Best Nursing Schools in Tinley Park, IL | 2027 Rankings

Compare tuition, NCLEX pass rates, and outcomes for BSN programs within commuting distance of Tinley Park.

By Maria Delgado, RNReviewed by TopNursing.org TeamUpdated September 28, 202613 min read
Best Nursing Schools in Tinley Park, IL | 2027 Rankings

Points of interest…

  • Top-ranked nursing schools near Tinley Park include Chamberlain, Lewis, and UIC, balancing commute and quality.
  • BSN tuition varies widely; in-state public programs cost thousands less than private alternatives.
  • Strong NCLEX pass rates distinguish the area’s best programs from lower-performing options.
  • Earning an Illinois RN license requires an accredited program, NCLEX, and fingerprint background check.

Which accredited BSN programs within a 75-mile radius of Tinley Park, IL combine manageable tuition with NCLEX pass rates above 90%? Located in Chicago’s south suburbs, Tinley Park is within easy reach of BSN options at Chamberlain’s campus, Lewis University, and UIC, as well as multiple community college ADN-to-BSN pathways. Program choices range from traditional on-campus to hybrid and online formats, giving you flexibility around work and family. The ranking below evaluates local schools by net price and outcomes, focusing on accredited nursing programs in Illinois with separate breakouts for tuition, NCLEX data, and licensure steps. Across the region, first-time NCLEX pass rates vary from 85% to 98%, and most area hospitals now require or strongly prefer a BSN for new graduate RN hires.

Best Nursing Schools Near Tinley Park, IL: Ranked

The nursing programs below are ranked for Tinley Park-area students based on a blend of local accessibility, program format, and institutional outcomes. Several options are within easy commuting distance, while others offer online or hybrid pathways for south suburban learners. Each school card includes average net price, institution-wide graduation rate, and available delivery format.

Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Tuition and net price
  • Program format and flexibility
  • Clinical placement access
Data sources
  • BEA state price parities, used to adjust tuition — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
RankSchoolLocationNet priceBest for
#1
Chamberlain University-Illinois
Addison, IL~$32,000/yr (est.)South suburban students wanting hybrid BSN

Chamberlain University-Illinois operates a Tinley Park campus, making it a local commuter-friendly BSN option for south suburban students. The 3-year BSN blends online coursework with in-person labs and Chicago-area clinical placements. Average net price is about $31,800, and the institution-wide graduation rate is around 42%.

Military benefits
  • 3-year Bachelor of Science in Nursing path
  • Hybrid learning with evening and weekend options
  • Average class size of 24
  • SimCare Center simulation training
  • Chicago-area clinical placements
  • High School to Healthcare Program: 33% tuition savings
  • Entrance exam required (HESI, ACT, SAT, TEAS)

University of Illinois Chicago is a public research university in Chicago, accessible to Tinley Park students for in-person or hybrid study. Its BSN offers multiple entry pathways, including an online RN to BSN option, and its Direct Entry MSN provides a graduate route for non-nurses. Average net price is about $11,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 62%.

CCNE accredited
  • Three distinct entry pathways
  • Online RN to BSN option available
  • Chicago-area clinical partnerships and simulation labs
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN licensure
CCNE accredited
  • 2-year, six consecutive semesters including summers
  • Starts fall only
  • Faculty arrange clinical site placements
  • Must live within commuting distance
  • Available at Chicago, Rockford, and Urbana campuses
  • Prepares non-nurses for RN licensure

Lewis University in Romeoville is one of the closest four-year nursing options to Tinley Park, with easy access via I-55. The campus-based BSN features a cohort model, strong NCLEX preparation, and clinical rotations across more than 50 sites. Average net price is about $17,000, and the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 67%.

CCNE accredited
  • Cohort-based BSN with 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Entrance exams: SAT, ACT, or TEAS
  • 98% licensure pass rate
  • 50 clinical affiliate sites
  • CCNE accredited

Lake Land College in Mattoon offers a low-cost associate degree nursing program with an average net price around $2,300 and an institution-wide graduation rate near 58%. The campus-based ADN takes three years and includes clinical rotations, but it is not within commuting distance for most Tinley Park residents.

ACEN accredited
  • 3-year campus-based ADN path
  • ACEN accredited
  • Entrance exam required
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN
  • Dual enrollment agreements for online BSN completion
  • Employer tuition reimbursement supported
  • Clinical rotations in hospitals and clinics

Illinois State University in Normal offers three BSN routes: a traditional campus program, a fully online RN to BSN, and a 15-month accelerated second-degree option. While the main campus is not within driving distance of Tinley Park, the online RN to BSN track provides flexibility for working nurses. Average net price is around $19,400, and the institution-wide graduation rate is about 65%.

