
$5,786
$11,374
$8,252
Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
$4,968
$5,517
$10,044
$14,715
Fastest RN to BSN Programs in Ohio: How Long Does It Take?
Most Ohio RN-to-BSN programs can be finished in 12 to 18 months of full-time study. Part-time pacing, common among working nurses, stretches the timeline to 24 months or more. The key to speed lies in the credits you already hold and the program's delivery format.
Why Transfer Credits Shorten the Path
Your ADN degree provides a strong foundation. Ohio RN-to-BSN programs typically accept 60 to 70 transfer credits, covering prerequisites and core nursing courses. That leaves about 30 to 40 credits of BSN-exclusive work, courses like nursing leadership, community health, evidence-based practice, and a final capstone. With a maximum transfer evaluation, you're left with roughly a year of upper-division nursing curriculum, making the 12-month sprint possible for full-time students.
Program Structures That Accelerate Completion
Ursuline College's 100% online RN-to-BSN accepts up to 40 transfer credits and can be completed in as few as 12 months, with nine start dates each year to minimize downtime.1 While Ursuline follows a traditional term-based model, some Ohio institutions offer even more flexible schedules: eight-week terms, rolling admissions, or self-paced competency-based modules. In a competency-based program, progression depends on mastering material, not on a calendar, which can significantly cut the timeline for motivated learners. While no specific competency-based RN to BSN programs were identified in Ohio for this guide, schools like Ohio University or the University of Cincinnati may offer accelerated tracks worth investigating.
Balancing Pace and Price
Faster programs often carry higher per-credit costs. An accelerated private program might look expensive per credit, but you pay for fewer terms overall.
Public universities may offer lower tuition rates but with less frequent start dates or traditional semester pacing, extending the total duration.
Self-paced, flat-rate models can save money if you push through quickly, paying a set subscription rather than per-credit fees.
Remember, the quickest route isn't always the cheapest, but a shorter timeline means you start earning a BSN salary sooner. Ohio hospitals and health systems increasingly require or prefer BSN-prepared nurses, so the long-term payoff supports the upfront investment.
For Ohio RNs eyeing a BSN, the delivery format can make or break the balance between work, life, and school. Fully online programs deliver every course asynchronously or through virtual lectures, with no campus visits required. Hybrid programs blend online coursework with periodic in-person sessions, clinical labs, or designated practicum rotations. The distinction matters most when you consider clinical hour logistics, scheduling flexibility, and your learning style.
Ohio State University’s RN to BSN and Ohio University’s program both fall squarely in the fully online category. Neither demands an on-campus orientation or residence weekend. In contrast, the University of Cincinnati’s hybrid RN to BSN integrates online classes with some in-person requirements, making it a less flexible but potentially more hands-on path.
Clinical Hours: The Hidden Distinction
The phrase "online" can be misleading when clinical practicums enter the equation. Every RN to BSN in Ohio includes a community or population health project, typically 45 to 90 hours. What separates programs is where and how you complete those hours.
Fully online programs almost always let you arrange a preceptor-advised clinical in your home community. You identify a site (a public health department, school, or federally qualified health center), get faculty approval, and complete hours near home. Ohio University’s model, for example, allows this entirely remote arrangement.
Hybrid programs may tie clinicals to specific regional partners or require you to attend a short on-site intensive before starting. The University of Cincinnati’s hybrid structure historically includes community-based projects but may ask students to attend a clinical kickoff session on campus or at a partner facility.
This gap, knowing which programs are truly 100% online with no residency, is something few directories surface. When evaluating a program, ask directly: "Can I do 100% of clinical hours in my own county, and are there any mandatory campus or cohort meet-ups?"
Flexibility and Pace
Online and hybrid formats both target working nurses, but they handle scheduling differently.
Fully online programs often offer 5- or 8-week courses you can take one at a time, with no fixed login times. This suits nurses with rotating shifts or call obligations. Ohio State’s program, for instance, structures its 120-credit curriculum into short, asynchronous terms that let you accelerate or slow down as your schedule permits.
Hybrid programs may anchor to a semester schedule with periodic Saturday intensives or evening on-campus labs. While you can still complete most work remotely, those fixed in-person dates require planning. That rigidity can lengthen time to degree if you miss a required session.
Completion timelines overlap: both can be finished in 12–18 months for a full-time student, but hybrid’s synchronous components might stretch that for nurses with unpredictable schedules.
