Points of interest…
- Ohio's ODH calls CNAs state-tested nurse aides; verify approval before paying.
- Most Westerville-area STNA programs charge $625 to $995 in 2027.
- Long-term care employers often cover STNA tuition and exam fees.
Ohio-approved STNA training near Westerville, with real costs, schedules, and free options

Staffing shortages in long-term care have made nurse aide work one of the easier healthcare jobs to land, and training is short. In Ohio, Steps to Become a CNA lead to the STNA (State Tested Nurse Aide) credential, and many programs finish in a few weeks, built around the federal minimum of 75 instruction hours.
Westerville residents are not tied to one town. Classes run in Worthington, Gahanna, Dublin, Delaware, and downtown Columbus, so the real tradeoffs are commute, schedule, and tuition that can differ by several hundred dollars.
In Ohio, a CNA and an STNA are the same job, and the title that counts is State-Tested Nurse Aide.2 So what is the difference between a CNA and an STNA in Ohio? None in practice. STNA is the state's name for a certified nursing assistant, so CNA programs in Ohio and STNA programs describe the same training. What does matter is approval: only a program approved by the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) qualifies you to sit for the state exam under Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 3701-18.
Ohio requires at least 75 hours of approved training.1 The first 16 are classroom hours (lab simulation may count) and must be finished before any direct resident contact.1 Of the remaining hours, at least 16 and no more than 25 are supervised clinical practice under an RN or LPN, normally in an Ohio long-term-care facility.1 Some programs go beyond the minimum, so compare total hours before you enroll.
Finishing class is not enough. You must also pass the Nurse Aide Competency Evaluation, after which your name is placed on the Ohio Nurse Aide Registry.2 Employers check that registry before hiring.
In Westerville, new STNAs typically find work at Mount Carmel St. Ann's, at long-term care and skilled nursing facilities along the I-270 corridor, in assisted living communities, and with home health agencies.
Private training centers and community colleges move at different speeds. Many private schools near Westerville start new cohorts every 2 to 4 weeks, while semester-based college registration can open and close in a short window.
Premier Choice Health Services, for example, lists day and evening STNA cohorts in 2026. Day classes run 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. for about 12 class days; evening classes run 5:30 to 10:30 p.m. for about 14 days. That pace totals roughly 2.5 weeks, which is what a fast track CNA program means: a compressed calendar, not fewer required hours. Evening options make certification possible around a day job, but the tradeoff is a longer calendar than a daytime track. Missing a session can set you back, so accelerated tracks require full attendance.
Columbus State Community College's 76-hour course, one of the CNA programs in Columbus, lists traditional and blended formats, but 2026 seat availability and specific start dates are not confirmed. Registration has been competitive, so do not assume open sections. Online-only STNA training is not possible in Ohio because clinical hours must be completed in person. Hybrid programs may combine online theory with in-person labs and clinicals, but you need to verify which ones do. Weekend-only schedules are less widely documented in the Westerville area; contact schools directly for current day, evening, and hybrid start dates.
Most Westerville-area STNA programs quote tuition between about $625 and $995. Plan on another $145 to $300 for baseline items, for a realistic all-in of roughly $770 to $1,295 before optional physicals, immunizations, CPR, shoes, or retakes. Some schools bundle tests, books, or uniforms into tuition; treat the exam and background checks as separate unless confirmed.

Can you really find free CNA training programs near Westerville, and what does the facility expect in return? The short answer is yes in many cases, but the arrangement is usually tied to a job.
A nursing home or long-term care employer may host or pay for state-approved CNA training programs when you already have a job offer or are hired before training starts. Under federal rules, those facilities cannot charge you for any part of the approved program, including textbooks and required course materials.12 The tradeoff is usually a work commitment after you earn your STNA; the exact length varies by employer, and leaving early may trigger repayment, so get that in writing before you start.