  • One fall start per year
  • 2.5 GPA minimum
  • State-of-the-art simulation labs
  • Leadership curriculum and peer mentorship
  • CNA or healthcare experience encouraged
Rolling admissionsFully online option
  • Fully online option
  • Finish in one year with 8-week courses
  • 55 total credit hours
  • Rolling admissions and part-time available
  • RN license required
  • 15-month second bachelor's degree
  • Highly competitive admission
  • State-of-the-art simulation labs
  • Clinical practice in hospitals and clinics
  • Peer mentorship and leadership curriculum

Saint Anthony College of Nursing in Rockford is a small Catholic nursing school with a 7:1 student-to-faculty ratio and strong NCLEX results. Average net price and institution-wide graduation rate are not reported in the available data. The campus is located northwest of Chicago, not a practical commute for most Tinley Park students.

  • 98% licensure pass rate
  • 7:1 student-to-faculty ratio
  • Two campus locations
  • High School Early Entry option
  • Classrooms and simulation lab space
  • Prepares for NCLEX

Bradley University in Peoria offers a traditional BSN and a 15-month accelerated BSN, both campus-based with clinical access to two major hospital systems. Average net price is near $22,700, and the institution-wide graduation rate is about 76%. It is not a commuter option for Tinley Park students, but the accelerated track may appeal to career changers willing to relocate.

CCNE accredited
  • Clinical experiences at two major hospital systems
  • Personalized mentorship from faculty
  • CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for acute care and community health roles
CCNE accredited
  • 15-month accelerated BSN
  • Immediate clinical experience from day one
  • Access to Level 1 trauma center
  • Urban and rural healthcare settings
  • Nearly all pass NCLEX first attempt
  • Jobs secured within six months for most graduates

DePaul University in Chicago offers a campus-based BSN and a Master's Entry to Nursing Practice for career changers. Its nursing programs emphasize simulation labs, small classes, and strong clinical placement networks across the Chicago area. Average net price is about $30,900, and the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 68%.

CCNE accredited
  • 97% licensure pass rate
  • Simulation labs with high-fidelity mannequins
  • Small classes led by clinical faculty
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN
  • Located in Chicago's Loop
CCNE accredited
  • Two-year accelerated or three-year balanced options
  • 107 quarter hours required
  • Over 75 clinical sites
  • Guaranteed intensive-care rotation
  • No nursing background required
  • Prepares for RN licensure
  • 93% graduate success rate

Elgin Community College offers an associate degree nursing program with a long-standing reputation and an average net price around $6,000. The campus is in Elgin, roughly an hour northwest of Tinley Park, so it may suit students willing to commute or relocate. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 41%, reflecting its open-access mission.

ACEN accredited
  • Over 50 years of nursing education
  • ACEN accredited
  • Partnerships for RN-to-BSN and RN-to-MSN
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN
  • Careers in critical care, emergency, and pediatric nursing
  • Approved by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

William Rainey Harper College in Palatine offers an associate degree in nursing with strong reported pass and job placement rates. The program is campus-based and not a short commute from Tinley Park, but it is among the more recognized community college nursing options in the Chicago suburbs. Average net price is about $11,600, and the institution-wide graduation rate is near 48%.

  • 2-year, 68 credit-hour sequence
  • 93% licensure pass rate
  • 91% job placement rate
  • Limited-enrollment admission
  • NUR courses cost 1.5x regular tuition
  • Simulated clinical lab environment
  • Prepares for NCLEX-RN

Tuition & Cost Comparison for Tinley Park-Area BSN Programs

Understanding the cost of a nursing education is crucial for prospective students. The table below compares published in-state and out-of-state tuition alongside the average net price after financial aid for BSN programs near Tinley Park. Net price is an institution-wide average, not a guaranteed individual quote; actual costs depend on your financial aid eligibility and household finances. The spread is significant, with net prices ranging from about $2,200 to over $6,400 per year, illustrating major differences in affordability across these schools.

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price (After Aid)*
Illinois Valley Community College$15,239$16,385$2,232
Lake Land College$8,342$14,301$2,254
Moraine Valley Community College$8,502$9,846$2,829
Carl Sandburg College$8,000$8,900$3,662
Richland Community College$10,800$17,070$3,741
Kishwaukee College$9,120$13,680$4,574
Danville Area Community College$7,440$7,440$4,777
Highland Community College$7,216$7,360$5,713
Elgin Community College$7,140$9,516$6,026
Kaskaskia College$7,770$12,570$6,477

NCLEX Pass Rates for Tinley Park-Area Nursing Programs

NCLEX pass rates are one of the most reliable indicators of nursing program quality. They measure the percentage of graduates who pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN) on their first attempt, which directly reflects how well a program prepares students for licensure.

Chamberlain Tinley Park: Above the State and National Average

For the 2024, 2025 testing period, Chamberlain University’s Tinley Park campus achieved a 92% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate.1 This figure is from the campus’s consumer information disclosures and surpasses both state and national benchmarks.