Matching Student Profile to Format
Ask yourself how you learn best and what your life allows.
Fully online programs fit nurses who are self-motivated, comfortable with virtual communication, and need to keep their weekends free of campus travel. They’re also a strong match for rural Ohio nurses who live hours from a major university.
Hybrid programs can benefit nurses who miss the classroom dynamic, want more structured faculty interaction, or thrive with hands-on simulation. If you’re in the Cincinnati area, the University of Cincinnati’s hybrid track offers that in-person component without requiring a move.
Because many Ohio employers reimburse tuition for any CCNE-accredited RN to BSN, the format choice often comes down to personal logistics rather than cost. Use the flexibility data points above to filter programs that genuinely fit your reality, not just the marketing label.
What BSN-Prepared Nurses Earn in Ohio
BSN-prepared nurses in Ohio see a strong return on their educational investment. While the BLS reports a mean annual wage of $81,250 for all registered nurses in the state (2024), graduates of top BSN programs often surpass that benchmark over the course of their careers. The chart below shows median earnings 10 years after entry for five Ohio nursing schools, as reported by the College Scorecard. These figures include all graduates, not just RN-to-BSN completers, and the BLS wage covers RNs at all education levels, so the BSN premium may be even larger than a direct comparison suggests.
Admission Requirements & Transfer Credit Policies for Ohio RN to BSN Programs
Ohio RN to BSN programs are designed for working nurses, but admission requirements and credit transfer policies vary widely. Knowing the typical thresholds, how your previous coursework is evaluated, and how employer tuition benefits fit in can help you choose a pathway that minimizes both time and out-of-pocket cost.
Typical Admission Requirements
Most Ohio programs require an active, unencumbered Ohio RN license or, for new graduates, eligibility to sit for the NCLEX-RN. A minimum cumulative GPA, usually between 2.5 and 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, is standard, though some schools may set a higher bar for prerequisite science courses. You will need an associate degree in nursing (ADN) or a hospital-based nursing diploma from an accredited program. Official transcripts, a resume, and a personal statement or essay are common supplementary materials.
Prerequisite coursework often includes anatomy, physiology, microbiology, and statistics. Many programs will provisionally admit students who are awaiting NCLEX results, provided the remaining requirements are met. Check with individual schools for conditional admission policies and deadlines.
Transfer Credit Policies
Because you already hold an RN credential, the bulk of your prior learning can be applied toward the BSN. Most Ohio programs accept 60 to 90 transfer credits, but the way those credits are awarded differs. Some schools grant block credit for the entire ADN, typically 30 to 40 upper-division nursing credits, while others perform a course-by-course evaluation. General education credits from regionally accredited institutions usually transfer smoothly, but science courses older than five to seven years may need to be repeated. Ask each program about its maximum transfer credit limit and how it handles credit for prior nursing knowledge.
Employer Tuition Partnerships
Several major Ohio health systems offer tuition reimbursement or direct payment programs that can dramatically reduce your net cost. These benefits often influence where and when nurses enroll, so factoring them into your decision is prudent.
OhioHealth covers up to $5,250 per year, pays the institution directly, and has a network of 50+ approved schools. The degree must relate to potential OhioHealth jobs.
Mercy College of Ohio, a wholly owned subsidiary of Mercy Health, offers a 100% tuition-free RN to BSN program for Mercy Health employees in any status, PRN, part-time, or full-time. PRN staff must work at least 6 hours per week or 36 hours over six weeks. Graduates commit to 18 months of post-degree employment.
Other systems, including Cleveland Clinic, UC Health, and ProMedica, also provide tuition reimbursement; verify eligibility, annual caps, and partner school lists with your HR department. Ohio does not mandate a BSN within ten years of initial licensure, but the state’s Magnet hospital hiring trends and employer incentives make earning the degree a practical career move.
How to Choose the Right RN to BSN Program in Ohio
With more Ohio hospitals requiring a BSN within a few years of hire, choosing an RN to BSN program is now less about 'if' and more about 'how.' The right program balances your budget, timeline, learning style, and career goals. Start by evaluating four key trade-offs: total cost against your available tuition assistance, program pace against your work schedule, clinical intensity against your comfort with hands-on hours, and school reputation against the flexibility of online or hybrid delivery.
Verify Program-Specific Accreditation
Check that the RN to BSN program itself holds CCNE or ACEN accreditation, not just the parent college. Both are widely accepted, but the designation must apply directly to the nursing degree. You can confirm a program's status through the accreditor's online directory. An unaccredited program can block eligibility for financial aid and future graduate studies.