If you pay for training on your own and then get hired by a facility within 12 months of completing the program, the state must reimburse your training costs on a pro rata basis while you work as a nurse aide.3 This means self-paid students may recover part or all of their cost. Pay during classroom or clinical hours is not guaranteed: federal rules do not require an hourly training wage, so some employers pay during class and others do not.
Realistic hurdles include a criminal background check, a minimum age (often 18), availability for the facility's full-time shifts after certification, and transportation to the site. Ask about each before you commit.
A newly certified STNA starts near the bottom of the pay scale, while an experienced aide with a few years on the floor sits near the top. In the Columbus metro, the gap between the two is real but modest. Nursing assistants earned a median of $20.66 an hour, or $42,970 a year, in the May 2025 BLS wage data.1 The 10th percentile was $18.03 an hour ($37,510 a year), and the 90th percentile reached $22.71 an hour ($47,230 a year). For comparison, the May 2023 median was $18.88 an hour, so local pay has moved up.2
Program-level earnings for STNA completers are not published for the Westerville-area programs, so there is no school-specific figure to quote here. Institution-wide earnings would say little about nursing assistant pay, so we leave them out.
Entry-level openings are common across several settings:
Night and weekend shifts often carry differentials, which can lift take-home pay above the base hourly rate.
Many local STNAs keep working while they enroll in LPN Programs in Westerville OH or RN programs at nursing schools in Ohio. The job doubles as paid clinical exposure.
Ohio's path from student to STNA follows five steps: meet entry requirements, clear screenings, complete an ODH-approved program, pass the two-part exam, and get listed on the Ohio Nurse Aide Registry.
With the right employer, STNA training can cost you almost nothing. Long-term care facilities that hire you may cover your class and state testing fees, so ask about paid training before you enroll.
Below are the top STNA programs serving Westerville students. None of the ranked programs are physically located in Westerville; the closest approved options are in Groveport and Newark, both within typical commuting range. Each card highlights delivery format, approximate average net price after aid where reported, and the institution-wide graduation rate.
| Rank | School | Location | Net price | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| #1 | Central Ohio Technical College | Newark, OH | $5,000 – $8,000/yr (est.) | Students wanting college credit transfer | |
Central Ohio Technical College offers a short-term State Tested Nurse Aide certificate that combines three and a half credit hours with on-campus clinical experience in Newark, Knox, or Pataskala. The school's graduation rate is about 30 percent, and the approximate average net price after aid is $9,900. Open enrollment makes it accessible, and the certificate can serve as a prerequisite for COTC's nursing programs.
| |||||
| #2 | Eastland-Fairfield Career and Technical Schools | Groveport, OH | $16,000/yr (est. net price) | Career changers seeking clinical immersion | |
Eastland-Fairfield Career and Technical Schools in Groveport is a Columbus-area training option for Westerville residents willing to commute about 25 to 35 minutes. The campus-based State Tested Nurse Aide program combines classroom instruction with hands-on clinical experience and prepares students for the Ohio certification exam. The school's graduation rate is not reported, but the approximate average net price after aid is $15,700.
| |||||
| #3 | Career and Technology Education Centers of Licking County | Newark, OH | Entry-level healthcare job seekers | ||
C-TEC of Licking County in Newark is another commutable option for Westerville students, roughly a 30-minute drive east. Its Certified Nurse Aide program covers vital signs, infection control, and daily living assistance with hands-on clinical training. The school's graduation rate is not reported, and the average net price after aid is not reported.
| |||||
| #4 | ETI Technical College | Niles, OH | ~$14,000/yr (est.) | ||
| #5 | Columbiana County Career and Technical Center | Lisbon, OH | ~$12,000/yr (est.) | ||
| #6 | Sandusky Career Center | Sandusky, OH | |||
| #7 | North Central State College | Mansfield, OH | $5,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
| #8 | Sinclair Community College | Dayton, OH | $4,000 – $9,000/yr (est.) | ||
| #9 | Cuyahoga Community College District | Cleveland, OH | $4,000/yr (est. net price) | ||
| #10 | Belmont College | St Clairsville, OH | $7,000/yr (est. net price) | ||