  • Illinois state average: 85% (2025)2
  • National average: 87% (2025)2

Strong pass rates like this suggest a curriculum that aligns well with NCLEX content and clinical readiness standards. Chamberlain’s national BSN pass rate was only 79.75% in 2025,1 making the Tinley Park result even more notable.

Why Pass Rates Matter

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation monitors program pass rates closely.2 Schools whose first-time pass rates fall below 80% risk state scrutiny or provisional approval status. While a single year’s dip doesn’t always signal trouble, a consistent pattern below that threshold should prompt caution.

Checking Rates for Other Programs

Rasmussen University’s Mokena campus has not publicly reported NCLEX pass rates for 2024, 2025 at the program level. If you’re considering Rasmussen or any other nursing school, look for recent pass rate data on the school’s consumer information page or the Illinois Board of Nursing’s education program pass rates resource.2

Is a Nursing Degree Near Tinley Park Worth the Cost?

While program-specific earnings figures for the first few years after graduation are not yet available, longer-term federal data from the College Scorecard reveals a strong return on investment for nursing graduates in the Tinley Park area. For context, the national median annual wage for registered nurses was $93,600 in 2024, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Is a nursing degree near Tinley Park worth the cost?

How to Become a Nurse in Tinley Park, IL

Becoming a registered nurse in Illinois requires completing an accredited nursing program, passing the NCLEX-RN, and applying for licensure through the IDFPR. The process includes a fingerprint-based background check and typically takes four to six years from the start of prerequisites to license approval, though accelerated programs can shorten the timeline.

Step-by-step pathway to become a registered nurse in Illinois: prerequisite coursework, BSN program, NCLEX-RN, IDFPR licensure application including fingerprinting and background check.

Online, Hybrid & Flexible BSN Options Near Tinley Park

Many nursing students need flexibility to balance work, family, and education. In the Tinley Park area, several top-ranked programs accommodate demanding schedules through hybrid, evening, and online options.

Hybrid and Evening BSN Programs

Chamberlain University's Tinley Park campus delivers a pre-licensure BSN in a hybrid format that can be completed in 36 months. Students choose day, evening, or weekend cohorts, completing coursework online while attending in-person labs and clinical rotations. University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) also offers a hybrid BSN from its Chicago campus, a public university pathway accessible to south suburban students seeking flexible scheduling.

Clinical Site Partnerships

Hands-on training relies on strong clinical partnerships. Chamberlain assists students in securing placements at major regional health systems, including Advocate Christ Medical Center, Franciscan Health, OSF HealthCare, and Silver Cross Hospital. UIC maintains over 50 clinical sites across the Chicago area, expanding exposure to diverse care settings.

RN-to-BSN and LPN-to-BSN Bridges

For registered nurses holding an associate degree or diploma, Chamberlain provides a fully online RN-to-BSN degree completion option available to Illinois residents.1 The program includes an assisted practicum placement process, students who request help three sessions in advance and document any site denials receive support securing a local site, as outlined in Chamberlain’s nursing practicum commitment, letting them advance without relocating or leaving their job.

Direct LPN-to-BSN programs are less common near Tinley Park, but several community colleges offer LPN-to-ADN bridges that can lead to BSN completion. Schools like Prairie State College and Joliet Junior College may offer step-up tracks, and some four-year institutions evaluate LPN credentials for advanced standing. Contact admissions offices for the most current articulation agreements.

Frequently Asked Questions About Nursing Schools in Tinley Park

Choosing a nursing program near Tinley Park involves comparing costs, program lengths, and outcomes. Below are quick answers to the most common questions prospective students ask when exploring nursing schools in the Chicago South Suburbs area.

Tinley Park is home to Chamberlain University, and several other schools are within a short drive. Moraine Valley Community College offers an ADN program, while Governors State University, University of St. Francis, and South Suburban College provide BSN and ADN options. Many students also commute to Chicago-based programs.

BSN costs vary widely. Public universities like Governors State may charge $10,000 to $15,000 per year for in-state students, while private schools such as Chamberlain University can run $600 to $700 per credit hour. Total program cost, including fees and books, often falls between $30,000 and $70,000 depending on transfer credits and residency.

A traditional BSN takes about four years of full-time study. Accelerated tracks for those with a prior bachelor's degree can be completed in 12 to 18 months. Part-time enrollment extends the timeline. Check each program's structure, as some offer evening or weekend cohorts to fit working students.

Chamberlain University's Tinley Park campus is CCNE-accredited and typically posts NCLEX pass rates near the national average. It features hands-on simulation labs and three start dates per year. Tuition is higher than public schools, so weigh the convenience and support against total cost when deciding if it fits your goals.

Yes, several nearby colleges offer RN-to-BSN bridge programs, including Governors State University and University of St. Francis. These programs are often online or hybrid and can be finished in 9 to 18 months. They accept ADN credits from community colleges like Moraine Valley, making it easy for working RNs to advance.

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us