Maximize Employer Tuition Benefits Before You Enroll
Many Ohio health systems offer significant tuition reimbursement or direct-pay agreements, and some partner with specific schools for steep discounts. Contact your HR or education department early: ask which programs qualify, whether part-time employees are eligible, and if the benefit requires a multi-year work commitment after graduation. Choosing a partner school can reduce your out-of-pocket cost by half or more, often making a private university option price-competitive.
Check Clinical Hour Policies for Working Nurses
Most RN to BSN programs include community or leadership-focused clinicals, and some let you complete those hours at your current workplace. This convenience saves commute time and shift juggling. Confirm whether the program permits employer-based clinicals and how preceptor approvals work. If you cannot use your own unit, ask about evening, weekend, or simulation alternatives tailored to a full-time nursing schedule.
Map the Format to Your Life
Online, hybrid, and accelerated formats each carry distinct demands. Fully asynchronous online programs offer the most flexibility for rotating shifts, but require self-discipline. Hybrid options offer occasional in-person support, which can help if you learn best with direct faculty contact. Compare completion timelines: some Ohio programs finish in 9, 12 months, while others extend over two years to lighten the weekly load. Match the structure to your predictable work rhythm, not an idealized schedule.
Frequently Asked Questions About RN to BSN Programs in Ohio
A quick-reference for nurses considering a BSN in Ohio, covering timelines, costs, and career impact.
Full-time students typically finish in 12 to 24 months. Ohio programs often provide accelerated tracks that can be completed in as little as 9 months, especially if general education requirements are already met. Part-time enrollment stretches the timeline to 2 to 3 years, giving working nurses flexibility. Check individual program length in our speed comparison table.
Ohio’s public universities offer the lowest tuition rates, particularly for in state residents. Several programs charge under $300 per credit hour, bringing the total cost below $10,000. Out of state students may face higher fees, but some online options charge flat rates regardless of residency. The most affordable programs are ranked in the dedicated affordability table.
Absolutely. Many Ohio institutions offer 100% online RN to BSN programs with no campus visits, designed for working nurses. Coursework is often asynchronous, but clinical components may still be completed at a local facility. Hybrid options exist for those who prefer occasional in person interaction, and all online programs maintain the same accreditation as on campus ones.
Common prerequisites include an active, unencumbered RN license, an associate degree or diploma in nursing, official transcripts, and a minimum GPA between 2.5 and 3.0. Some schools require prerequisite courses in statistics or anatomy. Expect a background check, drug screening, and immunization records. Admission to specific programs may be competitive; check directly with each school.
For most nurses, yes. Ohio hospitals, especially those pursuing Magnet status, increasingly prefer or require a BSN. The degree opens doors to leadership, specialty, and higher paying roles. National data show BSN prepared nurses earn more, and the investment is often offset by employer tuition reimbursement. Long term career mobility and job security make it a strategic move.
The national median annual salary for registered nurses is $86,070 (BLS, 2023), but that figure does not isolate BSN holders. Industry surveys suggest BSN prepared nurses earn 5 to 10 percent more than their ADN counterparts in Ohio. Some employers offer formal pay differentials. For Ohio specific wage comparisons, see the infographic earlier in this article.
More RN to BSN Programs in Ohio to Consider
Beyond the top-ranked programs, Ohio is home to numerous other RN-to-BSN options that may suit your budget, schedule, or learning preference. The following directory lists additional accredited schools across the state, organized by region for easy scanning. Each entry includes format, location, and a key program highlight.
Southwest Ohio
Good Samaritan College of Nursing and Health Science
Good Samaritan College's online RN to BSN completion program features seven-week courses and includes nursing research, leadership, and a capstone project. Admission requires an unencumbered RN license.
This 100% online RN to BSN offers full- and part-time tracks with no mandatory login times, built on the college's 120-year affiliation with The Christ Hospital.
University of Cincinnati's RN to BSN features 9 core nursing courses, 7-week sessions, and in-person clinicals; an optional public health minor is available.
UToledo's online RN to BSN follows a competency-based, self-paced model and can be finished in as few as two semesters; courses are Quality Matters certified.
Shawnee State's online RN to BSN provides small class sizes and an accelerated curriculum, recognized as one of Ohio's most affordable nursing degrees.